TANEYTOWN DISTRICT, No. 1.
The metes and bounds of this district are as follows:
“Beginning at the Pennsylvania line where Rock Creek crosses said line; thence with the course of said
creek until it empties into the Monocacy River; thence with the Monocacy to the point where Double Pipe
Creek enters the river; thence with the course of Pipe to the point of junction with Little Pipe Creek and
by Pipe Creek; thence with the course of Little Pipe Creek to Eckart’s Ford; thence with a straight line to
Sick’s Ford on Big Pipe Creek; thence up Big Pipe Creek to Grove’s Mill; thence with the stone road to
Littlestown turnpike; thence with the turnpike to the Pennsylvania line; thence to the place of beginning.”
The district is bounded on the north by Pennsylvania, on the east by the Myers’ and Uniontown Districts,
on the south by the Uniontown and Middleburg Districts, and on the west by Frederick County. Its
western boundary line is the Monocacy River, and Big Pipe Creek separates it from the Uniontown
District. Alloway’s Creek, which rises in Pennsylvania, passes through the northwest corner of the district
and empties into the Monocacy River, and Piney Creek, which takes its rise in the same State, passes
diagonally through the district, dividing it into two nearly equal parts, and finds its outlet in the Monocacy.
Upon the tributaries of these streams many mills have been erected, some of them prior to the
Revolutionary war. Taneytown District was first settled by the Scotch-Irish Presbyterian Covenanter
stock, who were either natives of the north of Ireland or the descendants of those who came to
Pennsylvania very early in the history of the colonies. Among them were the Gwynns, McKalebs,
McKellips, Galts, Birnies, Knoxes, and Rudesils. The Goods, Crouses, Swopes, Hesses, Nalls, Hecks,
Reindollars, Thompsons, and Shunks are names intimately associated also with the first settlement of the
district. Frederick Taney was the earliest settler of whom any record is preserved. He took up a tract of
land in the vicinity of Taneytown, at present the business centre of the district, in 1740, and in 1754
“Brother’s Agreement,” a tract of seven thousand nine hundred acres, was patented to Edward Digges and
Raphael Taney. About 1750 a heavy tide of immigration set in from Pennsylvania. John McKellip, Sr., a
sea-captain, was born in the County Antrim, Ireland, where his parents had removed from the
neighborhood of Castle Stirling, England. He married, Nov. 9, 1780, Mary Drips, his first wife, and after
her death, Ann Adams, of Maryland. He settled in the Taneytown District in 1780, whither he had come
from Ireland in company with Rogers Birnie. He died March 10, 1834, aged eighty years. His first wife died
Feb. 15, 1799, and his second, Dec. 14, 1827, she being sixty-four years of age. Three of his brothers,
William, Hugh, and David, settled in America. John McKellip’s son James by his second wife was born
Nov. 5, 1805, and died May 4, 1859. He was the father of Col. William A. McKellip, a prominent lawyer of
Westminster. The early settlers were all stanch Whigs during the Revolution, and contributed largely in
troops and treasure to its success. “Brother’s Inheritance,” a grant of three thousand one hundred and
twenty-four acres, was patented to Michael Swope in 1761.
If longevity be an indication of the salubriousness of a climate, Taneytown District has reason to be proud
of its record in this regard. John Welty was born in Eppingen, Germany, Sept. 4, 1722. He came to this
country and settled in the Taneytown District, and died near Emmittsburg, Jan. 16, 1817, aged ninety-four
years, four months, and two days. His son, Frederick Welty, was born on Piney Creek, near Taneytown,
March 12, 1779, and afterwards removed to Deilsburg, York Co., Pa., where he died April 28, 1877, aged
ninety-eight years, one month, and sixteen days; Elizabeth Knitz, a daughter of John Welty, lived to be
one hundred and three years of age; Susanna Hornaker died in March, 1855, aged eighty-four years, four
months, and two days; Casper Welty, a son of John, died Feb. 27, 1856, aged eighty-eight years, nine
months, and twenty-one days; Bernard Welty, another son, died April 1, 1856, aged eighty-two years,
eight months, and eleven days; Mary Hoovs, another daughter, died Sept. 17, 1866, aged ninety-one
years; Abraham Welty, died May 2, 1874, aged ninety-seven years, eleven months, and twenty-two days.
Their aggregate ages amounted to six hundred and fifty-seven years, giving an average of ninety-four
years to each member of the family, probably the most remarkable instance of longevity since the days of
Piney Creek Presbyterian Church.—”April 13, 1763, Tom’s Creek and Pipe Creek Churches ask leave to
apply to the Presbytery of New Brunswick for a young man to supply them.” The answer to this request is
not recorded, but the Rev. Samuel Thompson was appointed to preach at Tom’s Creek, and the Rev.
Robert McMardil was at the same time appointed to preach at Pine Creek, on the fourth Sabbath of April.
At this point in the history the name of Pipe Creek disappears from the record, and that of Pine, then
Piney Creek, is substituted, showing that the congregation now adopted a new name, if it did not also
change its place of worship. The church was supplied during the next autumn and winter by William
Edmeston and John Slemons, licentiates of the Donegal Presbytery, by William Magau, a licentiate of the
Presbytery of Philadelphia, and by the Rev. Robert Smith. For the summer of 1764, Mr. Slemons had
three appointments at Piney Creek. During the next five years Tom’s Creek and Piney Creek had
occasional supplies, appointed chiefly at the stated meetings of the Presbytery in April and October.
Andrew Bay, John Slemons, John Craighead, Hezekiah James Balch, Samuel Thompson, and Robert
Cooper were among their preachers. Rev. John Slemons was born in Chester County, Pa. His parents
were emigrants from Ireland. He was a graduate of Princeton College, and was licensed by the Presbytery
of Donegal in 1762 or 1763. He was unanimously called to Lower Marsh Creek on the third Saturday of
November, 1764. He also received calls from Tom’s Creek and Piney Creek about the same time. At
Philadelphia, May 8, 1765, the Presbytery desired his answer respecting the calls under consideration,
when “he gave up that from Piney Creek and Tom’s Creek.” Not being “clear” with respect to the call from
Lower Marsh Creek, the Presbytery “recommend him to come to a determination as soon as he can in
On the 23d of May he declared his acceptance of the call to Lower Marsh Creek, and was ordained and
installed by the Presbytery of Carlisle. Oct 30, 1765, Mr. Slemons frequently supplied Tom’s Creek and
Piney Creek, both before and after his settlement at Marsh Creek. His relation to this church had
dissolved in 1774. He was pastor of Slate Ridge and Chanceford from their organization until his death,
June, 1814, in the eightieth year of his, age. His remains, and those of his wife Sarah, who died June 2,
1823, are interred in the Piney Creek burying-ground. Mrs. Slemons was the daughter of the Rev. Joseph
Dean, a co-laborer of the Tennents, who was buried in the Neshaminy Church graveyard. Two brothers
and a sister of Mr. Slemons, and the children of one of the brothers, are buried in the Lower Marsh Creek
burying-ground. Piney Creek had meanwhile asked for the appointment of the Rev. Joseph Rhea “in
particular” as supply, and had also requested that some member of the Presbytery be deputized to assist
in the preparation of a call to Mr. Rhea. He had already been before the congregation, having become a
member of the Presbytery, October, 1770. That Mr. Rhea’s ministrations were highly acceptable is
evinced by the fact that not only Piney Creek, but also Upper Marsh Creek (now Gettysburg) and the
united churches of Tuscarora and Cedar Springs, all presented calls to him in April, 1771. Hanover, in
Dauphin County, likewise asked for him as supply at the same time. The call from Tuscarora and Cedar
Spring was withheld for correction. That from Upper Marsh was presented to Mr. Rhea, and taken into
consideration by him.
The commissioners from Piney Creek were Patrick Watson and Matthew Galt. They stated that
subscriptions amounting to £110 or £112 had been secured for Mr. Rhea’s support; that if he became
pastor they proposed to maintain his family for the first year in addition to the salary, and that this
agreement had been entered of record in their “Book of Congregational Affairs.”
The Presbytery found the call to be regular and the people unanimous, but an existing difficulty between
Tom’s Creek and Piney Creek was an impediment in the way of placing it in Mr. Rhea’s hands. Another
committee was now raised to hear and determine the matters now in dispute. This committee consisted of
the Rev. Messrs. Thompson, Roon, Duffield, and Cooper, and was directed to put the call in Mr. Rhea’s
hands, if no sufficient objections arose out of the questions submitted for their decision.
The committee was directed to meet on the Monday following their appointment, but in this they failed,
and so reported to the Presbytery in June, when the reasons assigned for the failure were sustained.
During the delay occasioned by these efforts of conciliation Mr. Rhea declared his acceptance of the call
to Upper Marsh Creek, but afterwards declined it under circumstances which led the Presbytery to
disapprove of his conduct “as having too great an appearance of inadvertency and instability,” and
recommending him to be “more cautious in the future with respect to such matters.”
Piney Creek now urged the Presbytery to put their call into Mr. Rhea’s hands, and in case of his
acceptance to have him installed as soon as convenient. The same obstacle being still in the way as at
the April meeting, action upon this request was again deferred.
But, in order to expedite the business, a new committee, consisting of the Rev. Messrs. Cooper,
Craighead, and Duffield, with Robert Dill and Robert McPherson as elders, was appointed to determine the
matter in debate, and if the way should be clear, put the call into Mr. Rhea’s hands and receive his
The committee met at Tom’s Creek on the fourth Tuesday of June, 1771, all the members being present
except Mr. Craighead and Elder Dill. Mr. Cooper was chosen moderator, and Mr. Duffield clerk. The
commissioners from Piney Creek were Patrick Watson, Abraham Heyter, Benjamin McKinley, James
and James Hunter; from Tom’s Creek a committee of four.
When the committee and the parties came together, there were two subjects of dispute to be considered.
The first was that Piney Creek desired a separation from Tom’s Creek and the settlement of a pastor of
their own; whereas Tom’s Creek favored the continuance of the former union and a joint settlement of a
pastor. After a full and patient hearing of the arguments on both sides, the committee decided this first
question in favor of Piney Creek, and dissolved the union.
The second subject of controversy was that of the boundary line between the two congregations. It will be
remembered that in April, 1765, this question was considered and apparently settled. The following is the
concluding part of the committee’s decision:
“The committee therefore determine that although Monocacy does appear to be a just and natural
boundary to Tom’s Creek, yet for the present such persons as live between the above-mentioned Stony
Ridge and Marsh Creek, or Monocacy, and choose to join with Piney Creek, shall be at liberty so to do.
But that in case of Tom’s Creek obtaining a minister, it shall be deemed more regular in them to join with
Tom’s Creek (within whose reasonable bounds they are to be esteemed residing), as being more
conducive to the general good of the church, even though they should still continue a connection with
Piney Creek as being nearer to them as that house is now seated.”
In the judgment and determination of the committee the commissioners of both congregations
acquiesced, and thus disposed of questions which had been sources of controversy and distraction. The
way was now clear for presenting the call to Mr. Rhea. It was accordingly placed in his hands by the
committee. After due deliberation he accepted it. The record omits the arrangements for his installation,
but this doubtless soon followed, as from this time he discharged the duties of the pastorate. Thus after
depending upon the Presbytery for supplies for nearly ten years, Piney Creek had, for the first time, a
settled minister. At what precise time the first house of worship was erected at Piney Creek is unknown.
It was, however, prior to the settlement of Mr. Rhea, as is shown by the deed conveying the lot of ground,
and the house built upon it, to the trustees. The original Piney Creek church, as stated above, erected
prior to Mr. Rhea’s settlement in 1771, was a very plain log structure. Its pews were
“— Straight-backed and tall,
Its pulpit, goblet formed,
Half-way up the wall,
The sounding-board above.”
It was removed about the year 1818, when the present brick church was built upon the same site, and
much after the same fashion. It was remodeled and modernized in 1869, during the pastorate of Mr.
Patterson. The number of pews in the second church before the last improvements were made were fifty-
The deed of the old church is dated Feb. 15, 1771, and was given for a consideration of five shillings, by
Abraham Heyter, of Frederick County, province of Maryland, to Patrick Watson, James Galt, and John
McCorkle, of’ the same county and province, and James Barr and James Hunter, of York County,
province of Pennsylvania, in trust for a church and burying-ground. The grant contained two acres of land,
and the use of a spring of water contiguous thereto, on the southeast side of the land, and was situated in
Piney Creek Hundred, Frederick Co. In shape it was a parallelogram, with lines running north and south
twenty perches, and east and west sixteen perches. The grantor restricted the use and privilege of the
land to a “congregation of people called Presbyterians, who shall hold or continue to hold that system of
doctrine contained in the Westminster confession of faith, catechisms, and directory, as the same
principles are now professed and embraced by the Synod of New York and Philadelphia, to which they are
While Piney Creek was enjoying the regular ministrations of a settled pastor, Tom’s Creek was dependent
upon the Presbytery for supplies. In 1772 subscriptions to the amount of fourteen pounds were taken up
in Piney Creek for the benefit of Nassau Hall College, New Jersey. In June, 1775, Mr. Rhea informed the
Presbytery that he desired to visit some parts of Virginia, and that his people had given consent to his
absence. The Presbytery permitted him to carry out his purpose, and furnished him with the usual
Mr. Rhea tendered his resignation as pastor of the Piney Creek Church in April, 1776. His reasons for
doing so are not upon record, but subsequent proceedings show that his salary was in arrears. The
commissioners of the congregation were Robert Bigham and Adam Hoop. Upon their acceding to Mr.
Rhea’s request, the Presbytery, after due deliberation, dissolved the pastoral relation. An agreement was,
however, previously entered into whereby Mr. Rhea engaged to receipt in full for his salary upon the
payment of one hundred and fifty pounds. He also agreed that if upon examination of accounts it should
appear that any moneys had been received for which due credit had not been given, the proper deductions
should be made. The date of these transactions was April 11, 1776.
Mr. Rhea obtained leave to spend the following summer in Virginia, and was furnished with the usual
Being unable to effect a settlement with Mr. Rhea, the congregation applied to the Presbytery in October
of the same year for a committee to adjudicate the matter. The Rev. Messrs. Balch and Black, with
Elders William Blair and David McConaughy, were appointed said committee, and directed to meet at
Piney Creek, when Mr. Rhea could be present. But as he had gone to Virginia, the meeting was
necessarily delayed, and before it could be arranged for his convenience he died. This event occurred
Sept. 20, 1777. Mr. Rhea was a native of Ireland. Piney Creek was his only pastorate in this country. His
remains lie in the burying-ground attached to this church. His tombstone bears the following inscription:
“Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Joseph Rhea, who died in 1777, aged about sixty-two years. Erected
at the request and the expense of a grandson of the deceased, in 1839, by the elders of the Piney Creek
Church, where he preached seven years”
In October, 1778, a paper signed by Patrick Watson, Robert Bigham, Samuel McCune, James Watson,
and William Linn showed that the arrears due to the heirs of Mr. Rhea had been collected, and all the
obligations of the congregation to him honorably discharged. Supplies were appointed for Piney Creek at
this meeting, and from time to time for the next two years.
On the 22d of May, 1777, the Rev. James Martin, a member of the Associate Presbytery of
Pennsylvania, was received by the Synod and assigned to the Presbytery of Donegal. He was enrolled as
a member of this latter body June 18th. In 1780 he accepted a call to Piney Creek Church. The support
promised was “four hundred bushels of wheat per year, or the current price thereof in money, and as much
more as the circumstances of the congregation would admit.” He was installed Nov. 9, 1780, by a
committee consisting of the Rev. Messrs. James Hunt, John Slemons, and John Black. The pastorate of
Mr. Martin was continued eight and a half years. In October, 1788, he applied to the Presbytery of Carlisle
for a relief from his charge. The commissioners of the congregation had not been instructed to acquiesce
in this application, but they presented a memorial showing that their financial affairs were not in a healthy
condition. The church was cited to appear at the next meeting and show cause why Mr. Martin’s request
should not be granted, and a committee consisting of Rev. Messrs. Black, McKnight, and Henderson,
with Elders John Linn, Robert McPherson, and James McKnight, was directed to meet at Piney Creek on
the first Tuesday of December and inquire into the condition of affairs.
The committee reported, April 15, 1789, that the whole amount paid Mr. Martin in nine years was £612
12s. 8d., that £297 7s. 4d. were still due, that for his future support they can only raise seventy pounds
per annum, and will only be responsible for forty pounds of the said sum. The pastoral relation was
therefore unanimously dissolved, and the congregation was directed to use every honorable effort to
liquidate their indebtedness to Mr. Martin. At the same meeting Mr. Martin accepted a call to East and
West Penn’s Valley, Warrior Mark, and Half-Moon, in Pennsylvania, within the present bounds of the
Presbytery of Huntingdon. Here he labored until his death, June 20, 1795. He was a native of the County
Down of Ireland. He came to this country before its independence was declared, and labored for a season
in South Carolina. Piney Creek was his first settlement here, though he had preached for some years in
his native land. He was one of the original members of the Presbytery of Huntingdon, which was
constituted April 14, 1795. He died at the age of sixty-seven, and was buried in Penn’s Valley, where he
resided after he moved to Maryland. Tradition speaks of him as an able and popular preacher. He is said
to have been a very earnest and animated speaker. Like all the preachers of that day, and those
especially of the denomination from which he originally came, his sermons were long, perhaps seldom
less than an hour and a half, and sometimes considerably longer. On a warm summer day it was not
unusual for him to take off his coat and preach in his shirt-sleeves. In the pulpit he was very forgetful of
himself and his personal appearance, so intensely was he taken up in his subject. He would first take off
his coat, then begin to loosen his cravat, and conclude by taking off his wig, holding it in his hand and
shaking it in the face of the congregation, and sometimes during the course of his sermon his wig would
become awry, the back part turned to the front, and he utterly unconscious of the metamorphosis. Surely
a man of such earnestness was above and beyond the ridicule of the profane. Mr. Martin was twice
married. His first wife was Annie McCullough; his second, Ellen Davidson, of York County. After his death
she returned to her home. She had no children. Mr. Martin had four sons,—James, Samuel, John, and
The pulpit remained vacant for several years after Mr. Martin’s resignation, and depended upon the
Presbytery for preaching and the administration of the sacraments. The process of liquidating their
indebtedness went on slowly.
In October, 1792, a statement of accounts between the congregation and their late pastor showed a
remaining indebtedness of £96 17s. 11d. The only other reference to the subject is in April, 1793, when
the people are again directed to take all proper measures to secure a speedy discharge of their obligations
to Mr. Martin.
In August, 1793, the advice of the Presbytery was sought in the following case: “A certain widow of Piney
Creek, with her husband in his lifetime, applied to a certain man who passed under the name of a gospel
minister and had the ordinance of baptism in appearance administered to her two children; but it was
afterwards discovered that the said administrator had never been authorized by any regular church of
Christ to act as a gospel minister.” The Presbytery decided the act of the impostor to be invalid, and
advised that the children be baptized by a regularly ordained minister.
In October, 1801, the Piney Creek Church, which had been vacant since the resignation of Mr. Martin,
April 15, 1789, extended a call to Mr. Davidson, offering him £87 10s. for one-half of his ministerial and
pastoral services. A commissioner informed the Presbytery that Tom’s Creek had been consulted, and
had agreed that Mr. Davidson’s services should be divided between the two congregations. The call was
accordingly presented to Mr. Davidson, and upon his acceptance of it the arrangement was
Tom’s Creek and. Piney Creek were now for the first time in a period of forty years united under the same
pastor. The union then established has, however, been continued with entire harmony through successive
pastorates for three-quarters of a century. Mr. Davidson’s labors were continued in the two congregations
until the autumn of 1809.
At the Presbytery meeting at Carlisle, Sept. 26, 1810, charges of a serious nature were made against Mr.
Davidson by Mr. Emmit. “Only six were deemed relevant: 1. A charge of fraud and falsehood in a
business transaction with said Emmit. 2. Of fraud towards the purchasers of certain lots of ground in the
above transaction. 3. Of falsehood in renting to Anthony Troxel a brick house only, and afterwards giving
him possession of orchard, clover, and garden, though said property was claimed by said Emmit
according to contract. 4. Of fraud and falsehood (1) in settling an account with Robert Holmes, and (2) in
his dealings with Lewis Weaver, wherein he promised to settle with said Weaver before he (Davidson)
removed to Frederick, but violated said promise. 5. Of cruel and unchristian conduct in ejecting George
Hockensmith, wife, and children, with beds and furniture, during a heavy rain, despite all said
Hockensmith’s entreaties to give him two or three days, for which he would pay him two dollars, and in
refusing to give him time for his children to eat a mouthful of breakfast, though it was provided for them
and already on the table. 6. Of a breach of the Sabbath, in June, 1805, in dealing with Solomon Kephart
for harvest liquors.”
A committee consisting of the Rev. John McKnight, D.D., chairman, and the Rev. Messrs. William
Paxton and David McConaughy, with Elders Alexander Russel, Walter Smith, and John Eadie, appointed
to hear and take testimony in the case, met at the house of Patrick Reed, in Emmittsburg, on the first
Tuesday of November, 1810, and entered upon an examination of the charges. Mr. Davidson declined to
make any defense. The committee reported to the Presbytery April 11, 1811. The charges were taken up
seriatim, and after mature consideration it was decided that none of them had been sustained. It was
“Resolved, That the Presbytery declare their high disapprobation of the conduct of William Emmit, in
instituting and prosecuting charges evidently unjust, slanderous, and vexatious.”
It was also ordered that an attested copy of this resolution be read from the pulpit of the churches.
Of the internal and spiritual condition of Piney Creek during Mr. Davidson’s pastorate little is known. In
1806 the total membership was 124; in 1807, 113; in 1808, 108. In 1805 the additions to the church were
10; in 1807, 8; in 1808, 7; in 1809, 9. The baptisms in 1806 were 14; in 1807, 8; in 1808, 24; in 1809, 10;
in 1810, 14.
The next pastor of the united congregations was the Rev. Robert Smith Grier. A complete roll of the
membership of Piney Creek was prepared in January, 1824, from which it appears that there were then
one hundred and forty-four communicants; of these eighty-nine were females. Piney Creek had at that
date thirty-seven members more than Tom’s Creek, and was most probably as strong as at any period of
its history. Emigration westward, by which it has been greatly depleted of late, had not then fairly set in.
The elders were Alexander Horner, John McAlister, Samuel Thompson, and John Barr. Many names then
on the list of members have since disappeared. The Adairs, the Baldwins, the Blacks, the Darbys, the
Fergusons, the Heagys, the McCrearys, the Reids, the Wilsons, and others familiar doubtless to many
now living are no longer upon the register.
In May, 1825, Catharine Harris, Susan Jamison, Sarah and William Thompson, Rebecca Wilson,
Henry Dinwiddie, Amelia Rhinedoller, and Sophia Deukart were received, and in September Robert
Flemming and Miss Eliza Graham. In 1830 the Session received Jacob Shoemaker, who became a useful
member of the church, and was ordained to the eldership in 1838. He died Feb. 4, 1869. Mrs. Margaret
Shoemaker, wife of Jacob, was received at the same time; she was a diffident though a sincere and
humble Christian woman. At her death, which occurred Oct. 26, 1875, it was discovered that she had
bequeathed two thousand dollars to the board of the church.
John Adair was treasurer of Piney Creek Church from 1814 to 1822; James Barr, from 1822 to 1836. The
position of doorkeeper was held by Abraham Shoemaker from 1815 to 1819; James Ross, from 1819 to
1822; Elijah Currens, from 1823 to 1837. The number of persons subscribing to the pastor’s salary in 1806
were 95; in 1810, 75; in 1816 and 1817, 100, which appears to be the maximum number so far as can be
ascertained. The subscriptions ranged from one to ten dollars, the average being about three, and were
The pastorate of Mr. Grier, though covering more than half a century, was quiet and uneventful. He lived
during a large part of his ministry upon his farm, three miles north of Emmittsburg, and over the line
separating Maryland and Pennsylvania. After the decease of Mr. Grier both churches were supplied for a
few months by Rev. Daniel B. Jackson, then a licentiate, but now pastor of the Black River Falls Church,
Wis. Early in the summer of 1866 they were visited by the Rev. Isaac M. Patterson, pastor of the
Annapolis Church, and a member of the Presbytery of Baltimore. This visit resulted in a call to the
pastorate of both churches. Mr. Patterson commenced his labors early in August, and was installed at
Piney Creek November 13th, and on the next day at Emmittsburg. Mr. Patterson’s ministry lasted seven
years. In the summer of 1873 he resigned his pastoral charge with a view to accept a call to Milford, N.J.,
which is his present field of labor. The relations of the present pastor to the united churches of
Emmittsburg, Piney Creek, and Taneytown were constituted in December, 1873, by a committee of the
Presbytery of Baltimore.
In January, 1824, there were in the church at Piney Creek four elders,—Alexander Horner, John
McAllister, Samuel Thompson, and James Barr,—and the following are the names of the communicants:
Alexander Horner, Sarah Horner, Eli Horner, Ann Walker, John Horner, Ann Thompson, Robert McCreery,
Robert Thompson, Eleanor Thompson, Ann McCreery, Mary Thompson, Andrew Walker, Maria McCreery,
Sarah Horner, James Horner, James Black, Jane Black, Philip Heagy, Esther Heagy, Jesse Quinn,
Margaret Linor, William Walker, William Stevenson, Peggy Stevenson, John McCallister, J.W. McCalister,
Betsy McCalister, Mary McCalister, Elizabeth Henry, Frances Weemes, Jane Cornell, Margaret Paxton,
William Paxton, Caroline Harris, Jane McCrea, Elijah Baldwin, Matthew Galt, Mary Galt, Elizabeth Galt,
Susan Galt, Rebecca Galt, Abraham Linor, Sterling Galt, Margaret Galt, Samuel Galt, Mary Galt, Mary
Jones, Elizabeth McCrea, Thompson McCrea, Samuel Thompson, Archibald Clingan, Ann Clingan,
William Clingan, Elizabeth Clingan, Hugh Thompson, Margaret Snyder, Elijah Baldwin, Elizabeth Baldwin,
Mary Baldwin, Kizeah Baldwin, Rachel Miller, Sarah Drummond, James Smith, Sarah Smith, — Alison,
Martha Alison, Mary Ann Alison, Isabella Barr, James Barr, Margaret Barr, Sally Barr, Mary Cornell,
Esther Cornell, Sarah Galt, Martha Breckenridge, Margaret Birnie, Hester Birnie, Charles Birnie, Hester
Birnie, Jr., Rose Birnie, John McKaleb, Mary Jane Annan, John McKillip, Ann McKillip, Mary Gillelan,
Sarah Claubach, Catherine Musgrove, John Ferguson, Sr., John Ferguson, Rebecca Ferguson, John
Adair, Esther Adair, Sarah Adair, Samuel Adair, Hannah Adair, Frances Alison, Margaret Reid, Margaret
Reid, Jr., Mary Reid, Weemes Black, Elizabeth Larrimore, Lucinda McCalister, Thomas McCune, Thomas
McCune, Jr., Mary McCune, John Thompson, Andrew Guin, Margaret Hunter, Susanna Hunter, Jane
Hunter, Elizabeth Hunter, John Hunter, Andrew Horner, Margaret Horner, William Horner, Elizabeth Horner,
Nancy Bentley, John Darby, Catharine Darby, Elizabeth Smith, Mary Wilson, Jane Wilson, John Wilson,
Betsy Larimore, George Guin, Elizabeth Baldwin, John McClanahan, Ann McClanahan, James
McCalester, James McCalister, Jr., Mary McCalister, Alexander McCalister, James McIlhenny, Maria
McIlhenny, Sally McIlhenny, Robert McKinney, Susanna McKinney, Esther McKinney, James Smith,
Jane Longwell, Sally Jamison, Miss Jamison, Kitty (colored), Jack (colored).
The following is a list of the persons subscribing to the pastor’s salary in the year 1817:
Adair, John. Horner, John.
Adair, Samuel. Hunter, John.
Alison, Francis. Heagy, Philip.
Alexander, William. Hays, Joseph.
Armstrong, Isaac. Hunter, Susanna.
Barr, James. Heagy, George.
Breckinridge, William. Jamison, Widow.
Black, James. Jamison, John.
Birnie, Clotworthy. Jones, John.
Baldwin, Daniel. Linn, James.
Beard, William. Linn, Samuel.
Breckinridge, Widow. Love, Robert.
Brannon, Margaret. Leech, Robert.
Cornall, Thomas. Linah, Abraham.
Cornall, William. Larimore, Thomas.
Crabbs, John. Linn, Samuel, Jr.
Currens, Elijah. Little, Susanna.
Currens, William. McCreary, Robert.
Cornall, Jesse. McAlister, John.
Cornall, Smith. McAlister, James.
Clingan, Archibald. McKaleb, John.
Clingan, William. McKalip, John.
Crabster, John. McCune, Thomas.
Crabster, John, Jr. McIlvane, Moses.
Darby, John. Major, Robert.
Dorborrow, Isaac. McKinney, John.
Drummond, James. McCune, Thomas.
Ferguson, John. McIlhenny, John.
Ferguson, William. McCrea, Elizabeth.
Galt, John. McCrea, Thomas.
Galt, Matthew. Musgrove, Samuel.
Guin, George. McIlhenny, James.
Galt, Moses. Paxton, William.
Gilliland, John. Paxton, Thomas.
Guin, Andrew. Paxton, Margaret.
Gordin, Mary. Ross, James.
Horner, Alexander. Robinson, Robert.
Hill, Hannah. Reed, Francis.
Hunter, Joseph. Smith, Samuel.
Horner, William. Smith, James.
Horner, Andrew. Stevenson, William.
Shoemaker, William. Thomson, Robert.
Snyder, Nicholas. Thomson, Hugh.
Shaw, Hugh. Wilson, William.
Six, George. Walker, Mary.
Sink, George. Walker, William.
Smith, Obadiah. Wilson, Charles, Jr.
Shoemaker, Abraham. Wharton, James.
Stevenson, James. Weems, Fanny.
Thomson, John. Walker, Andrew.
Rev. Sterling M. Galt was born in Taneytown District, Carroll Co., Md., Feb. 28, 1837. He was the son of
Sterling Galt, a wealthy and influential citizen of the county and a descendant of one of the oldest
settlers. He entered Princeton College, and pursued a thorough course of study both in the academic and
theological departments. He was licensed to preach by the Presbytery of New Brunswick in 1861. He
began his ministrations at Newark and Red Clay Creek, Del., within the bounds of the Presbytery of New
Castle, where he was ordained in 1862 and installed pastor of these churches. After three years of
incessant labor in this his only charge, he fell a victim to typhoid fever, Oct. 24, 1865.
Piney Creek has done her share to replenish the ministerial ranks. John W. Smith was the only son of
Stephen and Frances Smith. He entered himself as a student of Pennsylvania College, at Gettysburg,
and studied at the same time for the Presbyterian ministry. He was a young man of talent, and gave
promise of eminent usefulness, but was taken off by disease, May 26, 1872, in the twentieth year of his
year. The inscription upon his tombstone in Piney Creek graveyard tells that “he was a candidate for the
Rev. James Grier Breckinridge, son of Robert and Mary Grier Breckinridge, and brother of Mrs. Matilda
Allison, of Emmittsburg, was born in Carroll County, Md., May 30, 1808. His parents were members of the
Piney Creek Church. His mother was a daughter of Rev. James Grier, a convert of Whitefield, and pastor
of the Deep Run Church, Bucks County, Pa., from 1776 to 1791. Mr. Breckinridge received his collegiate
education at Dickinson College, studied theology at Princeton, and was licensed by the Presbytery of
Carlisle. In the autumn of 1831 he assisted in protracted services held at Bedford, Pa., after which he
supplied the Bedford Church for some months. In May, 1833, a colony of thirty members from this
congregation formed a new church at Schellsburg, of which Mr. Breckinridge became the first pastor.
Accompanied by his wife he attended the sessions of the Carlisle Presbytery, at Chambersburg, in
October, 1833. After the adjournment they visited their relatives in Carroll County, Md., and while there
were prostrated by an attack of typhoid fever, from which neither of them recovered. Mr. Breckinridge died
Nov. 1, 1833, when but twenty-six years of age, and Mrs. Breckinridge on the 19th of the same month,
aged thirty years. They were both buried in the graveyard of Piney Creek Church.
John Motter Annan, the son of Dr. Andrew and Elizabeth Motter Annan, was born in Emmittsburg, Md.,
March 17, 1841. Early in life he exhibited a decided predilection for the church, and with a view to prepare
for the ministry entered Lafayette College Sept. 7, 1859. At the breaking out of the civil war he left school
and joined the Union army, enlisting in Company C, First Regiment of the Potomac Home Brigade,
Maryland Cavalry, Capt. John Horner, of which company he was chosen first lieutenant. While at Camp
Thomas, Frederick, Md., before the company had been in active service, he was accidentally killed by the
discharge of a carbine in the hands of a soldier with whom he was conversing, Nov. 13, 1861. He was a
young man of some talent, and possessed of moral qualities which would have made themselves felt in
the community had he lived and carried out his original intentions.
The pastors of the Piney Creek Church have been:
1763-70, vacant, with occasional supplies; 1771-76, Rev. Joseph Rhea; 1776-80, vacant, with occasional
supplies; 1780-89, Rev. James Martin; 1789-1800, vacant, with occasional supplies; 1801-10, Rev.
Patrick Davidson; 1811-13, vacant, with occasional supplies; 1814-66, Rev. Robert S. Grier; 1866-73,
Rev. Isaac M. Patterson; 1873, Rev. William Simonton.
Taneytown is the oldest village in Carroll County. It was laid out about the year 1750 by Frederick Taney,
who came from Calvert County, Md. It is situated on the main road from Frederick to York, Pa., and prior
to the Revolutionary war, and for many years afterwards, was the principal thoroughfare between the North
and South. Frederick Taney, the founder of the town, was a member of the family of Roger B. Taney, the
late eminent chief justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, whose remains now repose in a
cemetery in Frederick after a grand but stormy career, in which heroic devotion to duty and extraordinary
judicial acumen were so faithfully illustrated that his bitterest enemies have united to do justice to his
memory. The ancestors of’ Frederick Taney were among the earliest settlers in the province of Maryland,
and were large landed proprietors in Calvert County for many generations before his birth. Raphael Taney,
in conjunction with Edward Digges, patented a tract of seven thousand nine hundred acres of land in this
vicinity in 1754, but the Taney estate passed into other hands many years ago. The Good family
succeeded by purchase to Taneytown. The land eventually fell into the hands of an old bachelor named
Taney, who was a hard drinker. When not in his cups he was crusty and disagreeable, and could not be
brought to entertain a proposition for the disposal of his property. Certain parties familiar with his habits,
and anxious to secure the land, probably for speculative purposes, plied him with liquor, and when
reduced to the convenient state of intoxication induced him to sign the papers which conveyed away his
property. From the Good family the property descended by inheritance to the Gwinns, and from them, by
sale and otherwise, to John McCaleb, the most extensive owner, Crouse, McKellip, Swope, Knox, Birnie,
Rudisel, Hess, Null, Galt, and other families, until to-day there are but few acres within a radius of several
miles around the town owned by parties bearing the names of those who were the proprietors sixscore
years ago. Exception must be noted in the case of Sterling Galt. His estate has been the homestead of
the family for one hundred and thirty-five years. In the original plan of Taneytown it was intended that a
public square should be placed at the intersection of York Street and the Emmittsburg pike, now known
as Bunker Hill, but the idea, an excellent one, was never carried out.
On a lot at the southeast angle of the intersection above mentioned, and directly opposite the residence
of John Reindollar, stood the oldest house in the village, supposed to have been built one hundred and
forty-five years ago. When Peter Heck was a boy, in 1799, it was a very old house. It was owned by Mrs.
Margaret Angel, and in 1876 it was taken down.
In the latter part of the eighteenth century there stood on or near what is now the lime-kiln in Taneytown a
long, low frame building, in which were manufactured, by a Mr. Sroyer, such implements as fireshovels,
tongs, hoes, nails, and guns. The venerable Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson has in her possession a heavy pair
of tongs made at this primitive factory, on which is inscribed the date of manufacture, 1796. The
establishment was under the supervision of the government, or at least that portion which embraced the
manufacture of firearms, and was annually visited and inspected by government officials. The machinery
was very crude and simple. Instead of the belts, pulleys, emery-wheels, and ordinary appurtenances of a
modern factory, regulated by steam, and by means of which a gun-barrel or other iron implements can be
polished in a few moments, the only contrivance then known and used was a huge grindstone turned by
an old horse. With these limited facilities, however, many guns were made for the government. The
factory burned down early in the present century, and was never rebuilt, the government factory having
been subsequently transferred to Harper’s Ferry, Va.
Taneytown, situated on the great highway of travel between the North and South, doubtless witnessed
more of the conflict between Tory and Federal partisans than has been recorded or remembered. On more
than one occasion the British and their allies rendezvoused at the head-waters of the Elk, in Cecil County,
and sent out marauding parties, who ravaged the country and committed many outrages which time has
suffered to lapse into oblivion. It would be strange, indeed, if in some of their raids they had not directed
their energies against the rich country now forming Carroll County, and the road passing through
Taneytown offered inducements of no ordinary nature to the baser class of army followers. The most
annoying feature of these raids must have been the idiotic search made for prominent patriots. Houses
were entered, the inmates insulted, and the furniture ransacked and broken to pieces. The late Mrs.
Elizabeth Galt, whose death occurred some thirty-five years ago, was wont to exhibit with pride to
interested visitors several bed-quilts which in “the days that tried men’s souls” had been perforated by the
swords or bayonets of the soldiers in search of some victim. The fires of patriotism burned very brightly in
the vicinity of Taneytown, and Tories were seldom rash enough to brave the anger of the people by an
open expression of their sentiments. The martial spirit pervaded the neighborhood. A company of light
horse was organized here, of which the father of Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson, an old and highly esteemed
resident, was a member. They were accustomed to assemble for drill at stated times in full regimentals in
what is now known as “the race-ground field,” a short distance east of the village. As the country had
need of every soldier that could be spared from the ordinary avocations of life, it is probable that this
company took the field early in the struggle and combated gallantly for the rights of the people. On one
occasion during the Revolution Gen. Washington, accompanied by his wife, halted in Taneytown on his
way North to join the army, and remained there overnight. The log house, since then covered in with a
casement of brick, still stands where the general and his wife passed the night. It is the building on
Frederick Street now owned and occupied by Ephraim Hackensmith, but at that time kept as a tavern by
Adam Good. Many old citizens remember the quaint sign which hung above the door, and whose creaking
of a chill winter’s night, accompanied by the shrill blasts of wind, filled the souls of the small-fry with awe
and dread, suggesting ghosts and hobgobblins to their impressionable minds. It is related of Washington
that when asked what he would have for supper he replied “mush and milk,” and Mrs. Washington having
some leisure moments during the evening, drew from her reticule an unfinished stocking and began to
knit. After the death of Adam Good, the proprietor of the inn where the distinguished guests were
entertained, his furniture was sold at auction, and Matthew Galt, the father of Sterling Galt, purchased the
table upon which the very modest supper was served to Gen. Washington and his wife. It has since then
passed through a number of hands in the same family, and is now the property of John McKellip.
As far as is known there are no other existing relics or vestiges of colonial times, save the almost
undistinguishable remains of an old burial-ground about a mile and a half southwest of the village, in the
woods, on the farm of William Brubaker. The only stone remaining upon which characters can be traced is
one bearing the date 1764. Mr. Brubaker has a stone taken from there on which is inscribed the date
1701. Inasmuch as the oldest inhabitants have no knowledge of those buried there, and that there has
been no mention made of the spot for several successive generations, it is inferred that the pioneers of
this section, persons who penetrated the wilderness before the advent of Taney or the building of
Taneytown, were laid to rest in this spot of ground, and that many friendly Indians are peacefully sleeping
their last sleep in company with their white brethren. The tribes of Indians scattered through this region in
early days were on the most friendly terms with the whites, and tradition tells of a friendly contest in
marksmanship which took place many years before the Revolution between the whites and Indians in the
vicinity of Taneytown. There were excellent marksmen on both sides, and the struggle was prolonged until
all the lead was used up. An Indian offered to bring them within an hour an abundance of lead if they
would provide a conveyance. He was furnished with a fleet horse, and the hour had scarcely expired when
he returned, bringing with him a huge lump of crude lead. Where he got it has always been a mystery. At
the time efforts were made to induce the Indians to reveal the whereabouts of this lead-mine, but the red
men were too wary for the whites, and no expedient could draw from them a disclosure of their secret.
This vein of lead is popularly supposed to lie somewhere near Monocacy Creek, but repeated attempts
have been made to discover it without success.
During the war of 1812 a company of volunteers was organized in Taneytown, and commanded by Capt.
Knox and Lieut. Galt, and forty men responded to the call of the United States government during the war
between the North and South, some of whom laid down their lives in defense of the Union.
In 1836 an act was passed by the General Assembly of Maryland incorporating the inhabitants of
Taneytown, and prescribing the following metes and bounds for the municipality: Beginning at the
southwest corner of lot number one, at the public square of the town; thence in a straight line to a stone
planted at the fork of the road leading from Taneytown to Westminster and Uniontown; thence a straight
line to a branch where it crosses the main road leading from Taneytown to Fredericktown, at Ludwick
Rudisel’s tan-yard, and down the bed of said branch to its intersection with Spark’s Run; thence in a
straight line to Piney Run, where said run crosses the main road leading from Taneytown to Gettysburg;
thence by a straight line to a spring run, where said run crosses the main road leading from Taneytown to
Littlestown, where said run passes into John McKaleb’s meadow; thence in a straight line to a stone
planted at the fork of the roads leading from Taneytown to Westminster and Uniontown; thence in a
straight line to the place of beginning. And that the taxable limits of the said town shall be as follows:
including all that part of the town now improved, or which the citizens may at any time hereafter improve.
In 1838 another act of Assembly was passed supplementary to the above, and changing somewhat the
boundaries of the town, but as both of the acts were allowed to expire by limitation it is not necessary to
give the latter here. The village is accredited by the census of 1880 with a population of five hundred and
The Reformed Church was among the first places of worship established in Taneytown. There are no
records preserved of a date prior to 1770. In that year Rev. W. Faber accepted the pastorate, and
remained in charge of the church until 1785. The next pastor was old Mr. Nicodemus, who was deaf as a
post. He ministered to the spiritual wants of the congregation between 1790 and 1800. His successor was
Rev. W. Rabauser, a young man who remained but a short time. He was followed by Rev. W. Runkle, who
came from Germantown, Pa., and is reputed to have been an excellent preacher. He did not stay longer
than one year. The congregation at that time numbered about six hundred members. Father Greeves
succeeded Mr. Runkle. He remained several years, and was then called to Woodstock, Va. Jacob
Helfenstein succeeded him, and was noted for his zeal and anxious-bench system. Rev. W. Aurand
followed, and created some difficulty about his salary, which is still remembered in the neighborhood.
Father Greeves was recalled, and remained in charge of the congregation until his death, leaving a good
name behind him. The church was now vacant for some time. Rev. N. Habbert, of the Presbyterian
denomination, was subsequently called, and promised to council himself with the German Reformed
Church, but never did. At this time Rev. W. Leidy officiated, and preached in the German language. He
is said to have been very eccentric. During this period the congregation thinned out considerably. After the
departure of Mr. Leidy the charge was vacant until Rev. W. Heiner settled in Emmittsburg and took the
church under his pastoral charge. In 1838, Rev. Daniel Felte took charge of the congregation, and served
until June, 1841. He was followed by Rev. J.G. Wolf, who retired from the charge June 1, 1850, and was
succeeded by Rev. Charles M. Jameson in February, 1851. Mr. Jameson remained only a year, when
Rev. John G. Fritchey was called. He entered upon his duties April 1, 1852, and was installed pastor of
the charge June 7, 1852, by a committee consisting of the following divines: William F. Colliflower, M.
Shuford, and George Hughenbaugh. Rev. W.F. Colliflower preached the installation sermon. At a meeting
in June, 1854, the number of elders was increased to four.
At a joint consistorial meeting, held at Mount Union church on Nov. 28, 1864, Rev. John G. Fritchey
tendered his resignation, which after some consideration was accepted with a great deal of reluctance. A
call was then extended to the Rev. N.E. Gibbs, of St. Clairsville, Bedford Co., Pa., who accepted the
same, and entered upon the pastoral work in May, 1865. After two years he resigned the charge to accept
a call to Mechanicstown. In September, 1873, Rev. P.D. Long, of Navarre, Ohio, was called to the charge
by a unanimous vote of the congregation. He took charge of the church Nov. 14, 1873, and was installed
March 25, 1874.
This congregation worshiped in the “Old Yellow” Union church until 1822. On Sept. 6, 1821, the corner-
stone of their present edifice was laid, the sermon and services being delivered by Rev. J.B.
Winebrenner. The estimated cost of their church was about three thousand five hundred dollars, the
members numbering about two hundred at that time. The church has since been remodeled and repaired,
and now presents a handsome appearance. Their parsonage, which is occupied by the present pastor,
was built in 1848. The congregation numbers about two hundred members, and the officers are David
Buffington, Wm. Hough, Joshua Houtz, Abraham Shriner, elders; Thomas Shriner, Jonas Harner, James
Shriner, Michael N. Fringer, deacons; Abraham Hess, Wm. Fisher, Americus Shoemaker, and Toba
Among the persons buried in the German Reformed Cemetery are the following:
Elizabeth Blair, died Nov. 30, 1831, aged 14 years.
John Shriner, born March 18, 1796, died July 24, 1874; and Susanna, his wife, March 12, 1848, aged 40
Rachel Newcomer, wife of Samuel, died Jan. 29, 1849, aged 38 years, 10 months, 2 days.
Lydia, daughter of J. Shriner, born Dec. 26, 1837, died July 6, 1865.
Sarah Clabaugh, aged 64.
Jacob Clabaugh, aged 48.
John T., son of J. Hann, died Nov. 6, 1830, aged 2.
Henry Hann, died Sept. 12, 1812, aged 71.
Elizabeth Hann, died June 10, 1821, aged 71.
John Hann, died June 10, 1830, aged 34.
William Hann, son of J. Hann, died Oct. 3, 1835, aged 20.
Namary A. Lindin, died Sept. 11, 1787, aged 27.
A. Bigal Lind, died June 23, 1819, aged 29.
Nicholas Lind, died Feb. 21, 1823, aged 73 years, 3 months, 4 days.
Harmon Hersh, died November, 1818, aged 75.
Susan E. Baemer, born January, 1731, died September, 1804.
Philip Baemer, born 1729, died 1806.
Elizabeth Baemer, born Sept. 2, 1779, died Nov. 1, 1805.
Elizabeth Baemer, born Oct. 26, 1806, died Dec. 20, 1806.
Catharine, wife of Jacob Hape, died Sept. 29, 1838.
George Koons, born Jan. 21, 1790, died March 12, 1815.
Matthias Hann, died Feb. 17, 1831, aged 92 years, 9 months.
Mary Hann, died March 29, 1829, aged 72 years.
Elizabeth Koons, died April 19, 1830, aged 35.
John Fuss, died Feb. 4, 1826, aged 29 years, 2 months, 22 days.
Daniel Fuss, died July 29, 1834, aged 47 years, 2 months, 9 days.
John Fuss, born May 20, 1754, died Jan. 25, 1836.
John Crabb, died Feb. 11, 1829, aged 62.
Mary A. Fuss, died June 14, 1831, aged 38 years, 9 months, 12 days.
Catharine Fuss, died Sept. 20, 1849, aged 62 years, 5 months, 12 days.
Mary, wife of John Fuss, died May 27, 1840, aged 80 years.
Elizabeth, consort of J.H. Hays, died Jan. 4, 1846, aged 30.
James Slick, died Dec. 22, 1844, aged 33 years, 16 days.
Nicholas Fringer, born Aug. 27, 1751, died July 12, 1840.
Margaret Fringer, died Aug. 12, 1850, aged 86.
George Fringer, died Oct. 20, 1846, aged 43 years, 10 months, 20 days.
Wilhelm Slick, died March 20, 1804, aged 40 years.
Rebecca Homer, died 1806.
W. Hiner, died April 8, 1801, aged 32.
Mary Hiner, died Dec. 15, 1808, aged 64.
Herbert Hiner, died Oct. 16, 1806, aged 65.
Henry Koontz, of John, died July 30, 1825, aged 50 years, 6 months, 8 days; and Margaret, his wife, Jan.
27, 1835, aged 52 years, 7 months.
Peter Shriner, born Oct. 25, 1767, died Aug. 5, 1861.
Mary Shriner, born Aug. 6, 1773, died March 17, 1814.
Cot Munshower, born March, 1737, died in 1792.
Nicholas Munshower, born 1743, died Oct. 1, 1814.
Conrad Orndorff, born Sept. 16, 1722, died Nov. 26, 1795.
Mary B. Shriner, born Aug. 9, 1770, died Sept. 1, 1825.
Henry Shriner, born Feb. 15, 1763, died April 11, 1835.
William Otto, died Dec. 26, 1806, aged 64 years, 2 months.
E. Burke, 1866.
John Kehn, died March 9, 1868, aged 80 years, 6 months, 27 days.
Louis Reindollar, died Jan. 10, 1848, aged 67 years, 8 months.
Henry Reindollar, died July 7, 1830, aged 51 years.
Rebecca Starr, died May 8, 1831, aged 21 years, 3 months, 1 day.
Elizabeth McKellip, wife of James, and daughter of H. Reindollar, Sept. 2, 1851, aged 24.
James Reindollar, died April 8, 1825, aged 22.
John Kraus, born 1737, died 1777.
Joseph Crouse, died May 1, 1850, aged 52 years, 11 months; Elizabeth, his wife, died Oct. 26, 1850,
aged 52 years, 2 months.
George Krabbs, died March 27, 1810, aged 66.
John Six, died May 15, 1869, aged 79 years, 9 days; and Sarah A., his wife, born March 11, 1809, died
March 26, 1874.
Catharine Heagy, died March 8, 1852, aged 42 years, 6 months, 7 days.
Samuel Heagy, died Oct. 15, 1837, aged 36 years, 9 months, 6 days.
George Keefer, died Jan. 25, 1831, aged 55 years, 4 months, 26 days.
Joseph Shaner, died Aug. 24, 1880, aged 79.
David Fleagle, died Jan. 4, 1865, aged 79 years, 7 months, 18 days.
Margaret, his wife, died Sept. 12, 1844, aged 48 years, 5 months, 22 days.
Benjamin Koons, died May 14, 1851, aged 44 years, 1 month, 10 days.
Polly Frock, born Oct. 9, 1817, died March 15, 1835.
Philip Frock, born June 14, 1813, died April 10, 1863.
Daniel Frock, born June 30, 1777, died May 30, 1857.
Elizabeth, his wife, born Feb. 9, 1779, died May 22, 1857.
John Frock, born Dec. 18, 1801, died May 14, 1858; and Mary, his wife, Aug. 5, 1875, aged 68 years.
Ann, wife of J. Shaner, born Oct. 25, 1805, died March 20, 1874.
Abraham Haugh, died Oct. 17, 1835, aged 18 years, 5 months, 18 days.
Paul Haugh, Jr., died June 15, 1819, aged 1 year.
Josiah Haugh, died March 13, 1829, aged 18.
Susannah, consort of John Crapster, born July 1, 1766, died June 23, 1855.
Walter O’Nea, died June 27, 1827, aged 39 years, 6 months.
Margaret Wilt, died Nov. 23, 1869, aged 58 years, 6 months, 25 days.
John Weant, died Sept. 11, 1858, aged 81 years.
Catharine, his wife, died Aug. 26, 1853, aged 71 years.
Jacob Weant, died July 25, 1850, aged 44 years.
Peter Orndorff, died Jun. 16, 1847, aged 58 years, 5 months, 14 days; and Elizabeth, his wife, died Nov.
20, 1851, aged 69 years, 8 months, 20 days.
Henry Kiser, died June 30, 1850, aged 47 years, 19 days.
Phœbe, his wife, died Oct. 27, 1870, aged 65 years, 8 months, 11 days.
Mary Heiner, born May 28, 1793, died May 17, 1837.
John Cover, born 1798, died 1864; and Susan, his wife, Oct. 3, 1876, aged 78.
Peter Ridinger, born Oct. 28, 1793, died May 11, 1842.
Henry Keefer, died Aug. 30, 1848, aged 35 years, 8 months, 28 days.
Christiana Koons, died June 23, 1844, aged 33 years, 4 months, 23 days.
Jacob Koons, died May 22, 1879, aged 68 years, 5 months, 21 days; and Elizabeth, his wife, March 28,
1861, aged 47 years, 4 months.
Catharine, wife of Jacob Koons, Sr., died Feb. 15, 1846, aged 69 years, 11 months, 19 days.
Jacob Koons, Sr., died Dec. 31, 1845, aged 68 years, 1 month, 28 days.
Margaret, wife of Jacob Koons, Jr., died June 8, 1848, aged 39.
Thomas Keefer, born Jan. 8, 1797, died aged 53 years, 4 months, 29 days.
Ephraiam Koons, died Oct. 14, 1856, aged 42 years.
Rev. John Lantz, pastor of the German Reformed Church, died Jan. 26, 1873, aged 62.
Daniel Sell, died Nov. 19, 1874, aged 90 years, 10 months, 10 days.
Mary, his wife, died Feb. 28, 1874, aged 85 years, 20 days.
Samuel Longwell, Sr., died Aug. 24, 1854, aged 86 years, 6 months, 15 days; and Margaret, his wife,
Jan. 4, 1845, aged 68 years, 3 months.
Joseph Bargar, Sr., died June 17, 1842, aged 65.
Robert Arthur, died Feb. 23, 1869, aged 88.
Agnes Arthur, died March 11, 1846, aged 64.
Paul Haugh, Sr., died March 5, 1847, aged 67 years, 1 month, 16 days.
Elizabeth Rech, died Dec. 25, 1845, aged 55 years, 6 months, 17 days.
Abraham Hiteshew, born March 28, 1789, died Aug. 1, 1873.
Catharine, his wife, died April 3, 1858, aged 69.
Henry Koons, born Jan. 18, 1789, died Dec. 25, 1853.
Emily Koons, died April 2, 1867, aged 39 years, 11 months, 18 days.
Jacob Keefer, born March 28, 1780, died Sept. 28 1855.
Catharine Keefer, died March 29, 1859, aged 68 years, 6 months, 15 days.
Isaac Newcomer, died April 10, 1870, aged 55 years, 5 months, 23 days.
Jacob Newcomer, died Jan. 5, 1869, aged 64 years, 8 months, 5 days.
George Crabbs, Sr., died Jan. 6, 1859, aged 65 years, 10 months, 16 days.
Hugh Thomson, died Dec. 18, 1852, aged 68.
Nicholas Snider, born May 9, 1786, died June 11, 1856.
Margaret, his wife, died July 20, 1865, aged 86 years.
Ann, wife of George Shriner, died July 16, 1853, aged 72 years.
Elizabeth, wife of John Slogenhaupt, died March 18, 1865, aged 48 years, 2 months, 23 days.
Elijah Fleagle, died March 19, 1871, aged 50 years, 4 months, 20 days.
Mary A., his second wife, died Oct. 17, 1854, aged 27 years, 1 month, 11 days.
Francis Slick, died Feb. 8, 1857, aged 63.
Magdalena Slick, born Nov. 26, 1790, died April 6, 1853.
John Fleagle, died Dec. 24, 1873, aged 93 years, 2 months, 15 days.
Susanna Fleagle, died April 23, 1851, aged 76 years, 2 months, 11 days.
Samuel Newcomer, died July 4, 1848, aged 75 years, 7 months, 1 day.
Barbara Newcomer, died March 6, 1853, aged 75 years.
John Henry, son of J. and B. Ocker, born Feb. 10, 1843, died April 30, 1862, “of typhoid fever, whilst a
volunteer in the defense of his country’s honor.”
Jacob, son of J. and B. Ocker, “killed on Maryland Heights by an explosion, June 30, 1863,” aged 21
years, 10 months, 28 days. “He was beloved by his officers and companions, and was a faithful and
obedient son to a widowed mother.”
Mary Wilson, died May 16, 1864, aged 78.
Michael Ott, born Oct. 16, 1793, died May 20, 1872.
Mary, his wife, born Dec. 12, 1796, died Oct. 10, 1871.
Isabella G. Reaver, died March 11, 1880, aged 45 years, 7 months.
Lewis Maus, born Nov. 8, 1777, died Sept. 26, 1826.
“D.M.,” died 1817.
Daniel Hawn, born Sept. 9, 1802, died Jan. 30, 1877; Magdalena, his wife, born Oct. 9, 1801, died March
Wm. Shaner, born Feb. 2, 1798, died June 16, 1850; Rosanna Shaner, died Feb. 12, 1868, aged 67 years,
10 months, 18 days.
Henry Hiner, horn Jan. 28, 1836, died Oct. 23, 1873.
Eleanor Fluegal, died March 31, 1839, aged 43 years, 2 months, 13 days. Sarah, wife of John
Stockslayer, born July 22, 1795, died June 13, 1865.
Mary Hawn, died Dec. 19, 1872, at an old age.
Henry Hawn, born Dec. 10, 1781, died Jan. 25, 1867; Anna M., his wife, died Aug. 9, 1859, aged 64
years, 7 months, 6 days.
Matthias Hawn, born Feb. 20, 1794, died April 1, 1858.
Jacob Hawn, born Nov. 6, 1785, died May 25, 1878.
Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Hough, died March 26, 1877, aged 50 years, 9 months, 27 days.
Reuben Stonesifer, died Dec. 1, 1876, aged 52 years, 8 months, 16 days.
Elizabeth Tracy, died Aug. 7, 1878, aged 90.
John Angel, died April 16, 1872, aged 72 years, 5 months, 9 days.
Magdalena Angel, died Feb. 18, 1880, aged 42 years, 3 months, 21 days.
Elizabeth Angel, wife of John A., Sr., died Jan. 18, 1864, aged 64 years, 7 months, 22 days.
Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Hough, died March 26, 1877, aged 50 years, 9 months, 27 days.
Harvey T., son of S. and M. Null, who fell at Loudon Heights, Jan. 10, 1864, aged 21 years, 4 months, 25
“Sweet be the slumbers of him who fell for his country fighting for liberty and law.”
Jacob Shriner, born Jan. 5, 1800, died April 13, 1874; Catharine, his wife, died Feb. 6, 1868, aged 63
years, 9 mos., 23 days.
Mary Ann Stultz, died Aug. 4, 1879, aged 55 years, 4 months, 19 days.
Ann Stultz, born Jan. 31, 1804, died Jan. 28, 1875.
Samuel F. Stultz, born Sept. 20, 1835, died Aug. 10, 1870.
Maria Smith, died Feb. 13, 1871, aged 37 years.
Eli Sowers, born Jan. 6, 1805, died Nov. 3, 1878; Elizabeth, his wife, and daughter of Peter Shriner, died
Sept. 16, 1838, aged 64 years, 8 months, 22 days.
Wm. Newcomer, died Jan. 10, 1872, aged 40.
Henry Peters, died Dec. 4, 1872, aged 63 years, 1 month, 28 days.
Samuel Newcomer, born Oct. 30, 1807, died April 19, 1877; Frances, his wife, born July 16, 1807, died
Feb. 14, 1878.
Philip Hann, born Oct. 22, 1777, died Dec. 31, 1863; Elizabeth, his wife, died March 10, 1860, aged 78
years, 10 days.
Philip W. Hann, died April 8, 1867, aged 67 years; Susannah, his wife, died March 29, 1864, aged 78
Frederick Dotterea, died Aug. 25, 1854, aged 66 years, 1 month, 5 days.
Lydia, wife of John Shoemaker, born Aug. 14, 1798, died Feb. 15, 1867.
Esther Shoemaker, died Nov. 20, 1861, aged 86 years, 1 month, 15 days.
Joseph Shoemaker, died March 28, 1863, aged 57 years, 2 months, 1 day.
John Davidson, born May 12, 1795, died Dec. 23, 1873; Margaret, his wife, born July 11, 1793, died
March 30, 1872.
Maria E., wife of George Baird, died Nov. 3, 1867, aged 72 years, 12 days.
Frederick Crabbs, died Oct. 3, 1861, aged 62 years, 4 months, 23 days; Matilda, his wife, died
Jan. 13, 1878, aged 79 years, 7 months, 8 days.
George W. McConkey, born Sept. 20, 1799, died June 30, 1880; Eliza, his wife, died Dec. 27, 1876,
Jesse Heck, born March 3, 1807, died Sept. 4, 1866.
James Crouse, died March 27, 1868, aged 68.
Elizabeth Crouse, died Feb. 14, 1877, aged 68.
Barbara, wife of George Crise, died Nov. 5, 1873, aged 82 years, 4 months, 12 days.
Sarah, wife of James heck, died March 28, 1872, aged 63 years, 3 months, 3 days.
Susanna, wife of Philip Shriner, died Aug. 10, 1863, aged 83 years, 10 months, 27 days.
John Koons, died March 6, 1869, aged 51 years, 11 months, 15 days.
John Kuhns, died May 12, 1875, aged 58 years, 7 months, 2 days; Lovey, his wife, died Feb. 8,
1868, aged 39 years, 11 months, 22 days.
Michael Fringer, died July 12, 1879, aged 72 years, 6 months, 16 days.
Nicholas Fringer, born Dec. 20, 1798, died Sept. 2, 1869.
Israel Hiteshue, born Dec. 1, 1803, died Sept. 13, 1856.
Gideon Hiteshue, died April 9, 1865, aged 71 years; Mary Ann, his wife, died June 26, 1879,
aged 76 years, 8 months, 19 days.
Margaret Arthur, died July 22, 1870, aged 50 years, 4 months, 10 days.
Adam Tobias Hokensmith, died Oct. 27, 1865, aged 35 years, 7 months, 11 days.
George Crabbs, died Jan. 6, 1859, aged 65 years, 10 months, 16 days.
John Shoemaker, born March 11, 1822, died Feb. 2, 1878.
Catharine Buffington, aged 44 years, 5 months, 11 days.
John M. Cover, died Jan. 9, 1877, aged 46 years, 3 months, 14 days.
J.B. Harmish, died Feb. 23, 1879, aged 49 years, 6 months, 26 days.
Lutheran Church.—This congregation was organized about the year 1780. They worshiped in the “Old
Yellow” church, a structure weather-boarded and painted yellow, which was situated on the graveyard lot.
No regular pastor was employed, but Dr. Melsheimer and Dr. Runkel, from Gettysburg, delivered sermons
to the congregation occasionally in German. About the year 1800 the congregation removed to the church
they now occupy. Rev. John Grubb was the regular pastor in 1815 and for some time before, and it was
he that first introduced English preaching. About the year 1817 he nearly made a failure, owing to his not
being familiar with the language. He would open his sermon in English, and in his efforts to convey an
idea in that language would become confused and finish his expression in German. Rev. John N. Hoffman
succeeded Mr. Grubb, and was the first regular English pastor. He continued in this charge for some
years, and was followed by Rev. Ezra Keller, who upon resigning his position after some years’ services
was appointed a professor of the Wurtemburg College, Springfield, Ohio. Rev. Solomon Sentmen was
their next pastor, and continued for seventeen years and a half to attend to the duties of the church. He
was succeeded by Rev. Levi T. Williams, who occupied the pulpit about seven years. Rev. Bertgresser
followed him, and was succeeded by Rev. Williams, whose failing health compelled his resignation, and
Rev. W.H. Luckenbach was his successor. In 1878 their present pastor, Samuel G. Finckel, was called to
the church. The salary of the pastors was always paid by voluntary subscriptions up to the new
organization of the congregation and the remodeling of the church, since when the salary has been raised
by assessment, each member paying according to his wealth or worth. The present officers are Samuel
Shriner, Jacob Sherratts, elders; Charles Hess, Daniel Null, Jacob Mehring, William Clutz, deacons; Dr.
George T. Motter, John Reindollar, David Mehring, John Renner, Elijah Currans, Dr. Samuel Swope,
trustees. The congregation numbers between four and five hundred members, and possesses a fine and
The following names of persons buried in the Lutheran Cemetery are given:
Jacob Snider, born Oct. 15, 1796. died Aug. 29, 1868 ; Hester, his wife, died Nov. 9, 1871, aged 60
years, 6 months, 22 days.
George Snider, died Aug. 29, 1871, aged 74 years, 7 months, 14 days.
Levi Snider, died May 24, 1874, aged 39 years, 6 months, 19 days.
Sarah, wife of J. Angell, died Feb. 23, 1871, aged 62 years, 1 month, 25 days.
Elizabeth Norris, born Aug. 20, 1820, died July 1, 1870.
Jacob Clutts, died Sept. 4, 1870, aged 66 years, 7 months, 12 days; Rosanna, his wife, died
Dec. 21, 1870, aged 65 years, 8 months, 13 days.
Wm. Reaver, died March 31, 1871, aged 58 years, 11 months, 12 days.
Mary A., wife of Daniel Null, died Feb. 1, 1877, aged 43 years, 4 months, 25 days.
David Kephart, died Jan. 22, 1874, aged 77 years, 9 months, 27 days.
Susan, his wife, died April 15, 1872, aged 70 years, 8 months.
Samuel Crouse, died May 31, 1871, aged 61 years, 3 months, 12 days.
George Reifsnider, born April 22, 1803, died May 14, 1869; Catharine, his wife, born Sept. 21, 1807,
died Dec. 1, 1876.
Daniel H. Rudolph, born Oct. 5, 1821, died Jan. 9, 1871.
Amelia Jean, wife of Elijah Currens, died April 20, 1880, aged 71 years, 9 months, 7 days.
Samuel R. Hess, born March 17, 1823, died Sept. 12, 1871.
John Hess, born Dec. 21, 1802, died March 22, 1875; Barbara., consort of John Hess, born
Aug. 30, 1803, died April 3, 1877.
John Baumgardner, born Dec. 6, 1797, died Feb. 15, 1874.
Dr. John Swope, died Sept. 3, 1871, aged 74 years, 1 month.
Daniel H. Swope, died April 19, 1873, aged 64 years, 7 months.
Catharine, wife of John Renner, died Jan. 14, 1879, aged 59 years, 10 months, 21 days.
Andrew Harner, born Jan. 2, 1788, died March 12, 1873; Sarah, his wife, born May, 1801, died
Oct. 1, 1872.
Jacob Sheets, died Jan. 27, 1826, aged 65 years, 5 months, 26 days. “A soldier of the war of 1776.
Enlisted under Washington as he passed through Taneytown.”
Hannah Sheets, died May 5, 1852, aged 85 years, 4 months, 11 days.
Jacob Sheets, died Nov. 11, 1866, aged 76 years, 4 months, 6 days.
Elizabeth, wife of Wm. Koons, died June 5, 1867, aged 74 years, 3 months, 15 days.
Mary Null, died Jan. 7, 1812, aged 71.
Regina Noel, born 1745, died Dec. 5, 1812.
Valentine Null, died Nov. 21, 1815, aged 79.
Michael Null, died Feb. 15, 1817, aged 70; Anna Maria, his wife, died May 25, 1818, aged 80.
Michael Null, born Nov. 5, 1770, died Dec. 11, 1850.
Elizabeth Null, born May 7, 1778, died Oct. 19, 1856.
Abraham Null, born Jan. 12, 1799, died April 26, 1851; Mary, his wife, died April 6, 1849, aged 49.
Ulrich Rieber, aged 79.
Margaret Wolf, born Aug. 4, 1799, died Dec. 5, 1821.
Elizabeth Kephart, died June 20, 1814, aged 80 years, 4 months, 12 days.
David Kephart, born Nov. 17, 1729, died June 5, 1792.
Margaret Kephart, died Oct. 15, 1852, aged 73.
David Kephart, died Nov. 24, 1836, aged 74.
Joseph Davidson, died Aug. 15, 1801, aged 30 years, 6 months.
Phinehas Davidson, died March 16, 1798, aged 72 years, 11 months, 20 days.
Susan Davidson, died June 12, 1845, aged 64 years, 3 months.
James Matthews, died Jan. 4, 1872, aged 74.
Adam Black, died Dec. 18, 1818, aged 74 years, 6 months.
Margaret Black, born in 1752, died in 1773.
John, son of Lawrence and Hannah Bowers, died Oct. 29, 1816, aged 11 days.
Frederick Black, died Nov. 3, 1826, aged 85.
Rebecca Black, daughter of Frederick Black, “who came into this world in the year of our Lord
1785, the 29th day of January, at 9 o’clock in the morning,” and wife of George Houk, died
Aug. 12, 1834, aged 49 years, 6 months, 12 days.
Elizabeth Bernhart, 1791.
Philip Rever, died Nov. 22, 1843, aged 78.
Gritzena Rever, died August, 1841, aged 81.
Elizabeth, wife of John B. Grobp, died April 15, 1835, aged 69.
Jacob Buffington, born Aug. 10, 1756, died Aug. 7, 1831; Mary Magdalena, his wife, died
Dec. 15, 1840, aged 81 years, 16 days.
Peter Schener, died Dec. 13, 1790, aged 52.
Joshua Delaplane, died Oct. 14, 1830, aged 42.
Hannah Delaplane, died Aug. 4, 1879, aged 93 years, 6 months, 12 days.
Wm. Cover, born July 1, 1814, died Oct. 4, 1824.
Wm. Jones, born Aug. 20, 1796, died Jan. 12, 1818.
Wm. Jones, died Sept. 25, 1824, aged 76.
James Ickes, died March 4, 1852, aged 57 years, 2 months, 24 days.
M.M. Hess, died April 26, 1841.
H.A. Hess, died April, 1833.
Mary Hess, born May 1, 1797, died March 5, 1850.
Samuel Hess, born Nov. 11, 1796, died Dec. 24, 1873.
George Ott, died July 23, 1834, aged 77.
John Baumgardner, born Nov. 10, 1781, died Sept. 6, 1828.
Margaret Ott, consort of George, born Sept. 8, 1764, died Sept. 5, 1828. Her maiden name
was Margaret Sluthur.
Nicholas Ott, died Dec. 16, 1833, aged 25 years, 4 months, 21 days.
Abraham Herner, born 1803, died 1825.
Susan Neher, born 1802, died —.
Amanda E. Ott, died April 7, 1854, aged 18.
Mary E., wife of Wm. L. Crapster, died April 17, 1848, aged 45 years, 11 months, 7 days; and
five of her children, from one to ten years of age.
Catharine Swope, daughter of H. and E., died Nov. 16, 1805, aged 1 year, 5 days.
Jesse Swope, son of the same, died Sept. 21, 1805, aged 4 years, 6 months, 21 days.
Henry Swope, born April 5, 1767, died Feb. 13, 1842; Elizabeth, his consort, died June 13, 1843,
aged 68 years, 8 months, 18 days.
Jacob Sheetz, died Oct. 27, 1806, aged 81.
Catharine Sheetz, died May 5, 1803, aged 75 years, 4 months, 11 days.
Henry Clutz, died Sept. 10, 1831, aged 67 years, 14 days.
Elizabeth Clutz, born March 12, 1762, died Oct. 6, 1821.
John D. Miller, son of George and Eliza Miller, “who fell in the defense of his country near
Petersburg, Va., June 22, 1864,” aged 24 years, 2 months, 16 days.
Susanna Cover, born Nov. 26, 1775, died Feb. 7, 1824.
Jacob Cover, died Sept. 29, 1873, aged 64 years, 9 months.
Philip Rudisel, born March 20, 1785, died Nov. 21, 1810.
Elizabeth Koberger, born 1763, July 23d, died Aug. 21, 1801.
Lewis Rudisil, born Feb. 27, 1783, died Aug. 11, 1805.
G. Rudisil, born March 15, 1770, died March 13, 1795.
Maria Rudisil, born Feb. 15, 1765, died April 23, 1784.
Tobias Rudisil, born April 4, 1736, died March 26, 1816.
T. Louis Rudisil, born April 7, 1743, died December, 1821.
Magdalena Weiwell, died Aug. 25, 1796, aged 25 years, 5 months, and 26 days.
Michael Sawyer, died Nov. 25, 1825, aged 63.
Ann Mary, his wife, died Aug. 8, 1829, aged 65 years, 1 month, and 16 days.
John Foire, died Dec. 13, 1827, aged 42 years, 11 months, and 13 days.
Anna B., his wife, died May 25, 1867, aged 75 years, 7 months, and 27 days.
Peter Slyder, born July 25, 1759, died May 25, 1840. On his left are his two wives, Mary,
born Sept. 8, 1763, and died Jan. 11, 1796; Elizabeth, born April 3, 1780, died Sept. 22, 1830.
Jacob Cornell, died July 9, 1863, aged 66 years, 11 months, and 10 days.
Mary Cornell, died Nov. 27, 1815, aged 59 years, 8 months, and 6 days.
Conrad Shorb, died Oct. 16, 1863, aged 77.
John Harman, born Sept. 8, 1792, died Aug. 7, 1870.
Hezekiah Harman, born Feb. 1, 1831, died Aug. 15, 1866.
Elizabeth, wife of John Good, died Sept. 29, 1865, aged 56 years, 1 month, and 6 days.
John Good, born Feb. 28, 1802, died May 11, 1879.
Samuel Naill, died Oct. 19, 1869, aged 83.
Elizabeth Naill, died Jan. 27, 1878, aged 76.
Elizabeth Naill, wife of Samuel, died Aug. 28, 1826, aged 34 years, 9 months, and 28 days.
Anna Naill, wife of Jacob Mering, born Feb. 8, 1805, died February, 1824.
Mary Naill, born Feb. 28, 1778, died Nov. 17, 1815.
Dr. Wm. B. Hibberd, died March 14, 1839, aged 61; Ann, his first wife, died Feb. 18, 1835,
Christian Naill, born Jan. 5, 1747, died June 15, 1815.
William Naill, died April 6, 1846, aged 67 years, 9 months, and 25 days. Elizabeth, his wife,
died Feb. 26, 1853, aged 73.
William Naill, died June 28, 1868, aged 54 years, 9 months, and 16 days. Mary Ann, his wife,
died July 11, 1869, aged 54 years, 3 months, and 20 days.
John Raitt, died Feb. 14, 1833, aged 31.
Basil Raitt, died July 10, 1839, aged 32 years and 7 months.
John Rudisel, born Aug. 25, 1772, died March 25, 1840.
Barbary Shunk, born 1757, died 1826.
Peter Shunk, died June 19, 1834, aged 87 years, 10 months, and 14 days.
Joseph Shunk, died May 28, 1840, aged 60 years, 3 months, and 5 days; Aberrilla Shunk, his
wife, died June 6, 1852, aged 67.
Elizabeth S. Sawyer, died Sept. 29, 1834, aged 45 years, 7 months, and 29 days.
Abram Buffington, died Aug. 5, 1872, aged 85 years, 7 months, and 28 days; Anna, his wife,
died April 19, 1854, aged 61 years. 6 months, and 21 days.
Hammond Raitt, died Feb. 1, 1858, aged 82.
Harriet Raitt, died Jan. 22, 1852, aged 52.
Eleanor, consort of Hammond Raitt, died June 9, 1847, aged 69.
Jacob Zumbrum, died Sept. 13, 1868, aged 74 years and 2 months: Margaret, his wife, died
Jan. 16, 1852, aged 57 years and 8 months.
David Harper, died Feb. 28, 1844, aged 43 years, 5 months, and 15 days.
Rachel, wife of Tobias Haines, died Feb. 1, 1852, aged 40 years, 1 month, and 17 days.
John K. Hilterbrick, born Sept. 27, 1796, died Nov. 18, 1869.
Anna M. Slyder, born Dec. 21, 1800, died April 29, 1877.
Sarah Reaver, died March 29, 1867, aged 66 years, 11 months, and 29 days.
Maria Apolonia Hoeffner, born May 8, 1776, died May 2, 1841.
Magdalena Mock, died Feb. 24, 1852, aged 66 years, 2 months, and 8 days.
Daniel Harman, Sr., died Aug. 10, 1864, aged 64 years, 5 months, and 15 days.
Thomas Mathias Greaves, born Aug. 22, 1823, died Feb. 7, 1853.
Sophia Kregelo, died Aug. 30, 1872, aged 81 years, 11 months, and 15 days.
Jacob Kregelo, born Oct. 28, 1865, aged 80 years, 6 months, and 26 days.
Rev. J.M. Kregelo, died Nov. 11, 1854, aged 27.
Isaac McGee, born Dec. 24, 1795, died Jan. 9, 1881.
Dorothy McGee, died Jan. 2, 1836, aged 34 years, 2 months, and 6 days.
John Kregelo, Sr., died Nov. 30, 1871, aged 87 years, 7 months, and 27 days.
John Kregelo, died May 29, 1837, aged 55 years, 8 months, and 5 days.
John Kregelo, died Sept. 13, 1880, aged 70 years, 9 months, and 1 day.
Margaret, wife of Isaac McGee, died Aug. 20, 1860, aged 52 years, 3 months, and 13 days.
Dorothy Harner, died May 27, 1851, aged 93.
Christian Harner, died June 24, 1840, aged 91.
Catharine, wife of Frederick Harner, died June 7, 1859, aged 73 years, 6 months, and 9 days.
Frederick Harner, died Sept. 18, 1862, aged 79 years, 9 months, and 12 days.
Samuel Harner, died May 13, 1867, aged 60 years, 2 months, and 8 days.
Susannah Null, born March 11, 1797, died Feb. 11, 1868.
Samuel Null, born Feb. 15, 1793, died Feb. 4, 1853.
Abraham Null, died Feb. 27, 1850, aged 78 years, 11 months, and 19 days.
Catharine Null, died April 3, 1860, aged 88 years, 4 months, and 19 days.
Tobias Rudisel, died Dec. 24, 1863, aged 50 years, 3 months, and 11 days. Mary J., his wife,
died Jan. 21, 1873, aged 54 years, 4 months, and 17 days.
Nancy Rudisel, born Sept. 7, 1787, died Sept. 9, 1861.
Ludwick Rudisel, born Feb. 25, 1778, died June 28, 1842.
Susanna, wife of Samuel Babylon, died Dec. 6, 1861, aged 52 years, 9 months, and 21 days.
Elizabeth, consort of David Reifsnider, born July 25, 1783, died Oct. 19, 1844.
David Reifsnider, Sr., died Feb. 26, 1841, aged 66.
Joseph Reever, died Aug. 11, 1853, aged 65 years, 11 months, and 11 days; Margaret, his
second wife, died January, 1852, aged 48; Mary, his first wife, died April 25, 1845, aged 49 years,
2 months, and 13 days.
Hanna Reven, died Feb. 14, 1848, aged 41 years, 2 months, and 25 days.
Amelia, wife of Henry Picking, died Oct. 23, 1865, aged 51 years, 1 month, and 3 days.
Eliza L., consort of Rev. Solomon Sentman, born Sept. 28, 1811, died Dec. 4, 1855.
George Lambert, died Oct. 25, 1875, aged 89; Elizabeth, his wife, died Oct. 4, 1859, aged
64 years, 4 months, and 16 days.
Anna M., wife of Jacob Lambert, died March 27, 1852, aged 49 years, 2 months, and 4 days.
Elizabeth N. Clabaugh, died May 25, 1852, aged 75 years, 10 months, and 25 days.
Margaret, wife of Henry Black, born May 24, 1799, died Dec. 14, 1868.
Elizabeth, wife of Henry Hess, died Oct. 13, 1860, aged 67 years, 1 month, and 19 days.
Henry Hess, born Feb. 20, 1794, died Aug. 20, 1874.
Thomas Ohler, died Dec. 8, 1843, aged 63 years.
Margaret Fair, wife of George H., died April 8, 1866, aged 52 years, 11 months, and 5 days.
Eliza, wife of John Cownover, born Jan. 26, 1812, died Dec. 16, 1871.
John Cownover, died March 24, 1851, aged 42.
Christian Naill, died July 13, 1869, aged 63 years, 8 months, and 3 days; Lydia Naill, his wife,
died Aug. 14, 1868, aged 56 years, 8 months, and 3 days.
Margaret Hawk, born Oct. 12, 1802, died May 6, 1879.
George Hawk, born Oct. 17, 1776, died Dec. 29, 1855.
Sophia, wife of Nicholas Heck, born April 27, 1818, died May 7, 1868.
Mary A. Bower, died Dec. 14, 1880, aged 70 years, 7 months, 10 days.
John Shoemaker, born Aug. 19, 1803, died June 18, 1864.
Lawrence Bower, died Nov. 30, 1842, aged 69 years, 9 months, 16 days.
Hannah Bower, died April 11, 1855, aged 76 years, 5 months, 8 days.
Susanna Stoner, died March 24, 1843, aged 57 years, 7 months, 24 days.
Wm. Mering, died March 16, 1856, aged 50.
Rebecca, wife of’ Jacob Snider, born Feb. 4, 1812, died Jan. 20, 1860.
Jacob Snider, died Jan. 30, 1850, aged 81 years, 6 months, 5 days.
Thomas Rudisel, died Jan. 18, 1880, aged 68 years, 3 months, 4 days.
Anna Rudisel, died March 22, 1874, aged 50 years, 9 days.
Anna M., wife of Thomas Rudisel, died June 7, 1857, aged 44.
William Rudisel, died Oct. 16, 1866, aged 56 years, 8 months, 10 days.
John Moring, born Dec. 4, 1795, died March 24, 1857.
Henry Baumgardner, born Dec. 11, 1810, died Nov. 16, 1880.
Jacob Null, died March 20, 1873, aged 68 years, 6 months, 16 days.
Wm. Shoemaker, born Dec. 24, 1817, died Jan, 11, 1864.
Mary A., wife of James McKellip, born Oct. 11, 1811, died Jan. 25, 1854.
Mary A., consort of Samuel Shriner, died Nov. 13, 1866, aged 49 years, 6 months, 10 days.
Michael Mentzer, born Sept. 11, 1775, died Dec. 23, 1848; Magdalena, his wife, and daughter of
John and Ann Diller, born Sept. 28, 1787, died Oct. 29, 1846.
Elizabeth, wife of John D. Woods, born Nov. 1, 1781, died Dec. 18, 1860.
John D. Woods, born Dec. 23, 1786, died Jan, 29, 1869.
Daniel Shunk, born Jan. 15, 1788, died April 5, 1860.
Euphemia Shunk, died Nov. 31, 1861, aged 76 years, 6 months, 21 days.
Benjamin Shunk, died Oct. 30, 1876, aged 70 years, 8 months, 15 days; Rebecca, his wife,
died Dec. 20, 1863, aged 61 years, 7 days.
John White, born Aug. 18, 1796, died March 31, 1863; Mary White, his wife, died Aug. 4, 1850,
aged 57 years, 6 months, 26 days.
John Ott, died Dec. 14, 1857, aged 52 years, 2 months, 21 days; Mary, his wife, died May 10, 1856,
aged 47 years, 9 months, 28 days.
Catharine Ott, died July 26, 1851, aged 64 years, 6 months, 11 days.
Elizabeth Baumgardner, died June 10, 1851, aged 66 years, 1 month, 10 days.
George Reed, born July 12, 1782, died Nov. 3, 1857. Mary, his wife, died Sept. 29, 1856, aged
73 years, 3 months, 12 days.
James Aring, born Dec. 29, 1866, aged 67 years, 9 months, 23 days.
Jacob Valentine, born May 18, 1790, died Aug. 15, 1863.
David Reifsnider, died July 20, 1858, aged 50 years, 6 months, 3 days.
Anna M. Mering, died April 29, 1867, aged 85 years, 5 months, 15 days.
Jacob Heltibridle, died March 21, 1866, aged 79 years, 6 days; Barbara, his wife, died
July 21, 1863, aged 74 years.
Jacob Slagenhaupt, died 1863, aged 73.
Elizabeth Slagenhaupt, died 1844, aged 52.
Philip M. Smith, died Dec. 4, 1860, aged 43 years, 6 months, 9 days; Rebecca Smith, died
Dec. 14, 1865, aged 46 years, 7 months.
Jacob Bushey, died Aug. 31, 1861, aged 75 years, 8 months, 12 days.
Mary Bushey, died Feb. 8, 1862, aged 72 years, 21 days.
Susanna, consort of David Buffington, born in 1802, died in 1859, aged 57 years, married in 1822.
Magdalena Wolf, died March 10, 1869, aged 58 years, 3 months, 10 days.
The founder of Taneytown was a Catholic, and it is reasonable to suppose there were others of the same
faith living in the vicinity of the town at an early period. As far back as 1790 there are records of mass
having been said at private dwellings by Fathers Frambaugh, Pellentz, Brosuis, and Cefremont. In 1804,
Prince Geliven visited the village, and built St. Joseph’s church. Father Zocchi, an Italian priest of great
learning and remarkable executive ability, was the first pastor of St. Joseph’s, and remained in charge of
the parish during the extraordinary period of forty-one years. He died in 1845, regretted by all who knew
him, and there was no priest regularly assigned to the charge until 1851. From the latter date until 1862
the parish was under the control of Father Thomas O’Neill, who was succeeded by Father J. Gloyd, who
remained in charge until Jan. 1, 1879. Father Gloyd’s first assistant was Rev. Richard Haseman, from
May, 1871, to January, 1873; his second, Rev. Casper Schmidt, from 1873 to 1874; and his third, Rev.
John T. Dulaney, from 1874 to Jan. 1, 1879. At this date the mission was divided, Father Dulaney
retaining charge of St. Joseph’s, and St. Thomas’, at New Windsor, while Father Gloyd took charge of St.
John’s, Westminster, and St. Bartholomew’s, Manchester. Father Dulaney is a native of Baltimore, and
was educated in that city. Though comparatively a young man he is a thorough classical scholar, and
while scrupulously discharging the onerous duties of his pastorate is also a laborious student. His many
engaging qualities and his unflagging zeal in the cause of religion and charity have not only endeared him
to the people of his parish, but have won for him the confidence and respect of the entire community
without reference to denominational lines. Taneytown was the headquarters of the mission until 1869,
when the residence of Father Gloyd was changed to Westminster by Archbishop Spalding.
The following persons are buried in the Catholic cemetery:
Rev. Nicholas Zocchi, late pastor of Taneytown Catholic Church, died Dec. 17, 1845, aged 72 years.
Mary J., daughter of Dr. John Swope, died July 30, 1846, aged 43 years, 10 months.
Robert McGinnis, born Jan. 17, 1817, died Oct. 12, 1871; Catharine, his wife, born Jan. 8, 1815, died
June 24, 1874.
Samuel P. Chase, born March 30, 1831, died Nov. 10, 1872.
Susan McAllister, daughter of Lewis Eliot, born Nov. 23 1853, died Feb. 4, 1879.
Lucinda, daughter of J. and M. Orndoff, died April 22, 1877, aged 23 years, 8 months.
Anna, wife of Anthony Wivell, died June 12, 1876, aged 68 years, 10 months, 14 days.
Margaret, wife of Samuel J. Wivell, born Aug. 26, 1819, died May 22, 1872.
Joseph Hawk, born Jan. 31, 1811, died May 28, 1871.
Margaret Hawk, born Oct. 20, 1809, died September, 1875.
Honora Donnelly, died Oct. 29, 1874, aged 79.
Wilhemina, wife of Joseph Ries, born May 14, 1814, died Feb. 25, 1878.
Catherine Sebald, born in Berks County, Pa., July 11, 1786, died Dec. 27, 1827.
Joseph Wivel, born Dec. 12, 1790, died Jan. 10, 1853.
Christena Wivel, his wife, died March 23, 1848, aged 55.
George Spalding, born Oct. 4, 1792, died Aug. 9,1854; Mary, his wife, born Aug. 10, 1797, died
Feb. 22, 1875; Edward F., their son, died Feb. 16, 1878, aged 53 years, 4 months, 8 days.
Mary Diffendall, born Sept. 11, 1808, died Sept. 26, 1878.
John Diffendafl, born Aug. 14, 1788, died May 4, 1876.
Andrew Kuhns, died July 8, 1874, aged 81; Rachel, his wife, died July 18, 1864, aged 64 years.
Paul Kuhns, died March 15, 1815, aged 55 years, 18 days.
Mary A. Kuhns, born March 24, 1758, died June 23, 1844.
Elizabeth Baumgardner, died June 23, 1819, aged 27 years, 11 months, 29 days.
Peter Diffendal, died March 19, 1849, aged 54 years, 19 days; Mary, his wife, died April 20, 1863,
aged 67 years, 6 months, 9 days.
Samuel Diffendall, born March 14, 1781, died July 11, 1855.
Christiana Diffendall, died June 12, 1859, aged 88.
John Eline, died Jan. 30, 1846, aged 83; Catharine, his wife, died Sept. 14, 1844, aged 56 years,
5 months, 4 days.
Juliana, daughter of John Adlesperger, died Oct. 8, 1854, aged 40 years, 10 months, 13 days.
John Adlesperger, born Jan. 17, 1785, died June 22, 1859; Margaret Adlesperger, born April 30, 1784,
died Aug. 16, 1867; Mary, their daughter, born March 15, 1812, died Aug. 12, 1867.
Magdalena, wife of Jacob Yingling, died September, 1855, aged 42.
John Althoff, died Jan. 13, 1873, aged 85 years, 6 months, 28 days; Mary C., his wife, died July 26,
1867, aged 86.
Daniel Rose, died Nov. 9, 1815, aged 13 years.
Peter Hamburg, died Jan. 24, 1869, aged 73 years, 2 months, 29 days; Mary, his wife, died
July 26, 1870, aged 71 years, 11 months, 21 days.
Mary Hamburg, died Oct. 6, 1863, aged 31 years, 11 months, 15 days.
James Taney, died Oct. 2, 1817, aged 19.
Dorothy Taney, wife of Joseph, died April 17, 1817, aged 61.
Catherine Boyle, died April 12, 1814, aged 97 years.
Ann Boyle, died Sept. 16, 1811, aged 22 months.
Roger Joseph Boyle, died Jan. 14, 1841, aged 25.
Henry Boyle, died Feb. 14, 1855, aged 37 years.
Mary H. Boyle, died May 2, 1821, aged 41 years.
Daniel Boyle, died Dec. 5, 1830, aged 66 years.
Jane, wife of Raphael Brooke, died Nov. 19, 1818, aged 67 years.
Raphael Brooke, died July 7, 1816, aged 69 years.
Ann, wife of Francis Jamison, died Dec. 11, 1792, aged 35.
Catherine Wilson, died Dec. 20, 1815, infant.
Joseph C. Clements, died March, 1807.
Francis Elder, died Oct. 1, 1809, aged 54; Catherine, his wife, died April 12, 1834, aged 67.
Mary Mourie, born 1743, died Jan. 30, 1810.
James Clabaugh, died March 16, 1867, aged 80 years, 4 months, 16 days; Monica, his wife,
born July 22, 1787, died Nov. 30, 1851.
Ann M., wife of John Classon, born Dec. 3, 1802, died Sept. 4, 1864
Rebecca, wife of Levi Murren, died July 22, 1844, aged 23 years, 5 months, 8 days.
Caroline, wife of David S. Smith, died Jan. 3, 1857, aged 30 years, 7 months.
Barbara, wife of Joseph Gartner, died June 5, 1852, aged 27.
Mary Gardner, died March 23, 1846, aged 25 years, 15 days.
Joseph Gardner, died March 4, 1879, aged 69 years, 9 months, 24 days.
Jacob Eckenrode, died July 22, 1865, aged 81 years, 9 months; Mary, his wife, died Feb. 10, 1859,
aged 71 years.
Mary Ann, consort of Christopher Storm, died Jan. 3, 1863, aged 88 years, 11 months, 13 days.
John Burk, died Dec. 6, 1839, aged 46 years; Catharine, his wife, died Sept. 7, 1819, aged 22 years.
Joseph Welty, born Aug. 8, 1810, died Jan. 24, 1864.
Peter A.S. Noveel, died Jan. 23, 1837, aged 21.
Elizabeth, wife of Basil Brooke, died Aug. 27, 1827, aged 34 years.
John Spalding, died Dec. 23, 1807, aged 28 years.
Henry Spalding, died Feb. 19, 1816, aged 69 years; Ann, his wife, died Jan. 17, 1800, aged 54 years.
Cecila, daughter of Geo. and Mary Spalding, born Sept. 30, 1836, died Feb. 25, 1856.
Margaret Adams, died Sept. 8, 1805.
Henry O’Hara, died June 14, 1815, aged 85 years.
Elizabeth Stigers, died Feb. 17, 1828, aged 31 years, 11 months, 14 days.
Thomas Adams, died Jan. 18, 1826, aged 64 years.
Magdalena Adams, wife of Thomas, who died at the age of 104, “loaded with years and virtuous
deeds,” Jan. 21, 1826.
Margaret, wife of John Dougherty, died Oct. 17, 1860, aged 79 years.
Margaret A., daughter of James and Rebecca Adlesperger, born Aug. 16, 1862, died May 12, 1880.
“This stone laid by Capt. John Gwinn, U.S.N., and Dr. Wm. Gwinn,” for their mother, Mary, who died
April 8, 1837, aged 60.
P. Hinds, died Sept. 23, 1828, aged 79 years.
Easter Hinds, died May 28, 1835, aged 65 years.
John Eckenrode, born April 2, 1780, died Nov. 25, 1849; Elizabeth, his wife, born July 6, 1788, died
Sept. 20, 1850.
Lydia E., their daughter, and wife of Samuel B. Horner, died May 13, 1871, aged 58 years, 10 months,
Ann Louisa, wife of Jos. A. Orendorff, died Aug. 15, 1872, aged 38 years, 2 months, 27 days.
Elizabeth Eline, died July 14, 1873, aged 68 years, 10 months, 25 days; Wm. Eline, her husband, died
Dec. 11, 1879, aged 79 years, 4 months, 29 days.
Louisa C., wife of John M. McCarty, born Oct. 9, 1843, died April 3, 1880.
John Gonker, died Dec. 4, 1814, aged 71 years.
Barbara Gonker, died Dec. 27, 1827, aged 77 years.
Eliza Gonker, died Oct. 16, 1858, aged 75 years.
Hannah Gonker, died April 21, 1878, aged 81 years.
Mary Gonker, died Oct. 26, 1861, aged 86 years.
J. Burk, died 1814, at an old age.
Jacob Welty, died March 7, 1816, aged 26 years.
John, son of John and Eliza Welty, died March 25, 1816, aged 12 years.
John Welty, died Sept. 15, 1816, aged 54 years.
Mary Welty, died Dec. 20, 1816, aged 24 years.
Elizabeth, consort of John Welty, died Nov. 22, 1843, aged 72 years, 3 months, 18 days.
Alexander Frazier, died Oct. 9, 1872, aged 59 years, 5 months, 26 days; Polly, his wife, died
June 30, 1854, aged 39 years.
Ann C., wife of Henry Althoff, died Oct. 11, 1845, aged 92 years.
Frederick Shoemaker, died March 31, 1864, aged 48 years, 11 months, 28 days.
Wm. Clabaugh, died Nov. 7, 1855, aged 34.
Sylvester N. Orndorff, died August, 1854, aged 19 years, 5 months, 20 days.
Joseph Eck, died Jan. 15, 1856, aged 62.
Margaret Eck, born July 7, 1816, died July 15, 1853.
Paul Eck, died Sept. 12, 1860, aged 63 years.
Wm. Staubb, died Oct. 23, 1842, aged 43 years, 22 days.
Peter Mathias, died Feb. 4, 1827, aged 37 years.
Klara, wife of Francis J. Albrocht, born Dec. 2, 1819, died May 4, 1858.
Catherine Snovell, died Oct. 17, 1761, aged 79.
Elizabeth, wife of Daniel Snovell, died Feb. 11, 1852, aged 37 years, 5 months. Elizabeth,
his second wife, died Sept. 21, 1853, aged 27 years, 2 months.
Isaac T. Stonesifer, died Aug. 21, 1867, aged 26 years, 3 months, 17 days.
Elizabeth F. Watson, died Aug. 19, 1854, aged 24 years, 1 month, 24 days.
Wm. Watson, born November, 1798, died Feb. 16, 1861.
Mary A. Sewell, died March 16, 1871, aged 39 years.
John Hopkins, died June 20, 1833, aged 58.
Wm. Cash, born Dec. 24, 1800, died April 3, 1872.
Ann E. Cash, died Feb. 12, 1858, aged 22 years.
Anthony Arnold, died April 3, 1854, aged 78 years, 7 months, 11 days.
Ann, wife of Augustine Arnold, died Dec. 30, 1863, aged 62 years.
Taneytown Presbyterian Church,—Prior to 1820 German preaching was the rule in Taneytown, English the
exception. Indeed, a strong prejudice existed against preaching in the English language. It is related that
when the corner-stone of what is the original part of the present Lutheran church was laid, in 1812, the
Rev. John Grope, pastor at that time, remarked to the bystanders, “This corner-stone is laid on a German
foundation, and there is to be no English preaching here only when there must be.”
But the world moves, and men must move with it. Some of the persons who heard the remark to which
reference has been made lived to hear the same minister preach in the English language. About the year
1820 the younger portion of the German-speaking part of the community began to manifest a desire to
have preaching in the English language. This desire was strenuously opposed by the older persons.
The house in which the German Reformed congregation worshiped at this time, known as the “Yellow
Church,” was in a very dilapidated condition. This, together with the desire of many members of the
German Reformed congregation to have service in the English language, opened the way for the formation
of certain “articles of association” between the members of the latter church at Taneytown and the
members of the Presbyterian Church of the same place, to unite for the purpose of building a Union
In virtue of the seventh of these “articles of association,” the parties concerned, in March, 1821, elected
five persons as a building committee, and vested in them full power to purchase a lot or lots in such
locality as they might think would best suit the different congregations, and to build thereon said church.
This committee, the members of which were Nicholas Snider, William B. Hilberd, George Shriner,
Abraham Linn, and Samuel S. Forney, bought of Elizabeth Hughs, the widow of John Hughs, lots Nos. 78
and 80, situated in Taneytown, for the sum of eighty-nine dollars sixty-eight and a half cents ($89.68½).
These lots were conveyed to the persons composing said committee, to be held by them in trust for the
German Reformed and Presbyterian congregations until such time when said congregations may become
corporate bodies, and thus by law be authorized to have and to hold the same by their trustees.
The corner-stone was laid on the 5th or 6th of September, 1821. Rev. John Winebrenner preached on the
occasion from Zachariah iv. 7. Rev. Mr. Reilly also preached at the same time from Isaiah lxvi. 1.
The erection of the building progressed slowly. In the autumn of 1822 the church was dedicated. The
Presbyterian element, during the interval between 1822 and 1828, worshiped with the German Reformed
congregation, which was during that time served by the following-named pastors: Rev. Jacob Helfenstein,
Rev. Mr. Aurand, a short time, and Rev. Deatrick Graves.
In the year 1828 the “Presbyterian Church of Taneytown” was organized.
The Presbytery of Baltimore met in Taneytown on the 24th of February, 1828, and ordained Rev. Austin
O. Hubbard, who had been licensed in 1826. On the 30th of March, 1828, Rev. Mr. Hubbard ordained
Philip Hann and William Cormack ruling elders, and administered the communion. On Sabbath, June 22,
1828, the church was regularly organized by the admission of the following-named persons as members:
Mrs. Elizabeth Hann, Mrs. Alah Clabaugh (probably Alice), Miss Mary Ann McCollough, Miss Mary
Musgrove on confession of their faith, and Miss Margaret Birnie, Miss Hester Birnie, Miss Margaret Ried.
Miss Mary Ried by certificate.
Mr. Hubbard’s pastorate extended from his ordination, Feb. 24, 1828, until the 18th of November, 1829,
during which three persons were received into the church, two on confession of their faith and one by
certificate. From the close of Mr. Hubbard’s pastorate to Jan. 13, 1838, a period of eight years, the church
was ministered to by Rev. George W. Kennedy, Rev. Nathan Harnad, Rev. Mr. Ammerman, and Rev.
Rev. George W. Kennedy was licensed, received, and ordained by the Presbytery of Baltimore in 1831,
and dismissed in 1833. From Sessional records he appears to have been in Taneytown Church during the
year 1831, and may have been pastor. Of the others, they served here a short time as supplies. During
these eight years twelve persons were received as members of the church. On Sunday, May 13, 1838,
Rev. John P. Carter, appointed by the “General Assembly’s Board of Missions,” commenced preaching in
Taneytown church. Mr. Carter was installed pastor Oct. 29, 1838. His pastorate extended five years, to
Dec. 17, 1843. After his resignation the church was vacant until the 1st of September, 1844, when Rev.
Jacob Belville, a licentiate, was unanimously elected pastor, and soon afterwards ordained and installed a
pastor of the church by the Presbytery of Baltimore. He was pastor four years. His pastorate closed about
the 1st of September, 1848. The pulpit was then supplied between September, 1848, and June 2, 1849,
by Rev. Mr. Connell.
In a Sessional record Rev. James Williamson, pastor elect, is spoken of as being present. He was soon
after installed as pastor, and served the church as such until some time during the year 1854. He was
dismissed from the Presbytery of Baltimore in 1854. It appears that the church was vacant from the close
of Mr. Williams’ pastorate to April 13, 1857, during which time the pulpit was supplied for a few months by
Rev. Mr. Dodder, a licentiate. April, 1857, Rev. William B. Scarborough was ordained and installed pastor.
Mr. Scarborough was pastor until the latter part of December, 1868, making a pastorate of eleven years
and seven months. He handed his resignation to the Session 22d of November, 1868, to take effect in
December. The Presbytery having granted the congregation the privilege of supplying their own pulpit,
Rev. Isaac M. Patterson was unanimously elected stated supply, and entered upon his duties on the first
Sabbath of January, 1869. In October, 1871, Mr. Patterson was installed pastor by a committee of the
Presbytery of Baltimore. He resigned July, 1873, and preached his last sermon on the 27th of the same
After the union between the Old and the New School branches of the church, changes in the bounds of
Synods and Presbyteries threw Emmittsburg and Piney Creek into the Presbytery of Baltimore, thus
opening the way for Mr. Patterson to become pastor of Taneytown, in connection with Emmittsburg and
Piney Creek. Since Mr. Patterson’s installation, October, 1871; Emmittsburg, Piney Creek, and
Taneytown have constituted, and at this time constitute, a pastoral charge. When the church became
vacant by Mr. Patterson’s resignation it united with the other churches of the charge in unanimously
calling Rev. William Simonton, of Williamsport, Pa. Mr. Simonton accepted and soon entered upon his
duties. His pastorate dates from Oct. 1, 1873, and still continues.
Philip Hann and William Cormack were ordained ruling elders at the organization of the church. Mr. Hann
died Dec. 31, 1863, having served as an elder for a period of thirty-five years. Of Mr. Cormack it is
recorded, “Did not apply for a certificate—joined the Methodists.” Clotworthy Birnie, Sr., united with the
church by certificate Sept. 8, 1832, and was ordained a ruling elder Aug. 8, 1838. He died June 2, 1845.
He was a member of this church almost thirteen years, and a ruling elder seven years, four of which he
was clerk of the Session. The members of the Session at present are Rogers Birnie, ordained Aug. 4,
1844; Andrew McKinney and Clotworthy Birnie, M.D., ordained Nov. 27, 1864; John W. Davidson and
Andrew Arthur, ordained May 5, 1872. Rogers Birnie, the senior member, was clerk twenty-three years.
Andrew McKinny has been clerk since 22d of November, 1868. Clotworthy Birnie, M.D., is a grandson of
Clotworthy Birnie, Sr., who was a member of the Session during the earlier history of the church.
Taneytown Church was organized with ten members. In 1840 it had increased to twenty-six; in 1850 to
thirty-five; and at present has a membership in full communion of forty-two. The whole number of persons
who have been members of the church is about two hundred; and while the number in communion at any
given time has always been small, the fact may be noted that it was never less at any period than it had
been at an earlier date in the church’s history. Two of the original members still survive.
In 1853, during Mr. Williamson’s pastorate, the congregation bought a house and lot in Taneytown for the
sum of nine hundred dollars; this was conveyed by deed, executed by John K. Longwell and Sarah
Longwell to Rogers Birnie and Philip Hann, elders, and their successors, in trust, to be held for the benefit
of their congregation. The property was used most of the time as a parsonage, except the latter part of
Mr. Scarborough’s pastorate, during which he resided in New Windsor. After the congregation became part
of the pastoral charge of Emmittsburg and Piney Creek it was deemed best to dispose of the parsonage,
which was accordingly done on the 29th of October, 1870, and on the 1st of April, 1871, it was conveyed
to Thomas Rudisel by Rogers Birnie, Clotworthy Birnie, and Andrew McKinney, elders, for the sum of
$3126. The congregation was incorporated by the laws of the State of Maryland, January, 1871; previous
to that time the members of the Session attended to the secular interests of the church, and since then it
has been governed by a board of trustees.
The pastors and stated supplies have been:
1828—29, Rev. Austin O. Hubbard; 1829—38, vacant, with supplies; 1838—43, Rev. John P. Carter;
1843—44, vacant, with occasional appointments; 1844—48, Rev. Jacob Bellville, D.D.; 1848—49,
vacant, with supplies; 1849—54, Rev. James Williamson; 1854—57, vacant, with occasional supplies;
1857—68, Rev. William B. Scarborough; 1868—73, Rev. Isaac M. Patterson, S.S. and P., 1873, Rev.
Taneytown Academy.—This institution was incorporated Jan. 25, 1844, with the following trustees:
Solomon Sentman, Israel Hiteshue, Thomas Rudisel, John B. Boyle, John Thompson.
The Church of the United Brethren in Christ was incorporated March 10, 1858, with the following trustees:
Henry Shriner, Daniel Frock, Joseph Witherow, John Ridinger, and Peter Mark.
A lodge of Knights of Pythias was organized in Taneytown Sept. 17, 1877. Their charter and paraphernalia
were purchased from the Frederick City Lodge, and were issued to them in 1871. The first officers of the
lodge were as follows:
C.C., C.C. Steiner; Master at Arms, G.T. Crouse; Dr. C. Birnie, Prelate; David Fogle, V.C.; L.D, Reed, K.
of R. and S.; J.B. Davidson, M. of E.; Ezekiah Hawk, O.G.; Elwood Burns, I.G.; E.K. Weaver, M. of F.
The present officers are S.E. Reindollar, V.C.; D.R. Fogle, C.C.; J.E. Davidson, M. of E.; E.K. Weaver,
M. of F.; C.C. Stuller, K. of R. and S.; W.T. Hawk, P.; L.D. Reed, O.G.; J. Hahn, I.G.; B.B. Miller, P.C.
They have twenty-one members in good standing, and hold their meetings in Reindollar’s Hall. The lodge
is in a very prosperous condition, and is steadily increasing in numbers.
The Regulator and Taneytown Herald was published by Samuel P. Davidson, who was also the editor, “in
Church Street, adjoining Mr. Sebastian Sultzer’s tavern, Taneytown, Md.” The eighteenth issue, dated
Sept. 7, 1830, contains among its news the names of Isaac Shriner, John Kinzer, Madison Nelson, and
Daniel Kemp, of Henry, who are published as candidates on the Jackson Republican ticket for members
of the Assembly from Frederick County, and the candidates on the National Republican ticket were David
Kemp, Jno. H. Melford, Evan McKinstry, and David Richardson.
From the market reports, copied from the Baltimore American, we learn that wheat was worth 98 cents to
$1.00 per bushel; rye, 47 and 50 cents; corn, 45 and 47 cents; whisky, 22 and 24 cents per gallon;
plaster, $3.80 per ton.
But two marriages are published, one of which is that of Mr. Adam Bowers and Miss Mary Ann Currans.
A. Reck, secretary, gives notice that the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Maryland and Virginia will
assemble at Taneytown on the third Sunday of’ October (1830).
Michael Wagner advertises a stray heifer. Nathan Hendricks announces a barbecue at Bruceville on the
23d of September. Samuel Thompson, Sterling Galt, and David Martin, trustees, advertised for “a man of
good moral character, who is well qualified to teach reading, writing, arithmetic, and mathematics in a
school-house lately erected within one mile of Taneytown.” The teacher secured was J.M. Newson, the
present superintendent of public schools. Mathias
E. Bartgis, Wm. H. Cannon, Abner Campbell, and Peter Brengle published cards announcing themselves
as candidates for sheriff of Frederick County. John N. Hoffman, agent, gives notice to the subscribers to
the theological seminary at Gettysburg that three installments are due. David H. Fries, seven miles from
Taneytown, near Smith’s tavern, advertises public sale of personal property. James Raymond, trustee,
advertises sale of land of Abraham Derr, near Taneytown. Nathan Hendricks, “desirous of leaving
Frederick County,” advertises Bruceville Mills at public sale. Louisa Rinedollar and Abraham
Lichtenwalter, executors, give notice to the creditors of Peter Micksell. James Heird advertises the
Fairview races to come off on the 6th, 7th, and 8th of September, and offers three purses,—$25, $15,
$20. John Hughes nominates himself for the Assembly as the Workingmen’s independent candidate, “who
is a friend to railroads, canals, and turnpikes,” etc. “A valuable family of negroes” is offered for sale, “but
not to traders,” and another negro is also advertised for sale; those desiring to buy are requested to
inquire at the office of the Regulator. C. Birnie offers Merino rams for sale. Israel Hiteshew and James
Kridler announce a dissolution of partnership “in tavern and tailoring.” The American Sentinel, published in
Westminster, is a combination of The Regulator. The paper was bought from Mr. Davidson by Col. John
K. Longwell, who moved the office to Westminster in May, 1833, and changed its name to The
Carrolltonian. The paper was moved there solely to advocate the formation of Carroll County. In 1838 a
Democratic journal called The Democrat was established here by Wm. Shipley, Jr., when The
Carrolltonian was announced as a Whig journal. Col. Longwell continued the publication of the paper until
1844, when Francis T. Kerr, a brother-in-law to the late John J. Baumgartner, Esq., succeeded to its
proprietorship. Upon the death of Mr. Kerr in 1846 or 1847, George D. Miller, of Frederick, took charge of
the paper, and was shortly after succeeded by W.H. Grammer, in 1850. In 1854, upon the rise of
Know-Nothingism, the name of the paper was changed to the American Sentinel, its present title.
Among the early physicians were Dr. Joseph Sim Smith, a patriot in the Revolution and a brave soldier.
He died Sept. 6, 1822. William Hubbert and Dr. Boyle were also among the first physicians in Taneytown.
The latter and Henry Swope were among the earliest merchants. John White and Joseph Lanubert were
the blacksmiths of the village in the olden time. A tavern was kept by Mary Crouse in the house now
occupied by Mr. Stonesifer as a hotel, and the Crabsters kept the inn just opposite and across the street.
The following advertisement appeared in a newspaper of Dec. 16, 1801:
“For sale, the tavern ‘American Coat of Arms,’ in Taneytown. Apply to James McSherry, Littlestown,
Pennsylvania, or Richard Coale, Libertytown, Maryland.”
Harney is a small hamlet about four and a half miles from Taneytown and near the Monocacy River, which
is at this point a small stream. It was named in honor of the late Gen. Harney, of the United States army.
The United Brethren, a religious denomination, have built a church in the village recently, of which Rev. J.
Whitlock is pastor. D.L. Shoemaker is the village postmaster. A number of mills are located here, under
the charge of William Starner, John Unger, and Peter Selt. There is a hotel in the village, kept by W.F.
Eckenrode, and John Eckenrode keeps an assortment of general merchandise. There are also two
excellent physicians, John C. Bush and E.B. Simpson. The population of the Taneytown District,
according to the census of 1880, is 2596.
For many years the old free-school system, which obtained so extensively in the rural districts of
Maryland, was in vogue in Carroll County. At the public schools the children were taught the three R’s,
—”reading, ’riting, and ’rithmetic,”—and if they desired further education, they either had to teach
themselves or attend one of the many excellent private schools within reach. During the civil war there
was an awakening of the public mind to the advantages of general education, and a cumbersome system,
expensive in character, resulted from inexperienced legislation. This was superseded by the present
system, now general throughout all the counties of the State, which gives all necessary advantages, and
has the additional recommendation of simplicity. The following is a list of public school trustees for 1881
and 1882 in the Taneytown District:
1. Pine Hill.—William Clutz, Michael Humbert, Charles M. Hess.
2. Piney Creek.—Franklin Keppei’t, Daniel Hesson, Richard Hill.
3. Walnut Urove.—Samuel Brown, Upton Harney, David W. Bowers.
4. Washington.—No appointments.
5. Oak Grove.—Samuel P. Baumgartner, Henry Eck, Hezekiah Hahn.
6, 7, and 8. Taneytown, Nos. 1, 2, and 3.—William S. Rudisell, Jesse Haugh, Ezra K. Reaver.
9. Oregon.—Gabriel Stover, William W. Koontz, Ezra Stuller.
10. Martin’s.—Valentine Harman, Jacob Shriner, Martin L. Buffington.
11. Shaw’s—Daniel Harman, Edward Shorb, William Smith.
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, H.C. Wilt., 53 pupils; 2, S.F. Hess, 48 pupils; 3, J.H. Lambert, 51 pupils; 4, J. Ross Galt, 44 pupils; 5,
Calvin T. Fringer, 51 pupils; 6, Levi P. Reid, 55 pupils; 7, Mrs. Emma L. Forrest, 54 pupils; 8, James F.
Fringer, 47 pupils; 9, John T. Reck, 68 pupils; 10, George W. Hess, 51 pupils; 11, C.A. Waesche, 29
pupils; 1 (colored school), C.H. Stuller, 20 pupils.
The following is the vote for local officers from 1851 to 1861, inclusive:
1851.—Vote for Primary School Commissioners: Israel Hiteshue 190, Benjamin Shunk 155, Israel
Hiteshue 159, John H. Clabaugh 85, Benjamin Zumbrum 41.
1853.—For Justices: William Haugh 227, George Miller 172, Benjamin Shunk 246, James McKellip 232;
Constables: Thomas Jones, Jr., 250, James Burke 64, John Reindollar 238, David Kephart 87; Road
Supervisor: Patrick Burke 103, James Thompson 243.
1855.—For Justices: George Miller 246, William Haugh 248, Jacob Shriner 249, George Crabbs 132,
James Crouse 132, L. Buffington 137; Constables: Thomas Jones, Jr., 256, Henry Rinaman 242, Michael
Fogle 127, James Rodgers 135; Road Supervisor: James Thompson 220, J. Newcomer 131.
1857.—For Justices: B. Shunk 216, William Haugh 250, George Miller 245; Constables: H. Rinaman 138,
A. Shoemaker 238, W. Slates 240; Road Supervisor: William Henier 262.
1859.—For Justices: William Fisher 157, Jacob Zumbrum 253, Benjamin Shunk 267, Jacob Shriner 266;
Constables: James Burke 152, Wendell Slates 270, J.E. Delaplane 259; Road Supervisor: William Hess
1861.—For Justices: William Haugh 377, William Fisher 191, J. Zumbrum 207, George Miller 356;
Constables: W. Slates 247, Joel Bowers 284, David Kephart 206; Road Supervisor: Gabriel Stover 266,
John Reindollar 105, W. Shoemaker 82, William Hess 2.
UNIONTOWN DISTRICT, No. 2.
The metes and bounds of Uniontown District are as follows:
“Beginning at Grove’s Ford, on Big Pipe Creek; thence down Big Pipe Creek to Sick’s Ford; thence with a
straight line to Eckart’s Ford on Little Pipe Creek; thence up Little Pipe Creek to Sam’s Creek to Landis’
mill; thence with a road leading between the farms of Jacob Sneader and the late Henry Nicodemus to a
stone on the Buffalo road; thence near Levi Devilbiss’ house, now occupied by Jacob Nusbaum, leaving
said house in District No. 9 (thence near John Myers’ house, leaving the same in District No. 9); thence to
Philip Nicodemus’ mill; thence down Turkeyfoot Branch to where it intersects Little Pipe Creek; thence up
said creek to Haines’ mill, running through Widow Haines’ farm, leaving her house in District No. 2; thence
through Joseph Haines’ farm, leaving his house in No. 7; thence through Michael Morelock, Sr.’s farm,
leaving his house in No. 2; thence to Morelock’s tavern, on the Uniontown turnpike, leaving his house in
No. 7; thence through Shaffer’s farm, leaving his house and factory in District No. 7; thence with a straight
line to Smith’s old tavern on the Taneytown turnpike, leaving said house in District No. 7; thence to
Hasson’s house, leaving his house in No. 2; thence to Messing’s mill, leaving his dwelling in No. 7; thence
to the stone road near Stoneseifer’s house; thence with the stone road to place of beginning.”
This district is bounded on the north by Myers’, northwest and west by Taneytown, east by Westminster,
south by New Windsor, and west by Union Bridge and Middleburg. Big Pipe Creek divides it from
Taneytown District, and Little Pipe Creek skirts its southwestern corner, forming for a short distance the
boundary line with New Windsor. Bear and Meadow Branches flow westerly through its centre and empty
into Big Pipe Creek. Wolf-Pit Branch flows southwest, and Log Cabin Branch northwest, emptying
respectively into Little and Big Pipe Creeks. The population of the district, according to the census of
1880, is two thousand six hundred and three.
The district was settled before 1745, and about 1760 the population increased rapidly. Among the
pioneers were the Herbaughs, Norrises, Eckerds, Nicodemuses, Harrises, Babylons, Roops, Shepherds,
Zollickoffers, Senseneys, Hibberds, Farmwalts, Brubakers, Hiteshews, Roberts, McFaddens,
Stoneseifers, Erbs, Markers, Zepps, and Myerlys. The early settlers were largely Germans, with a
sprinkling of English and Scotch-Irish. The Barnharts were the original owners of the land on which A.
Zollicoffer now lives, and the land now owned by Capt. Brubaker was formerly in the possession of the
Cover family. Mrs. Mehring owns the land upon which the Grammers lived. The Stouffers also took up a
large tract south of Uniontown.
Uniontown is situated in an undulating and healthy country, two and a half miles from Linwood, seven
from Westminster, and forty-three from Baltimore. Before there was any town here, more than a hundred
years ago, Peter Moser kept a tavern, which is marked on the old Maryland maps, on the road from
Baltimore through Westminster and Moravian Town (Graceham) to Hagerstown.
The first house built in the village was situated at the forks of the Hagerstown and Taneytown road, a log
building one and a half stories high, containing three rooms. It was used as a hotel and store, and was
kept first by Peter Moser, before the Revolution, and afterwards by Mr. McKenzie, and then by Mr.
Hiteshew, who conducted it until 1809. It was built on the lot now occupied by Nathan Heck, and was torn
down in 1831. The second house, a low structure, was built by Stephen Ford, and is now occupied by Mr.
Segafoose. Mrs. Green’s hotel was built in 1802 by Conrad Stem, and was first kept by John Myers. The
next house was built in 1804, and is now occupied by Charles Devilbiss. It was first occupied by a family
named Myers. That in which Reuben Matthias lives was erected in 1805. Its first occupant was John
Kurtz, who kept a store. The town was then called “The Forks,” and its name was changed in 1813 to
Uniontown, when the people were trying to secure a new county, which it was proposed to call “Union
County,” with this town as the county-seat. The project failed, but the village retained the name of
Uniontown. The first physician was Dr. Hobbs, and he was succeeded by Dr. Boyer, who lived outside of
the town. His successor was Dr. Hibberd. The first blacksmith was Nicholas Hiteshew, whose shop was
at the foot of the hill leading to the Stouffer residence. His shop was there in 1800. Wm. Richinacker and
George Attick were the pioneer carpenters of the hamlet. The first schoolmaster was Thomas Harris, who
taught in 1807 in the house now occupied by Mr. Segafoose. Moses Shaw came here in 1816 and kept a
tavern on the property now owned by Charles Devilbiss. In 1817, Jacob Appler was a wealthy citizen
living near town. Charles Devilbiss, David Stouffer, Isaac Hiteshew, Upton Norris, Capt. Henry Anders,
Mr. Harris, Samuel Shriner, Thomas Metcalf, and many others from Uniontown and its vicinity volunteered
for the defense of Baltimore during the war of 1812. The first school-house was erected in 1810, in the
lower part of the town. It has been removed several times and is still standing. Cardinal McCloskey, of
New York City, was born in Uniontown, in a log house opposite the cemetery. In 1818 St. Lucas’ church
was built, under the pastorate of Rev. Winebrenner. Subsequent pastors were Revs. Helfenstein and
Graves. It is now occupied by the Church of God. In those days it was customary to raise funds for the
erection of churches and other public enterprises by means of lotteries. Below is given the scheme by
which the money was obtained to build St. Lucas’ church:
1 prize of $1200 is $1200
1 “ 500 is 500
1 “ 200 is 200
4 “ 100 is 400
10 “ 50 is 500
60 “ 10 is 600
250 “ 8 is 2000
800 “ 7 is 5600
2200 tickets at $5 is $11,000
“1st drawn 300 tickets, each $7.
“1st drawn ticket after 1000, $500
“1st drawn ticket after 2000, $1200.
“Part of the above prizes will be paid in part as follows: prize of $1200 by 100 tickets in 2d class, Nos. 1
and 100 inclusive; prize of $500 by 50 tickets in 2d class, Nos. 101 and 150 inclusive; prize of $200 by 15
tickets in 2d class, Nos. 151 and 166 inclusive; prizes of $10, $8, and $7 by 1 ticket in 2d class,
commencing with first drawn of ten dollar prizes with No. 167, and so upwards in regular succession with
said prizes of $10, $8, and $7. Ticket in 2d class valued at $5 each.
1 prize of $1000 is $1000
1 “ 400 is 400
1 “ 200 is 200
2 ‘ 100 is 200
6 “ 50 is 300
20 “ 20 is 400
122 “ 10 is 1220
155 “ 8 is 1240
720 “ 7 is 5040
2000 tickets at $5 is $10,000
“1st drawn 200 tickets, each $7.
“1st drawn ticket after 1500, $1000.
“Part of the above prizes will be paid in part as follows: prize of $1000 by 80 tickets in 3d class, Nos. 1
and 80 inclusive; prize of $400 by 40 tickets, Nos. 81 and 121 inclusive; prize of $200 by 15 tickets, No.
122 and 137 inclusive; prizes of $10, $8, and $7 by 1 ticket each, commencing with No. 138 to the first
drawn ten dollar prize, and continuing regularly up with said prizes. Tickets valued in 3d class at $5 each.
1 prize of $1500 is $1500
1 “ 600 is 600
1 “ 300 is 300
2 “ 100 is 200
20 “ 50 is 1000
26 “ 15 is 390
261 “ 10 is 2610
400 “ 8 is 3200
600 “ 7 is 4200
2800 tickets at $5 each is $14,000
“1st drawn 250 tickets, each $7.
“1st drawn ticket after 1000, $300.
“1st drawn ticket after 2300, $1500.
“Prizes subject to a deduction of 20 per cent. in each class, and payable ninety days after the completion
thereof. The managers in offering the above scheme to the public, for the purpose of appropriating the
proceeds to a church, feel confident that they will meet with a general support. Perhaps no scheme has
been offered heretofore that affords so great a chance to adventurers, there being more prizes than
blanks, and only few tickets in each class.
“Those persons who purchased tickets in the original scheme will please to exchange them for tickets in
the first class as soon as possible, as the managers are very reluctantly obliged to abandon it, as a duty
they owe to the church and the public, in consequence of the magnitude of the original scheme. As a
number of tickets are already held in the first class, the managers pledge themselves to commence the
drawing as soon as possible.
“Jacob Appler, Sr. * Thomas Boyer.
Nicholas Snider. John Dager.
Moses Shaw. Jacob Shriver.
John Crabb. John Shates.
William B. Hubbard.
“UNIONTOWN, MD., April, 1817.”
In 1807, Mr. Cover established a tan-yard. The tan-yard now operated by Mr. Hoffman was opened in
1842 by Charles Devilbiss. The Methodist church was built in 1822. In 1813 the Masonic Temple was
erected where the house of the Misses Yingling now stands. It was torn down between 1825 and 1830,
and its brick used in building a house on Mr. Zollikoffer’s farm. The town has been several times
incorporated, but its charters expired for want of elections or failure to conform to them. In 1807 the house
now used as a dry-house in the tannery was removed from Westminster by Frederick Stem. It had been a
Catholic church, and its brick was brought from England. The post-office was established here about
1813, and the first postmaster was John Hyder, who laid out the town after a few houses had been built.
In 1817, Jonas Crumbacker advertised the Boorhavean Lotion” for sale at his store as a grand anti-
rheumatic tincture. In 1817 the Frederick County Court, at its October term, ordered a public road to be
laid out from Liberty Town through Union Town to Andrew Shriver’s mill. Dr. Clement Hubbs in 1817 lived
on his farm called “Valley Farm.”
Moses Shaw and John Gibbony advertised that races would be run over a handsome course near
Uniontown, Wednesday, Sept. 10, 1817, and a purse of ninety dollars was free for any horse, mare, or
gelding running four miles and repeat, carrying weight agreeable to the rules of racing. And on the
Thursday following a purse of forty dollars was offered, free as the above, the winning horse of the
preceding day excepted, two miles and repeat, carrying a feather; and on Friday a purse of seventy
dollars, free as above, the winning horses the preceding days excepted, running three miles and repeat,
carrying a feather. Four horses to be entered each day or no race, to be entered the day previous to
running or pay double entrance, entrance to pay one shilling in the pound. No jostling or foul riding to be
Uniontown is one of the most enterprising villages in Carroll County. According to the last census it
contained three hundred and eighteen inhabitants. It is the commercial centre of the district, the polling-
place for the voters, and a popular resort for the energetic and intelligent population by which it is
surrounded. A number of charitable, social, and business organizations have been formed in the town, or
have moved thither from other portions of the county, and are all in a flourishing condition.
Door to Virtue Lodge, No. 46, of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, moved Nov. 7, 1813, to Uniontown
from Pipe Creek, where the members met uninterruptedly until 1824.
At the communication of November 21st, “Brothers William P. Farquhar, J. Cloud, and Jacob R. Thomas
were appointed a committee to prepare a petition to the Legislature for a lottery to defray the expense of
building the Uniontown Masonic Lodge Hall,” but the committee never reported, the lottery was never
granted, and the hall was never built.
The officers from December, 1813, to June, 1814, were William P. Farquhar, W.M.; J.R. Thomas, S.W.;
C. Ogborn, J.W.; and Jesse Cloud, Sec.; J. Wright, Treas. From June to December, 1814, William P.
Farquhar, W.M.; J.R. Thomas, S.W.; Joseph Wright, J.W.; Henry Gassaway, Sec.; and Enoch Taylor,
Treas. From December, 1814, to June, 1815, Jesse Cloud, W.M.; J.R. Thomas, S.W.; J. Wright, J.W.;
William Bontz, Sec.; and John Richnicker, Treas. From June to December, 1815, Jacob R. Thomas,
W.M.; William P. Farquhar, S.W.; Henry Gassaway, J.W.; William Bontz, Sec.; and Isaac Lyon, Treas.
From December, 1815, to June, 1816, Joseph Wright, W.M. Isaac P. Thomas, S.W.; John C. Cockey,
J.W.; William P. Farquhar, Sec.; and Charles Devilbiss, Treas.
During this term, at a meeting held Feb. 25, 1816, the lodge manifested its appreciation of the importance
of “proficiency” by passing the following resolution: “That every member shall make himself well
acquainted with such degrees of Masonry as have been conferred upon him before he can be permitted to
advance further into Masonry,” thus anticipating by forty-four years the standing resolution of the Grand
Lodge of May, 1860. The officers from June to December, 1816, were Wm. P. Farquhar, W.M.; J.R.
Thomas, S.W.; Isaac Lyon, J.W.; John C. Cockey, Sec. From June, 1817, to June, 1818, Wm. P.
Farquhar, W.M.; Isaac Lyon, S.W.; Joseph Wright, J.W.; J.C. Cockey, Sec.; and John Richnecker,
The lodge, from the beginning, had always held its stated meetings on Sunday, but on the 28th of
December, 1817, it was resolved, “That the meetings shall for the winter season be on the Saturday
evening preceding the fourth Sunday, at 6 o’clock P.M.” In the following spring we find the brethren again
assembling as usual on the first day of the week. The officers from June to December, 1818, were Wm.
P. Farquhar, W.M.; Joseph Wright, S.W.; Israel Lyon, J.W.; J.C. Cockey, Sec.; and George W. Gist,
Treas. On the 18th June, this same year, the lodge had its first funeral procession. It was at Libertytown,
and in honor of Enoch Taylor, who was one of the original or charter members, the first senior deacon,
and afterwards junior warden, senior warden, and treasurer.
The first junior warden, William Slaymaker, it appears, also died during this term, as the lodge, on the
13th of September, appointed a committee “to take in subscriptions to be applied to the erection of a
tombstone over his remains, and to wait on the widow and trustees of the church on this subject to obtain
their consent,” etc.
The officers from December, 1818, to June, 1819, were Wm. P. Farquhar, W.M.; Alexander McIlhenny,
S.W.; Charles Devilbiss, J.W.; J.C. Cockey, Sec.; and George W. Gist, Treas. At the meeting of Feb. 22,
1819, “a memorial was presented from Wm. H. McCannon, Thomas Gist, and others, Master Masons,
eight in number, for a recommendation to the Grand Lodge for a charter for new lodge, to be established in
Westminster. On motion, the further consideration thereof was postponed until the fourth Sunday in
March,” and the postponement seems to have been indefinite, as nothing more is heard of the memorial.
“The craft then moved in procession down to the lodge-hall, where an oration was delivered in honor of the
day by Upton Scott Reid, in the presence of the lodge and the public, after which the craft returned to the
lodge-room, and the honors of the lodge were conferred on Bro. Reid for his oration.” On the 25th of April it
“Resolved, That hereafter the stated meetings of this lodge shall be on the evening of the day of every full
moon at two o’clock P.M., except from the first of November until the first day of April, during which time
the lodge shall meet at ten o’clock A.M., unless the moon shall be full on Sunday, in which case the
meeting shall be held at the same hour on the Friday preceding.”
The officers from June to December, 1819, were Alexander McIlhenny, W.M.; George W. Gist, S.W.;
Benjamin Yingling, J.W.; Upton S. Reid, Sec.; and Dr. William B. Hebbard, Treas. The festival of St. John
the Baptist (June 24th) was kept this year in true Masonic style. The number of brethren present,
including visitors, was over one hundred, and after conferring the third degree “a procession was formed
and the craft proceeded to St. Lucas’ church, where divine service was performed and a discourse
delivered by the Rev. Bro. John Armstrong.” By a resolution passed July 7th the fee for each of the three
degrees was fixed at ten dollars, and it was also “Resolved, That if a candidate for initiation be elected,
and does not attend at the first or second meetings after such an election, having been duly notified
thereof, his petition shall be returned, and his deposit retained for the benefit of the institution.” The
officers from December, 1819, to June, 1820, were Alexander McIlhenny, W.M.; Upton S. Reid, S.W.;
Benjamin Yingling, J.W.; John Hyder, Sec.; and Dr. William B. Hebbard, Treas.; from June to December,
1820, Upton S. Reid, W.M.; Benjamin Yingling, S.W.; John W. Dorsey, J.W.; John Ryder, Sec.; and W.B.
Hebbard, Treas. On St. John’s day (June 24th) “a discourse was delivered by the W.M., highly gratifying
to all the brethren present.” Soon after, on the 25th of July, the lodge, for the first time, was compelled to
visit upon an unworthy member the severest penalty known to their laws. The offender was an unaffiliated
Master Mason, formerly a member of Mechanics’ Lodge, No. 153, New York, whose application for
membership in this lodge had been twice rejected. He was tried on the charge of “unmasonic conduct.
Specification 1st. Using profane language at Uniontown, on or about the 1st of’ May, 1820.” To which the
accused pleaded “guilty.” “Specification 2d. Being intoxicated on the evening of the said day at
Uniontown.” Pleaded “guilty.” “Specification 3d. Giving the G― and S―, etc., to persons, or in the
presence of persons, who were not Masons, at New Windsor, some time in the spring of 1819.” Pleaded
“not guilty.” “The testimony being closed,” says the record, “the accused made his defense and then
retired.” The lodge then proceeded to consider the case, and after mature consideration did find the
accused guilty of the charge, and sentenced him to be expelled from all the rights and benefits of
Masonry.” The officers from December, 1820, to June, 1821, were U.S. Reid, W.M.; W.H. McCannon,
S.W.; Joshua W. Owings, J.W.; John Hyder, Sec.; and W.B. Hebbard, Treas.; from June to December,
1821, Alexander McIlhenny, W.M.; Benjamin Yingling, S.W.; James Blanchford, J.W.; William Curry,
Sec.; and W.B. Hebbard, Treas.
On the 24th of June, “it was unanimously resolved, in conformity with the recommendation of the Grand
Lodge at its last Grand Annual Communication, that this lodge in future abandon and desist from the
practice of using spirituous liquors at their refreshments in and about the lodge.”
On the 11th of October there was a solemn procession and commemorative services in honor of the
Grand Master of the State, Charles Wirgwan, who had recently died. The sermon was preached in St.
Lucas’ Reformed Church, by the Rev. R. Elliott, P.M. of Columbia Lodge, No, 58, Frederick, who
generously returned the fee of ten dollars offered him “into the charity fund, with his hearty and most
sincere thanks and prayers for their welfare in this world and eternal happiness hereafter.” The officers
from December, 1821, to June, 1822, were A. McIlhenny, W.M.; B. Yingling, S.W.; James Blanchford;
J.W.; William Curry, Sec.; and W.B. Hebbard, Treas.
On the 7th of January, 1822, it was unanimously resolved, “that hereafter our stated meetings shall be
held on the fourth Sunday in the month, as originally printed in the by-laws of 1813.” Soon after, on the
28th of the same month, at Taneytown, the lodge buried with Masonic honors its late Past Master, Upton
Scott Reid. The chaplain on this mournful occasion was the Rev. Daniel Zollikoffer.
The officers from June to December, 1822, were William P. Farquhar, W.M.; William H. McCannon, S.W.;
Nicholas Snider, J.W.; Alexander McIlhenny, Sec.; and W.B. Hebbard, Treas. From December, 1822, to
June, 1823, Benjamin Yingling, W.M.; John Giboney, S.W.; James Blanchford, S.W.; William Curry, J.W.;
A. McIlhenny, Sec.; and W.B. Hebbard, Treas. From June, 1823, to December, 1823, W.P. Farquhar,
W.M.; N. Snider, S.W.; William Curry, J.W.; A. McIlhenny, Sec.; and W.B. Hebbard, Treas. On the 24th
of February, 1823, the fee for the three degrees was reduced to twenty dollars, viz., seven for the first,
five for the second, and eight for the third. From December, 1823, to June, 1824, W.P. Farquhar, W.M.;
N. Snider, S.W.; Jacob Glazer, J.W.; A. McIlhenny, Sec.; and Israel Bentley, Treas.
From June 4, 1815, there had been connected with this lodge a “Mark Lodge,” for the purpose of
conferring the degree of Mark Master, which is now given only in Royal Arch Chapters, but at the
meeting held Feb. 22, 1824, “Door to Virtue Mark Lodge” was declared to be defunct and its books
On the 13th of April, 1824, there was a special meeting at “Shriver’s Inn,” Westminster, the object of
which was to pay proper Masonic respect to the memory of a deceased brother, John Holmes, of No. 1,
On the 13th of June the lodge went into mourning for sixty days for the death of the Grand Master, Gen.
W.H. Winder. The officers from June to December, 1824, were W.P. Farquhar, W.M.; John C. Cockey,
S.W.; Joshua W. Owings, J.W.; W.H. McCannon, Sec.; and Michael Bornetz, Treas.
Wyoming Tribe, No. 37, I.O.R.M., was instituted March 18, 1860, and the charter was granted April 23,
1860, to the following members, who then composed the lodge: Frank E. Roberts, John S. Devilbiss, Jr.,
George H. Routson, B. Mills, C.S. Devilbiss, and C.A. Gosnell, all residing within Uniontown. The first
officers of the lodge were, viz.: Prophet, F.E. Roberts; Sachem, Dr. B. Mills; Senior Sagamore, John S.
Devilbiss; Junior Sagamore, George H. Routson; Chief of Records, Charles Gosnell; Keeper of Wampum,
The tribe numbers sixty-eight members in good standing, and the present officers are as follows:
Prophet, John A. Brown; Sachem, B.L. Waltz; Senior Sagamore, J. Hamilton Singer; Junior Sagamore,
William Strimme; Chief of Records, H.P. Englar; Keeper of Wampum, Jesse T.H. Davis; Guard of
Wigwam, G.A. Davis; Guard of the Forest, William H. Baker.
Brothers’ Relief Division, No. 136, Sons of Temperance, was incorporated by the General Assembly, Feb.
24, 1860. The incorporators were Alfred Zollickoffer, S. Hope, E. Bankerd, J. Bankerd, E. Adams, Samuel
Anders, D. Stultz, J.H. Christ, T.H. Adams, M. Jenkins, J. Beau, J.H. Gordon, J. Zepp, J. McHenry, T.
Welling, A. Bitesell, R. Sharpley, A. Hurley, W.S. Lantz, J.E. Starr, William Eckard, D. Seller, Charles
Myers, Lewis Byers, N.N. Meredith, T.H. Routson, F.A. Devilbiss, J.A. Eckard, J.N. Galwith, G.H. Brown,
William H. Bankerd, G. Kugle, G. Winter, T.A. Eckard, John W. Kinney, J. Little, P. Smith, T. Eckard, G.
Hamburg, G.W. Gilbert, A. Eckard, A. Little, P. Little.
The Uniontown Academy was incorporated by the General Assembly by an act passed March 26, 1839,
making Samuel Cox, Dr. James L. Billingslea, John Smith, Henry Harbaugh, and William Roberts
trustees, and making them and their successors a body politic.
The Carroll County Savings Institution was organized in Uniontown Feb. 27, 1871, by an act of the
General Assembly, with the following gentlemen as incorporators: Robert B. Varden, William H. Starr, Levi
Caylor, David Foutz, Dennis Cookson, John Gore, Daniel S. Deight, Emanuel Formwalt, J. Hamilton
Singer, and Levi Engler, all citizens of Carroll County. The amount of capital of the corporation was twenty
thousand dollars, and the above gentlemen were appointed a board of directors.
The present officers of the institution are D. Stoner, president; W.H. Starr, treasurer; Levi Caylor,
secretary; and T.H. Davis, assistant secretary. Board of trustees, D.N. Stoner, D. Foutz, Levi Caylor,
Edwin J. Gilbert, Daniel S. Diehl, T.H. Davis, W.H. Stoner, Dr J.J. Weaver.
The institution is in a very prosperous condition, and has been successful since its formation.
The Maryland Mutual Benefit Association of Carroll County for Unmarried Persons was incorporated under
the laws of Maryland with its home-office in Uniontown. The officers are: President, Thomas H. Routson;
Vice-President, Philip H. Babylon; Secretary, Jesse T.H. Davis; Treasurer, Edwin G. Gilbert; Agent, John
A. Brown; Attorney, Charles T. Reifsnider. The board of trustees are Thomas H. Routson, Edwin G.
Gilbert, Jacob J. Weaver, Jr., M.D., P.H. Babylon, John A. Brown, Thomas F. Shepherd, Jesse T.H.
A copy of the Engine of Liberty and Uniontown Advertiser, No. 22 of Volume I., dated Feb. 3, 1814, a
newspaper published by Charles Shower, at two dollars per annum, contains among other matters the
proceedings of the Legislature of Maryland, Louis Gassaway, clerk, and a short extract of the proceedings
of the Massachusetts Legislature.
The editor advertises for subscriptions to a novel entitled “The Storm,” in two volumes, price seventy-five
cents; also that the office of the Engine of Liberty is removed “to the new brick building of Mr. Henry
Meyers, nearly opposite to where it was formerly kept.” Some news is given from New York, January
29th, and Richmond, January 27th, with an account of the camp at New Point Comfort, and describing the
enemy’s fleet. An account of an earthquake at Showanoetown, Illinois Territory, Dec. 13, 1813, is
published; also a resolution passed by the New York Legislature, January 29th, appropriating fifty
thousand dollars for the relief of the sufferers of the Niagara frontier.
Among the advertisements Morris Meredith advertises for sale a lot of twenty-five acres of valuable land
adjoining Uniontown, on the road leading from Baltimore to Hagerstown.
Joshua Gist offers for sale his dwelling-house and plantation, containing six hundred acres, within two
miles of Westminster. The said Westminster is expected to be the county town of a new county that is to
be made out of Baltimore and Frederick Counties. Also two hundred and eighty acres about three or four
miles from Westminster.
Israel Rinehart and Ulrich Switzer, executors of David Rinehart, deceased, and Hannah Urner and John
Rinehart, administrators of Jonas Urner, give notice to creditors.
On the fourth page is given a column of foreign news, embracing England, France, and Germany. Jacob
Appler, Sr., advertises three lots of land in Libertytown, also seven and a half acres of woodland adjoining
the lands of Abraham Albaugh.
Ann Willis offers her farm of two hundred and eighty-two and a half acres, on Sam’s Creek, on the road
leading from Libertytown to Baltimore, for sale.
Beal Dorsey, near Freedom Town, advertises one hundred and fifteen acres of land, near McMurray’s
John Shriver offers for sale a dwelling-house, wheelwright-shop, and two lots in Uniontown.
Samuel Lookingpeale, at Capt. John Williams’, desires to sell sixty-five acres of land within half a mile of
Philip Cromer’s tavern.
Edward Stevenson, within four or five miles of the Sulphur Springs, Frederick County, advertises his farm
of two hundred and ten acres.
Henry C. Dorsey offers his mill-seat and farm, on the waters of Sam’s Creek, three-quarters of a mile
below Mr. Londes’ mill, also two hundred and twenty-three acres in Hampshire County, Va., for sale.
John Williams, desiring to move to the Western country, wishes to sell his farm of two hundred and thirty-
eight acres, situate on the waters of Sam’s Creek.
This copy was about one-fourth the size of the Democratic Advocate, is well printed, and seems to have
been well sustained, judging from its advertising patronage.
A copy of the Engine of Liberty, bearing date Nov. 25, 1813, which was published at Uniontown, contains
nine columns and a half of Judge Luther Martin’s charge to the grand jury of Baltimore County and the
grand jury’s reply.
The marriages of Philip Bishop, of’ Adams County, Pa., and Miss Mary Senseney. of Frederick County,
on the 23d of’ November, 1813, and Daniel Stoner and Miss Ann Roop, both of Frederick County, on the
25th of the same month, are published; also the death, on the 12th of November, of Philoman Barnes,
aged about ninety years.
A meeting of the citizens of Uniontown and vicinity is called to meet on December 7th, at the house of
George Herbach, to petition Congress for a post-route from Westminster to Fredericktown; also to petition
the next Legislature to grant them a lottery to raise money to purchase a fire-engine.
Some war news is reported, including an account of his victory over the Creek Indians on November 4th
by Gen. Jackson. One or two articles published showed that the editor, like most Federalists, was
opposed to the war of 1812—14.
Among the advertisements are the sale of farming utensils and household goods by Francis
Hollingsworth, Little Pipe Creek; auction sale of dry goods, etc., by John Kurtz, at Uniontown; the sale of
one hundred and twenty acres of land on Meadow Branch, one mile from Uniontown, by Christian
Stouffler; also notices of two petitions to the General Assembly of Maryland, one of’ which, signed by
citizens of Baltimore and Frederick Counties, is a prayer for a new county. The metes and bounds asked
for are substantially the same as those granted twenty-four years later, when the bill was passed creating
the county of Carroll.
The other petition was for a law “to open a road from New Windsor to intersect the old Liberty road, on the
line between Eli Dorsey and James Pearre, about a quarter of a mile below Conrad Dudderar’s tavern.”
The Star of Federalism, a small newspaper of four pages, each with five columns, was established
March, 1816, by Charles Sower, with the motto, “Nothing extenuate, nor aught set down in malice.” Its
terms were two dollars per annum, and it was printed in the building now occupied by R.J. Matthias. Its
LibertyTown, Nathan England; Sam’s Creek, Jacob Landis; New Windsor, William Brawner, Chr. Ecker;
Baltimore County, Thomas Pole; Westminster, Thomas Gist, Nicholas Lemon; New Market, William
Hodgkiss; Taneytown, Nicholas Snider; Midd]eburg, J.C. and G.W. Gist; Pipe
Creek, W.P. Farquhar; Union Bridge, Moses B. Farquhar; Emmittsburg, P. Reid, of Alexander; Baltimore,
Edward J. Coale; Cumberland, Francis Reid; Mount Pleasant, David Stem; Norristown, Christopher
Sower, Nathan Potts; Triadelphia, Andrew Graff; Darnes Town, Robert
Groomes, John Candler; Hyatt’s Town, William Hyatt; Pickneyville, D. Holliday.
It was in size thirteen by twenty inches, and after its publication in Uniontown for a year was removed to
Frederick Town, and there published by Mr. Sower as late as December, 1819.
The Enterprise was established in 1856 by William Sedwick and Dr. Mills. It was a small sheet, and was
published until the close of the year, when it was merged into a larger paper called The Weekly Press.
The latter was first issued in January, 1857, with J.H. Christ as editor, its publishers being those of its
predecessor, Dr. Mills and William Sedwick. It was published as late as July 26, 1861.
Church of God.—Religion appears to have taken firm hold of the people of Uniontown and its vicinity at an
early date. Allusion has already been made to the building of St. Lucas’ church by a lottery, under the
auspices of the Presbyterian denomination. The congregation of the Church of God was organized in
1833, numbering at that time about fifty members, and the Presbyterian faith not having proved as popular
in the community as was expected, St. Lucas’ was transferred to the new organization. Abraham Appler
was the elder of the church, and Isaac Appler, deacon. Edward West was the first regular pastor, and was
succeeded by Rev. Maxwell, Rev. Jacob Linninger, Rev. Joseph Adams, Rev. William McFadden,
Joseph Bombarger, R.C. Price, Rev. I.L. Richmond, Rev. Saletymer, and several others. The
congregation now numbers about fifty members, and is under the care of Rev. Mr. Lugenbeel. This church i
s the mother of the churches at Middletown, Mayberry, Frizzelburg, and Greenwoods, which are all now in
this charge. The Warfield, Winfield, and Carlton Churches at one time belonged to the same charge, and
were under the supervision of this church. Their annual camp-meeting is held a few miles from Uniontown.
The Church of God Cemetery is situated immediately in rear of the church. The remains of the following
persons are buried within its limits:
M.M. Currey, died July 5, 1830, aged 35.
Martha Currey, died May 16, 1852, aged 56.
Eleanor Banks, died Dec. 31, 1859, aged 81.
John M. Ferguson; born Sept. 8, 1786, died Oct. 20, 1861.
Rebecca, his wife, died Sept. 16, 1843, aged 60.
James Currie, died Aug. 26, 1827, aged 64.
Rebecca Eckard, died Feb. 6, 1842, aged 39 years, 3 months, 9 days.
John W. Davis, born March 22, 1813, died Aug. 9, 1877.
Mary Davis, born March 5, 1792, died Jan. 8, 1865.
Jonathan G. Davis, born March 28, 1779, died Jan. 4, 1842.
Edward Davis, died Aug. 2, 1825, aged 8.
John S. Shriver, born Aug. 26, 1794, died Dec. 6, 1814.
Elizabeth Ann Mary Martha Grammar, died April 26, 1833.
Andrew Werble, died April 29, 1849, aged 65 years, 6 months, 4 days.
Rachael Metcalf; died April 12, 1826, aged 54 years.
Solomon Beam, born July 11, 1798, died June 20, 1819.
Isaac Hiteshew, died March 19, 1829, aged 34 years, 2 months, 15 months.
Sivilla Reck, died March 15, 1826, aged 27 years, 1 month, 13 days.
Ezra Metcalfe, died Jan. 4, 1841, aged 29 years, 2 months, 25 days.
Conrad Stuller, born June 8, 1823, died July 3, 1876.
Henry Hiner, born March 9, 1770, died Sept. 12, 1847.
Hannah Hiner, died Dec. 11, 1847, aged 62 years, 3 months.
Samuel Hiner, born April 5, 1817, died Nov. 8, 1876.
Esther Hiteshew, died Oct. 31, 1844, aged 72 years, 14 days.
David Yingling, born Oct. 20, 1804, died April 23, 1874.
William H. Christ, born April 25, 1831, died Nov. 9, 1862.
Morgan A. Christ, died Jan. 2, 1870, aged 34 years, 3 months, 25 days.
Jacob Appler, died April 23, 1823, aged 34 years, 4 months, 1 day.
Abraham Appler, born Dec. 10, 1790, died Feb. 1, 1878.
Rebecca, his wife, and daughter of Jacob Hoffman, of Bainbridge, Lancaster Co., Pa., died Aug. 28,
1866, aged 70, and who was a member of the church for 50 years.
Mary J., wife of D.R. Carlyle, died Feb. 19, 1875, aged 50 years, 5 months.
Jacob Christ, born Sept. 22, 1789, died Nov. 30, 1872.
Elizabeth, his wife, died May 16, 1867, aged 68 years, 10 months, 12 days.
Abraham Garner, died Aug. 2, 1789, aged 63 years, 10 months, 25 days.
Mary Cover, born Dec. 20, 1754, died March 17, 1828.
Sarah, wife of Dan. Smith, died July 4, 1844, aged 66 years, 3 months, 14 days.
Barbara, relict of Barton Bean, died May 12, 1858, aged 74 years, 1 month, 5 days.
Sophia Yingling, aged 70.
William Wilson, died Nov. 12, 1849, aged 73 years, 9 months, 28 days.
Elizabeth, his wife, died Dec. 28, 1869, aged 84 years, 4 months, 7 days.
Margaret, wife of Ephraim Garner, died Aug. 12, 1855, aged 34 years, 2 months, 6 days.
Oliver, son of William and Elizabeth Hiteshew. Enlisted in Co. E, 203d Regiment P.V., Aug. 31, 1864, and
was killed Jan. 15, 1865, whilst in the act of planting the flag on Fort Fisher, aged 18 years, 3 months,
James Hiteshew, died Nov. 21, 1874, aged 24 years.
Anna, wife of John Gore, died March 10, 1874, aged 63 years, 6 months, 16 days.
Rebecca Grammar, born Sept. 10, 1793, died June 8, 1864.
Sarah C. Grammar, born June 22, 1824, died April, 1864.
Mary D.C., wife of John Grammar, died Aug. 23, 1856, age 57 years, 8 months.
Elizabeth, wife of A. Koons, died Aug. 2, 1874, aged 82.
Angeline, wife of John T. Wilson, died Feb. 5, 1878, aged 62 years, 3 months, 26 days.
Annie Clay, died Feb. 19, 1877, aged 69 years, 10 months.
Mary Ann Hollenberger, died Jan. 4, 1855, aged 37 years, 5 months, 10 days.
Peter Hollenberger, died March 22, 1860, aged 70 years, 4 months, 22 days.
Magdalena, his wife, died Feb. 23, 1862, aged 76.
Rachel Yingling, born Jan. 28, 1801, died July 30, 1865.
Jacob Bloom, born July 20, 1794, died Sept. 19, 1862.
Mary, his wife, born Jan. 20, 1800, died March 24, 1877.
Samuel Anders, died April 26, 1865, aged 61 years, 10 months, 5 days.
Lydia, his wife, died Dec. 12, 1876, aged 74 years, 8 months, 28 days.
John Garner, died Sept. 13, 1860, aged 57 years.
Hannah Hetshue, died March 1, 1876, aged 74.
Ary, wife of James Few, died April 30, 1861, aged 69 years, 3 months, 19 days.
Thomas Metcalf, born Dec. 5, 1783, died March 17, 1862.
George Warner, died June 18, 1862, aged 79.
Elender A. Warner, born Dec. 22, 1786, died Feb. 26, 1867.
Catharine Hollenberger, born July 4, 1825, died April 7, 1874.
John P. Glass, a member of Co. G, 6th Md. Potomac Home Brigade, who died at Frederick Hospital,
Sept. 12, 1863, aged 29 years, 4 months, 3 days.
Lieut. Peter Wolfe, Co. G, Md. P.H.B., died Aug. 1, 1862, aged 34 years, 4 months, 3 days.
Mary Smith, died Jan. 11, 1863, aged 54.
Sarah Burgoon, died Nov. 20, 1878, aged 71 years, 11 months, 20 days.
John Eckard, born Jan. 24, 1795, died Sept. 8, 1872.
Elizabeth Eckard, born Jan. 12, 1799, died Dec. 30, 1865.
John A. Eckard, born Aug. 29, 1831, died Aug. 21, 1870.
Anna Fuss, died Dec. 1, 1863, aged 88.
Elizabeth Bare, born Oct. 15, 1777, died Feb. 12, 1865.
Lydia Senseney, died Oct. 20, 1869, aged 64 years, 6 months, 19 days.
Washington Senseney, born May 28, 1815, died Dec. 18, 1868.
Mary A., his wife, born July 27, 1815, died June 20, 1875.
Joanna Gilbert, died March 8, 1873, aged 37 years, 5 months, 6 days.
Sarah Herbach, born Oct. 16, 1801, died April 12, 1872.
Mary Bentley, died Sept. 27, 1821, aged 24 years, 6 months, 18 days.
Rebecca Steele, died April 6, 1879, aged 65 years, 6 months, 16 days.
William Hollenberry, born Nov. 13, 1817, died Feb. 23, 1870.
Peter Christ, born July 19, 1786, died March 2, 1876.
Elizabeth, his wife, died Oct. 17, 1868, aged 81.
James Gilbert, died July 15, 1877, aged 73 years, 5 months, 6 days.
Alamanda Eckard, died July 13, 1879, aged 43 years, 8 months, 12 days.
Henry Eckard, died April 21, 1876, aged 45.
Edward Arntz, died Oct. 16, 1867, aged 26 years, 1 month, 3 days.
St. Paul’s Evangelical Lutheran congregation was formed Dec. 29, 1869. It was then under the charge of
Rev. J.F. Deiner, and numbered eight members. The elders were Dr. J.J. Weaver and Jacob Ecker; the
deacons, O.M. Hitshew, W.H. Hoffman, and J. Routson. Mr. Deiner held the position as pastor of the
charge until 1872, when he was succeeded by Rev. G.W. Anderson; the membership at this time was
steadily increasing. They held their services in a hall until the erection of their present edifice. The church,
which was built by a general contribution, cost about two thousand dollars. The corner-stone was laid Oct.
24, 1874, and the building was dedicated in December of the same year, under the supervision of Rev. D.
Morris, of Baltimore. After three years of untiring services Mr. Anderson resigned his charge, in May,
1876, when the Rev. David B. Floyd was called to occupy the pulpit. The estimated cost of their
handsome parsonage, which is now under erection, is two thousand dollars. The present officers of the
church are: Elders, Dr. Weaver and Jacob Ecker; Deacons, O.M. Hitshew and J. Routser, who have
occupied those respective positions since the organization of the church. The congregation now numbers
forty members, and the amount of contributions for 1881 was about four hundred dollars. This church has
in its charge three other congregations, viz., “Winter’s Church,” “Baust Church,” and “Mount Union;” it has
also a Sunday-school attached to it which is in a very flourishing condition. Rev. Mr. Floyd has been the
pastor for five years and gives entire satisfaction, and is untiring in his efforts to promote the interests of
The Pipe Creek Circuit of the Methodist Protestant Church was organized in 1829, and has steadily
increased in power and influence. Below is given the names of the pastors who have successively
ministered to the various congregations under their charge in Uniontown and its vicinity:
1829, D.E. Reese; 1830, F. Stier, J. Hanson; 1831, F. Stier, I. Ibbertson; 1832, Isaac Webster, C.W.
Jacobs; 1833, Isaac Webster, W. Sexsmith; 1834, Josiah Varden, H. Doyle; 1835, H. Doyle, J.W.
Everest, A.A. Lipscomb; 1836-37, J.S. Reese, J.W. Porter; 1838, Eli Henkle, J.W. Porter; 1839, G.D.
Hamilton, B. Henkle; 1840, G.D. Hamilton, B. Appleby; 1841, J.S. Reese, J.T. Ward; 1842, L.R. Reese,
P.L. Wilson, J. Elderdice; 1843, J.S. Reese, S.L. Rawleigh, W.T. Eva; 1844, W. Collier, T.L. McLean,
J.D. Brooks; 1845, W. Collier, P.L. Wilson, J.K. Nichols; 1846, W. Collier, J.K. Nicholas; 1847, J.
Morgan, T.D. Valiant; 1848, J. Morgan, W. Roby; 1849, D.E. Reese, T.L. McLean; 1851, H.P. Jordan, J.
Roberts; 1852, H.P. Jordan, H.J. Day; 1853, T.M. Wilson, H.J. Day; 1854, J.A. McFadden; 1855, J.A.
McFadden, F. Swentzell; 1856, N.S. Greenaway, F. Swentzell; 1857-60, J.T. Ward, J.T. Murray; 1860,
D.E. Reese, J.B. Jones; 1861, D.E. Reese; 1862-65, P.L. Wilson; 1865-68, R.S. Norris; 1868-71, D.
Wilson; 1871, J.R. Nichols; 1872-74, H.C. Cashing; 1874-77, J.W. Charter; 1877-80, C.H. Littleton.
The following are the names of some of the persons buried in Uniontown cemetery:
Washington, son of Moses and S.B. Brown, died March 15, 1874, aged 39 years, 3 months, 2 days. He
was a member of Co. I, 4th Regiment Md. Vols.
Anna Carlyle, died Aug. 1, 1880, aged 80 years, 3 months, 23 days.
Rachel O’Brien, died Dec. 25, 1870, aged 70.
Sarah Boham, died July 7, 1857, aged 71.
Jacob Zimmerman, born Dec. 30, 1787, died Feb. 5, 1859.
Mary, wife of John Babylon, died March 2, 1859, aged 45 years, 9 months, 14 days.
William Roberts, died March 29, 1860, aged 61; and his wife, Eleanor R., May 13, 1875, aged 70.
Philip Babylon, born Oct. 6, 1776, died Jan. 10, 1842.
Elizabeth Babylon, born Oct. 12, 1782, died July 19, 1857.
Rachel Hammond, died July 23, 1846, aged 82 years, 5 months, 6 days.
Eleanor Roberts, died Feb. 28, 1846, aged 77.
Rachel Brooks, born Dec. 18, 1818, died Jan, 31, 1851.
Caroline Zollickoffer, died Dec. 20, 1850, aged 84.
John M.A. Zollickoffer, died May 20, 1836, aged 51 years, 3 months, 10 days.
William Wright, died Jan. 25, 1838, aged 36.
Rev. Daniel Zollickoffer, died Nov. 1, 1862, aged 72; and Elizabeth, his wife, died July 5, 1851, aged 57.
Rev. Dr. William Zollickoffer, died April 6, 1853, 59 years, 5 months; and Sarah, his wife, died May 24,
1843, aged 44 years, 10 months, 20 days.
Richard Brown, born Dec. 23, 1793, died March 14, 1850; and Susan, his wife, born June 10, 1787,
died Sept. 24, 1872.
Samuel Roberts, died June 15, 1838, aged 32 years, 5 months, 8 days.
Charles Stephenson, died Sept. 10, 1832, aged 91 years, 8 months, 26 days.
John D. Norris, died Feb. 4, 1829, aged 23.
Elizabeth Norris, died April 11, 1841, aged 57.
Nicholas Stevenson, born May 18, 1780, died Aug. 8, 1838.
Nancy Stevenson, died May 21, 1848, aged 70.
Sarah Stevenson, died April 10, 1844, aged 60.
William Devilbiss, born April 30, 1790, died Sept. 1, 1834.
Jemima Stevenson, died May 7, 1852, aged 70.
Peter Senseney, born Feb. 3, 1789, died March 21, 1855.
Keturah Senseney, died June 11, 1858, aged 70.
Richard Parrish, born May 10, 1822, died Dec. 2, 1851.
Rachel Rebecca Senseney, died March 19, 1862, aged 36.
Michael Spousler, died Oct. 25, 1832.
George Herbach, died April 28, 1836, aged 69 years, 4 months; and Elizabeth, his wife, born Dec. 24,
1774, died July 28, 1858.
Zachariah Weeling, died Sept. 16, 1870, aged 65.
Abraham Shriver, died Aug. 24, 1855, aged 80 years, 5 months, 29 days.
John Shriver, died April 25, 1869, aged 51.
Robert Dungan, born March 28, 1818, died April 18, 1858.
Emily Dungan, born Jan, 16, 1811, died April 28, 1863.
Elizabeth Wright, died July 14, 1867, aged 85 years, 7 months, 6 days.
Rev. Francis G. Wright (of M.P. Church), died Feb. 23, 1859, aged 35 years, 7 months.
Norris Meredith, died Sept.12, 1860, aged 90 years, 10 months, 15 days.
Lydia Meredith, died Jan. 23, 1867, aged 70 years, 11 months, 10 days.
Catharine Meredith, died Feb. 24, 1867, a6ed 75 years, 9 months, 5 days.
William N. Meredith, died Jan. 14, 1868, aged 53 years, 9 months, 20 days.
Mary G. Meredith, died Jan. aged 16, 1868, aged 61 years, 2 months, 29 days.
Elizabeth B. Meredith, born Feb. 22, 1802, died Nov. 20, 1875.
Nathaniel N. Meredith, born April 5, 1798, died Dec. 25, 1874.
Nathan Roop, born May 3, 1835, died April 10, 1874.
Michael Nusbaum, died March 8, 1877, aged 66 years, 2 months, 8 days; and Catharine, his wife,
Jan. 19, 1873, aged 77 years, 7 months, 3 days.
William Shaw, died April 18, 1869, aged 68 years, 3 months.
Anna Maria, wife of Rev. David Wilson, died May 29, 1870, aged 41 years, 4 months, 11 days.
Dennis Cookson, died July 22, 1879, aged 44 years, 4 months, 10 days.
Joseph Cookson, born Aug. 24, 1793, died June 1, 1846.
Rachel Cookson, born Feb. 1, 1800, died Jan. 24, 1875.
Samuel Cookson, born Sept. 17, 1762, died Dec. 22, 1836; and Rachel, his wife, born 1779, died
1853, aged 74.
John W. Babylon, died Nov. 19, 1866, aged 21 years, 8 months, 18 days.
John N. Starr, born March 24, 1808, died May 26, 1880; and Mary, his wife, born March 10, 1810,
died Aug. 27, 1878.
Hannah M., wife of Milton S.Starr, died Jan. 13, 1874, aged 29 years, 5 months, 27 days.
Mordecai Haines, died Jan. 19, 1861, aged 40.
Louisa Babylon, died Dec. 6, 1854, aged 38 years, 9 months, 17 days.
Deborah, wife of David Foutz, died Sept. 25, 1842, aged 41.
Charles Devilbiss, born Aug. 13, 1786, died Sept. 29, 1862; and Elizabeth, his wife, died Feb. 27,
1864, aged 76 years, 1 month, 21 days.
Ann Eliza, consort of John S. Devilbiss, died April 4, 1869, aged 34 years, 6 days.
Martha Devilbiss, died Jan, 19, 1868, aged 37 years, 15 days.
Mary E. Devilbiss, died Oct. 17, 1870, aged 46 years, 1 month, 4 days.
Wm. H. Devilbiss, born Jan. 13, 1821, died April 3, 1880.
Edward Devilbiss, born Oct. 5, 1822, died Jan. 1, 1880; and Louisa C., his wife, born Sept. 11, 1825,
died Feb. 2, 1879.
John B. Williams, died July 23, 1861, aged 66; and Temperance, his wife, died Nov. 19, 1872, aged 69
years, 7 days.
John Smith, died Aug. 7, 1868, aged 70 years, 4 months, 9 days; and Mary, his wife, died Nov. 6, 1878,
aged 77 years, 7 months, 16 days.
William Goswell, died July 20, 1839, aged 56.
Matilda Morelock, died April 15, 1851, aged 53 years, 6 months.
Nancy Wilson, wife of George Harris, died March 1, 1858, aged 65.
Mary Brisco, died Aug. 17, 1869, aged 75.
John Hyder, born Aug. 22, 1787, died March 20, 1878; and Catharine, his wife, born April 16, 1788,
died March 13, 1863; Englid Hyder, their son, born Aug. 31, 1814, died Feb. 12, 1853.
“Sydney Hyder Johnson, aged 23.”
Below are given the votes polled for district officers since June 4, 1851:
1851.—Vote for Primary School-Commissioners: Isaac Slingluff 253, Wm. Hughes 117, Henry H.
Herbaugh 157, William Ecker 44.
1853.—For Justices: Richard Dell 280, Helpher Crawmer 55, John Smelzer 33, H.W. Dell 17, H.H.
Herbaugh 354, Samuel Shunk 259, W.R. Currey 292, Joshua Switzer 321; Constables: Wm. Segafoose
384, Wm. Brown 225, Wm. Wilson 311, Wm. Delphy 197; Road Supervisor: Frederick Tawney 240, Thos.
F. Shepherd, 302.
1855.—For Justices: Henry Fleagle 476, H.H. Herbaugh 486, E.A. Adee 481, John T. Lowe 480, John
Smelzer 147; Constables: Wm. Delphy 463, Wm. Wilson 466, W. Segafoose, 232; Road Supervisor:
Hiram Englar, 488.
1857.—For Justices: H.H. Herbaugh 378, D.B. Fleagle 353, J.B. Christ 304, S. Anders 340; Constables:
Wm. Brown 166, J.T. Myers 328, Isaac B. Wright 338; Road Supervisor: J.B. Williams 342.
1859.—For Justices: W.H. Haines 153, Caleb Baring 138, W.H. Herbaugh 341, D.B. Fleagle 334, Joshua
Switzer 345, John Hesson 355; Constables: Frederick Tawney 137, J.R. Haines 361, Levi Haifley
351; Road Supervisor: Samuel Beck 330.
1861.—For Justices: H.H. Herbaugh 454, John Hesson 447, Levi Fleagle 445, Joshua Switzer 449;
Constables: A.S. Warner 346, Wm. Singer 412, J.W. Segafoose 202; Road Supervisor: Wm. Beck 364,
W.S. Lantz 91, Noah Plowman 74.
The public school trustees for 1881 and 1882 have been:
1 and 2. Uniontown.—J.C. Brubaker, Jesse J.H. Davis, Wm. H. McCollum.
3. Tunker Meeting-house.—George H. Brown, Levi Caylor, John H. Jordan.
4. Moredock’s.—David Roop, John Royer, Henry Brunner.
5 and 6. Frizellsburg.—Dr. Jacob Rinehart, Alfred Warner, Leonard Zile.
7. Pleasant Valley.—Wm. Bowers, Noah Powell, Uriah Feaser.
8. Baust Church.—Jesse Unger, Wm. Neusbaumn, Wm. Farmwalt.
9. Fairview.—Davis Myers, Daniel Diehl, David Stoner.
10. Bear Mount,—Samuel Wantz, David E. Morelock, George W. Hull.
1. Middletown African School.—John Thompson, Summerfield Roberts, Lloyd Coats (colored).
The teachers and number of pupils for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, H.P. Engler, 49; 2, Ella Beam, 42; 3, T.H. Adams, 30; 4, S.P. Weaver, 54; 5, Thomas Tipton, 41; 6,
J.J. Reindollar, 48; 7, J.P. Earnest, 42; 8, Francis L. Delaplane, 51; 9, A.H. Diffenbaugh, 47; 10, Sue L.
Langly, 34; 1 (colored school), T.F. McCann, 20.
Frizzellburg.—The village of Frizzellburg is five miles from Westminster, and pleasantly situated near
Meadow Branch. It was named in honor of the Frizzell family, early identified with the settlement.
Among the first families located in the immediate vicinity of the town were the Smiths, Haifleys, Harmans,
Blacks, Roops, and Warners.
The house now owned by Jeremiah Rinehart was the first erected in the village, and was occupied by
Daniel Smith, one of the first residents of the town, in 1814, and was built probably prior to the year 1800.
In the year 1814, Nimrod Frizzell, accompanied by his family, settled in the neighborhood and worked at
his trade, that of a blacksmith. At that time there were but few houses within the village limits. The
Haifleys lived in the house now occupied by Larry Freeman. George Harman built and resided in the
present residence of Edward Six. Jacob Black lived in the house which is now the home of Mrs. Vance.
In 1818, Nimrod Frizzell built the house which is now owned and occupied by Judge Frizzell. He lived
there and kept a hotel, together with a small store, which was conducted in his name after his death until
1860. Frank Lytle was the first school-teacher in the village, and was followed by Samuel Moffat and
Francis Matthias. Dr. Cook was the first regular physician, and located here about the year 1847. He
remained but a short time, and was followed by Dr. Baker, Dr. Shipley, Dr. Roberts, Dr. Kennedy, and Dr.
Price respectively. In 1864, Dr. J.E. Rinehart located here. He was a native of Carroll County, and was
born in Hampstead District. He came to the vicinity of Frizzellburg in 1836, attended the public schools at
this point, and in 1849 entered the Gettysburg Academy, Pa., where he graduated in 1855. He attended
lectures in Philadelphia, and graduated at the Medical College in 1858.
After locating and remaining in Pennsylvania during the war, he permanently located in Frizzellburg. He
was married to Maggie, a daughter of Peter Greeble, of Emmittsburg, Frederick Co., Md. Mr. Rinehart
represented his county in the Maryland Legislature in 1876. Richard Brown was the earliest merchant, and
was succeeded by Darius Brown, who opened his place of business in the front room of the house now
occupied by Ephraim Cover. In 1849 he built himself a store-room and removed his goods to that building.
Campbell & Everheart succeeded to his business in 1851. Mr. Brown having died the previous year, they
built themselves a larger storehouse to accommodate the rapidly-increasing trade of the village. A
gentleman by the name of Richard Dell, and also a Mr. Holliberry, were the successors of Messrs.
Campbell & Everheart, and were themselves succeeded, in 1881, by Mr. Kerster.
In 1842, Isaac Appler built the dwelling and storehouse now owned and occupied by Mr. Warner. Mr.
Appler sold it to Mr. Gilbert, who kept a grocery-store, and who subsequently sold it to Valentine Vance. A
dry-goods and grocery-store has since been established here, Mr. Warner having purchased the property
from Mrs. Vance in 1860.
Mr. Frizzell, the son of Nimrod Frizzell, from whom the village received its title, was born in the year 1818,
and has always been a resident of the place. For three years he held the position of leather inspector of
the city of Baltimore. He married, in 1844, Miss Barbara N., daughter of John and Mary Swigart. Mr.
Frizzell is at present one of the judges of the Orphans’ Court.
Church of God.—This congregation was formed under the auspices of Rev. William McFadden. The
church was erected and dedicated in the year 1842, at a cost of seven hundred and fifty dollars. Rev.
Joseph Bombarger delivered the dedicatory sermon. The following gentlemen composed the building
committee, and were authorized to collect all the subscriptions: Benjamin Fleagle, Levi Fleagle, James
Gilbert, Caleb Boring, and Henry Fleagle. The congregation at that time numbered forty members.
Rev. Mr. Lugenbeel is the present pastor, and Levi Fleagle the elder. The latter has held that position
since the organization of the church. The trustees for the year 1881 are Levi Fleagle, Wm. L. Fleagle,
Benjamin Fleagle, and John T. Baust, and the number of members fifteen. In the rear of the church is the
Church of God cemetery, in which are buried several children, and there are also many unmarked graves.
Among the names recorded are Eliza Jabes, died Jan. 22, 1862, aged sixty-five years, four months, four
days, and Thomas Jones, died Aug. 11, 1873, aged fifty-two years.
The building in which are held the sessions of the Frizzellburg Academy is commodious and amply provided with all the necessary paraphernalia for proper training and education. The school is graded to suit the ages and development of scholars, and is supplied with an excellent corps of teachers.
Within four miles of the village, on the banks of the Big Pipe Creek, there stood until recently an old stone
mill and dwelling, erected in 1776 by two Tories named Graffs. They were driven from Philadelphia
because of the intemperate expression of their unpopular opinions and sympathies, and fled to Carroll
County (at that time Frederick) for refuge. They settled upon this stream and prospered, their calamities
having taught them the wisdom of moderation and taciturnity.
Tyrone.—The village of Tyrone is situated thirty-two miles west of Baltimore and six miles west of
Westminster, on what is generally known as “the plank road” leading from Westminster to Taneytown. It
contains a handsome church, a mill, a store for general merchandise, and a number of dwelling-houses.
The Farmwalt family, early settlers in the neighborhood, founded the town. William L. Fleagle is the
postmaster and principal merchant, and W.H. Rider superintends the mill.
Emmanuel Church, or Baust’s church, in which the Lutheran and Reformed congregations jointly worship,
was built many years ago, but was thoroughly repaired and almost completely remodeled, Oct. 18, 1868.
The congregations were originally organized prior to the year 1794, and worshiped in an old log school-
house which stood upon the site of the present church, the land having been deeded Jan. 10, 1794, by
Valentine and Maria Baust, to build a church and school-house, and it was from the donors that the
church derived its former name.
The two congregations were incorporated by an act of the General Assembly of Maryland passed Jan. 12,
1835. The incorporators were John Fleagle, Sr., John Derr, Michael Morelock, and Peter Haifley. At a
meeting of the two congregations in 1838 there were present John Derr, Peter Dayhoff, Peter Golle,
George Maxwell, John Fleagle, Jr., Valentine Wentz, and Jacob Valentine.
The officers of the church at this time were as follows:
German Reformed Congregation: Elders, John Fleagle, Peter Golle; Deacons, Peter Dayhoff, John
Fleagle; Trustees, George Maxwell, John Derr. Lutheran Congregation: Elders, M. Morelock, Andrew
Babylon; Deacons, Henry Hahn, Jacob Valentine; Trustees, Valentine Wentz, Peter Halfleigh.
The ministers who have served the Lutheran congregation, as far as can be ascertained, are as follows:
John Grupp was the first, and was at the time also the pastor of Taneytown, Krider’s, Winter’s, and Silver
Run Lutheran Churches. He was followed in 1819 by Henry Graver; Rev. John N. Hoffman, 1833; Samuel
Finckle, 1834; Ezra Keller, 1835; Solomon Sentman,1840; Rev. Philip Willard, 1845; Corne1ius
Reimensnider, John Winters, 1850; Samuel Henry, 1855 to 1868; Mr. Deiner, 1872 ; Rev. G.W. Anderson,
and the present pastor, Rev. David B. Floyd.
This church was in the Emmittsburg and Taneytown charge until 1840, when it was transferred to the
Westminster Circuit. Again, about the year 1870, it was transferred to the Uniontown Circuit, to which it
now belongs. The present officers of the two congregations are:
Lutheran: Elders, William Nusbaum and Jacob Myers; Deacons, Dr. J.E. Rinehart, Lewis Myers;
Trustees, Jeremiah Rinehart, Ephraim Winter. This congregation numbers ninety members. German
Reformed: Elders, Jesse Unger, Joshua Crawford; Deacon, Josiah Erb; Trustees, Jacob Sell, Wm.
Farmwalt. Joint Board: President, William Nusbaum; Secretary, Dr. J.E. Rinehart. Jacob Myers, joint
treasurer; Jacob Myers, treasurer Lutheran Congregation; Jesse Unger, treasurer Reformed Congregation.
As was said above, in 1868 the church was thoroughly remodeled and rededicated, the services being
interesting and impressive. The preparatory exercises were conducted by Rev. Griffith Owen, of
Baltimore, and the sermon was preached by Rev. P.A. Strobel, of Westminster. The dedicatory services
were performed by Rev. J. Steiner. The debt of the church was liquidated by subscriptions raised during
the services. The name of the church was also changed at that time, and it has since been known as
Emmanuel. The following persons are buried in Baust Church Cemetery:
Abraham Hann, died Oct. 5, 1862, aged 80 years, 11 months, 25 days.
Josiah Hafley, died Nov. 29, 1855, aged 36 years, 5 months, 13 days.
Margaret Fluegal, born Jan. 3, 1770, died Dec. 4, 1842.
John Fluegal, born Nov. 17, 1762, died Sept. 3, 1845.
Uriah Baust, born Nov. 23, 1822, died Nov. 16, 1849.
Abraham Hann, born May 4, 1817, died March 16, 1841.
Jacob Keefer, died July 13, 1837, aged 34 years, 6 months, 21 days.
Lydia Hesson, wife of John Hesson, and daughter of John Taney, died Aug. 27, 1842, aged 17.
Peter Haiffle, born April 11, 1786, died Jan. 11, 1869.
Levi Haifley, died July 3, 1830, aged 17.
Margaret, wife of Peter Hafley, died Dec. 23, 183—, aged 43 years, 1 month, 23 days.
Sophia Wagner, died Aug. 13, 1836, aged 62 years, 7 months.
Mary Wantz, died March 25, 1842, aged 24 years, 9 months, 28 days.
Catharine Shoemaker, died 1834.
Peter Shoemaker, died Dec. 24, 1838, aged 81 years, 8 months, 24 days.
Mary E. Wentz, died 1833, aged 40.
George Warner, died April 30, 1836, aged 77 years, 10 months, 10 days.
Johannes Bischoff, born 1740, died July 9, 1813, aged 73 years, 4 months.
Maria Bischoff, died Dec. 21, 1824, aged 80.
Jacob Bishop, died Aug. 31, 1832, aged 59 years, 9 months, 7 days; and Elizabeth, his wife, died
Dec. 4, 1824, aged 35 years, 9 months, 18 days.
Margaret Mock, died Jan. 2, 1815, aged 64.
Peter Mock, died April 3, 1812, aged 85.
Jacob Honer, died 1798.
Frederick Wentz, Jr., died Sept. 27, 1824, aged 63.
Geo. Frederick Wentz, died Feb. 3, 1833, aged 78 years, 1 month, 15 days.
Frederick Keefer, born Dec. 2, 1795, died Aug. 4, 1855.
Elizabeth Shreiner, born in 1771, died in 1773.
Sarah Swigart, died March 28, 1813, aged 25 years, 10 months, 2 days.
“Wagner, born 1755, died 1801.”
Michael Wagner, born Nov. 6, 1752, died Feb. 21, 1839.
Barbara Yar, born Dec. 4, 1784, died Dec. 2, 1806.
Ulrich Stollern, born April 15, 1737, died September, 1816.
John Marker, died Aug. 16, 1824, aged 65; and Susannah, his wife, born Feb. 12, 1774, died
March 3, 1839.
Elizabeth Moler, born Nov. 14, 1776, died Feb. 18, 1813.
Magdalena Derr, died July 19, 1822, aged 25.
Abraham Derr, died May 11, 1829, aged 62.
Elizabeth Deer, died Nov. 13, 1822, aged 55.
Jacob Derr, born Nov. 12, 1788, died Dec. 23, 1819.
Valentine Wentz, died Feb. 19, 1843, aged 56 years, 11 months, 20 days.
Catherine Bishop, born Oct. 13, 1783, died June 13, 1845.
John F. Haifley, died Sept. 14, 1845, aged 55 years, 5 months, 13 days.
George Eckard, died Nov. 9, 1822, aged 65 years, 11 months, 20 days.
Aaron P. Erviesse, died Aug. 24, 1829, aged 6.
Mary Seel, died Aug. 27, 1813, aged 80.
Sarah Worley, born March 6, 1799, died Sept. 13, 1857.
Lydia Worley, born June 18, 1803, died Feb. 17, 1858.
Lydia, wife of Daniel Myers, died July 16, 1856, aged 40 years, 11 months.
Elizabeth Hann, died March 20, 1855, aged 69 years, 2 months, 1 day.
Peter Hesson, born July 21, 1783, died Dec. 16, 1865; and Susannah, his wife, born Dec. 15, 1797,
died Jan. 25, 1857.
Catherine, wife of John Fleet, died Dec. 11, 1856, aged 72.
Peter Zepp, died Aug. 21, 1879, aged 71 years, 1 month, 14 days; and Catherine, his wife, born
April 28, 1810, died Jan. 23, 1855.
Abraham Hesson, died Feb. 19, 1855, aged 81 years, 11 months, 21 days.
Louisa Hesson, died Jan. 14, 1859, aged 70 years, 11 months, 27 days.
Eli Hesson, died Sept. 9, 1859, aged 47 years, 6 months, 12 days.
John L. Powell, born June 23, 1779, died April 15, 1855; and Elizabeth, his wife, born April 12, 1782,
died May, 1864.
Peter Gatle, died July 7, 1865, aged 76 years, 10 months, 16 days; and Catherine, his wife, Feb. 25,
1862, aged 68 years, 8 months, 3 days.
Josiah Bankard, born Oct. 25, 1830, died July 17, 1873.
Abraham Bankard, died Oct. 30, 1879, aged 80 years, 22 days.
Ezra Haifley, “Co. A, 6th Md. Regt. Vols.,” born Sept. 27, 1840, died Oct. 14, 1864.
Wm. Gregg, born April, 1818, died April, 1866.
Lydia, wife of Josiah Babylon, died Aug. 10, 1867, aged 47 years, 10 months, 9 days.
Joseph Cox, born Aug. 10, 1801, died Oct. 29, 1879; and Rachel, his wife, born Nov. 8, 1811, died
May 24, 1872.
“John Mathew, honest and faithful servant to Abraham Hesson, died Sept. 9, 1855, aged 61.”
Valentine Wantz, died June 25, 1876, aged 65 years, 6 months, 23 days; and Susannah, his wife,
born July 8, 1800, died March 5, 1870.
Mathias Copenhover, died Jan. 8, 1877, aged 68 years, 8 months, 22 days; and Mary, his wife,
died May 4, 1875, aged 72 years, 8 months, 8 days.
Sarah, their daughter, born Dec. 5, 1830, died March 18, 1864; and Elizabeth, another daughter,
born Dec. 3, 1835, died August, 1863.
John Fleagle, a soldier of 1812, born June 25, 1793, died March 15, 1879: and Rachel, his wife,
born Jan. 22, 1795, died May 8, 1865.
Uriah Fleagle, of “Co. G, 1st Regt. Md. Vols.” (P.H.B.), born Feb. 21, 1843, fell at the battle of
Gettysburg, July 3, 1863, aged 20 years, 4 months, 9 days.
Amos Fleagle was killed at the battle of Murfreesboro’, December, 1862.
George Fleagle, died Feb. 27, 1880, aged 81 years, 7 months, 4 days.
Anna Louisa, wife of Amos Hull, died Dec. 22, 1876, aged 38.
Margaret Rinehart, died June 5, 1863, aged 49.
Samuel Fitze, died Nov. 30, 1871, aged 49 years, 2 months, 27 days.
Valentine Wantz, born Jan. 27, 1820, died March 11, 1860.
Anna Maria Meyers, born Dec. 21, 1777, died Oct. 3, 1863.
Susan, wife of Jacob Eckard, died Jan. 9, 1861, aged 51.
John Lampert, died June 20, 1874, aged 76; and Louisa, his wife, Feb. 17, 1877, aged
78 years, 11 days.
Hezekiah Lambert, born Oct. 24, 1825, died April 7, 1860.
George Warner, born July 15, 1814, died Feb. 6, 1872.
Sarah Warner, born May 24, 1795, died May 16, 1872.
Elizabeth Warner, born May 26, 1776, died Oct. 1, 1857.
William Warner, died Dec. 30, 1853, aged 36 years, 7 months, 15 days.
Michael Dotzour, died March 19, 1858, aged 35 years, 5 months, 10 days.
Margaret Dotzour, died May 6, 1872, aged 68.
John Babylon, born May 10, 1803, died March 1, 1862.
John Dell, born Dec. 17, 1773, died Oct. 23, 1871.
Mary Dell, born July 26, 1777, died Sept. 28, 1851.
Michael Babylon, died Dec. 12, 1870, aged 70 years, 8 months, 23 days.
Andrew Babylon, born Aug. 20, 1779, died Oct. 21, 1851.
Susanna Babylon, died Feb. 8, 1870, aged 91 years, 9 months, 17 days.
David Babylon, born Dec. 21, 1820, died July 15, 1857; and Mary, his wife, born Feb. 13, 1821,
died Feb. 4, 1857.
George Rodkey, born Dec. 8, 1790, died Nov. 25, 1851.
Mary Eckard, born Dec. 13, 1765, died Jan. 31, 1856.
Solomon Farmwalt, born Sept. 4, 1793, died Feb. 22, 1881; and Elizabeth, his wife, born April 28,
1800, died March 22, 1852.
Ellenoore Fromfelter, died Feb. 15, 1870, aged 76 years, 3 months, 4 days.
John Nusbaum, born March 25, 1793, died June 1, 1866; and Elizabeth, his wife, born July 28, 1799,
died Dec. 6, 1864.
Henry Beard, died Aug. 4, 1861, aged 41 years, 6 months, 5 days.
Cornelius Baust, born Feb. 10, 1785, died April 26, 1868; and Elizabeth, his wife, born Sept. 6, 1791,
died March 1, 1865.
Charles Crawford, died Dec. 11, 1871, born May 23, 1805.
Fred. Wantz, born March 3, 1778, died Jan. 24, 1857; and Mary, his wife, died Feb. 8, 1852, aged
64 years, 2 months, 8 days.
George Wantz, died May 6, 1866, aged 36 years, 1 month, 11 days.
Eliza Hunger, died May 2, 1877, aged 63 years, 25 days.
Catharine, wife of Jesse Babylon, died April 5, 1878, aged 62.
Elizabeth, wife of Joshua Stansbury, born Aug. 13, 1813, died Feb. 1, 1874.
Wm. Lampert, born Sept. 1, 1826, died April 7, 1878.
Dr. David B. Fleagle, died Feb. 26, 1878, aged 35 years, 9 months, 6 days.
Jacob Foglesong, born Jan. 12, 1807, died Nov. 27, 1880.
Peter Babylon, born Nov. 14, 1781, died Jan. 28, 1850.
Hannah Foutz, born Nov. 26, 1770, died Aug. 28, 1815.
Elizabeth Foutz, died Sept. 27, 1830, aged 43.
Solomon Foutz, died Feb. 14, 1839, aged 78 years, 10 months, 25 days.
Jacob Youn, died January, 1830, aged 60.
Mary Youn, died March 15, 1824, aged 37 years, 2 months, 13 days.
Mary, infant daughter of Wm. Youn, died May 4, 1825.
John Yon, born April 1, 1829, died Jan. 1, 1831.
Catherine Yon, born 1785, died 1797.
Elizabeth Babylon, born Dec. 22, 1790, died April 26, 1813.
Samuel Farnhord, born Oct. 9, 1817, died June, 1818.
Leonard Kitzmiller, born April 27, 1732, died March 1, 1820.
David Stouffer, died Dec. 15, 1867, aged 76 years, 11 months, 14 days; and Mary, his wife,
died March 26, 1841, aged 48 years, 4 months, and 12 days.
Emma Kate, daughter of N. and C. Heck, died Aug. 30, 1869, aged 7 months, 21 days.
Susannah Holloway, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Holloway, died 1809.
“P.W., died 1785.”
Alexander McIlheny, died Jan. 25, 1835, aged 56 years, 10 months, 20 days; and Elizabeth, his
wife; born Aug. 1, 1779, died May 2, 1853.
Mayberry is a small village five miles from Taneytown, near Bear Branch. N.H. Fleagle is the
postmaster and merchant of the place, and William Stonesifer and Henry Eck are the millers.
Pleasant Valley, another small village, is five miles from Westminster. Samuel Lawyer is the
postmaster; H.B. Albaugh, merchant; and F.L. Yingling & Son, mill-owners. St. Matthew’s
Reformed church was built at a cost of $2400, and dedicated Nov. 30, 1879.
MYERS DISTRICT, No. 3.
Myers District, or the Third District of Carroll County, is bounded on the north by Pennsylvania, on the
east by Manchester District, on the south by the districts of Uniontown and Westminster, and on the west
by Taneytown District. Big Pipe Creek, Silver Run, and their tributaries flow through the district in many
directions, and Piney Creek forms the boundary line on the northwestern border; these fine streams
furnishing excellent power for mills, which has been utilized to a considerable extent by the inhabitants.
Union Mills, Myersville, Silver Run, and Piney Creek Station, on the Frederick and Pennsylvania Line
Railroad, are flourishing villages. The metes and bounds of the district, as laid out by commission
appointed in 1837, are as follows:
“Beginning at the end of Royer’s and Guyman’s lane, on Baughman’s county road; thence with said road
to Lawyer’s Branch; thence down said branch to Big Pipe Creek; thence with a straight line through Peter
Bixler’s farm, leaving said Bixler in District No. 6; thence with a straight line to a branch known by the
name of Ohio, where said branch crosses Trump’s county road; thence up said branch through to Wine’s
farm, up said branch to its head; thence with a straight line to the nearest point on Rinehart’s county road;
thence on said road to the Pennsylvania line; thence with Pennsylvania line to Littlestown and
Westminster turnpike; thence down said turnpike to the stone road; thence with said stone road to
Grove’s Ford on Big Pipe Creek; thence with said road to the aforesaid turnpike at the 33d mile stone;
thence with said turnpike to Rinehart’s county road; thence with said road to Rinehart’s mill; thence up the
road by Rinehart’s dam; thence with said road, between Frederick Baughman’s farm and Jacob Snyder’s,
to Andrew Angel’s, leaving said Angel in District No. 7; thence to Bixler’s tan-yard, leaving said Bixler in
District No. 7 ; thence with a straight line to the beginning.”
By an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, passed April 2, 1841, the division line between the Third
(Myers) and Seventh (Westminster) Districts was altered and made as follows: “Beginning at the natural
boundary at the intersection of Big Pipe Creek, in Peter Bixler’s meadow, and running thence by a direct
line to Jacob Frock’s dwelling-house, leaving the same in the Seventh Election District; thence by a direct
line to Adam and William Bishe’s
dwelling-house, leaving the same in the Seventh Election District, and thence to the Westminster and
Littlestown turnpike road, at the intersection of the stone road, which was then the boundary line between
the Third and Seventh Election Districts.” The district in 1880 had a population of 1959.
Union Mills was made the place for holding the polls. The district was named in honor of the Myers family,
one of the first to settle in this portion of Carroll County, one of whose descendants, Samuel W. Myers,
assisted in laying out the nine districts into which Carroll was originally divided in 1837.
A tract of land known as “Ohio,” containing nine thousand seven hundred and fifty acres, was patented to
Samuel Owings in 1763.
The early settlers were almost entirely Germans from York and Lancaster Counties, in Pennsylvania, or
directly from the Palatinate, and to this day there are in its limits but few families not of German
For the first half-century of its history and settlement the German was the only tongue spoken, and after
that, for a generation, the German and English languages were spoken indiscriminately, but since 1835
the English only has been used. These settlers were a hardy and thrifty race, of strong religious
sentiments, and rapidly increased in numbers and wealth. Among the pioneers were Joseph Leaman,
Nicholas Deal, George Michael Derr, Charles Angel, the Erbs, Myerses, Bankerds, Naills, Krouses,
Yinglings, Farmwaits, Hessons, Flicklingers, Koontz’, Frocks, Bixlers, Bachmans, Groffs, Hahns, Wivels,
Kesselrings, Leppoes, and afterwards there came the Burgoons, Joneses, Morelocks, Gearharts, Fishers,
Over a century ago “Bankerd’s mill” was in operation on the site of the present Union Mills, and
“Groff’s mill” was located where now James E. Dodrer has a saw and grist-mill, both on Big Pipe Creek.
The Shriver Family and. Union Mills.—Andrew Shriver, son of David and Rebecca (Ferree) Shriver, was
born on Little Pipe Creek (Westminster District), Nov. 7, 1762, and was the eldest of nine children. His
parents were among the first settlers in this section of country. He was married Dec. 31, 1786, to Miss
Elizabeth Shultz, daughter of John Shultz, at his house in Baltimore, by Rev. William Otterbein, a
distinguished clergyman of that day. His wife was born Aug. 15, 1767, and died Sept. 27, 1839. Their
children were John Shultz, born March 1, 1788; Thomas, born Sept. 2, 1789; Rebecca, born Dec. 29,
1790; Matilda, born Oct. 3, 1792; James, born at Littlestown, Pa., April 4, 1794; William, born at same
place, Dec. 23, 1796, and died June 11, 1879; Elizabeth, born at Union Mills, March 14, 1799; and
Andrew Keyser, born at the same place, March 25, 1802; Ann Maria, born March 13, 1804; Joseph, born
Jan. 11, 1806; and Catharine, born May 27, 1808.
All of these children grew up and married respectably, and left surviving children to perpetuate their name
After the death of his wife, Elizabeth, in 1839, Andrew Shriver continued to live at the old homestead at
Union Mills until his death, Sept. 20, 1847, aged nearly eighty-five years. In the fall of 1784, when twenty
years of age, with a capital of four hundred and sixty pounds, having been assisted to this extent,
perhaps, by his father, who had accumulated considerable means, Andrew Shriver engaged in the
mercantile business on Little Pipe Creek, and subsequently in Baltimore. After his marriage in 1786 he
continued to make his home with his wife on Little Pipe Creek until 1791, when he removed to Littlestown,
Pa., where he kept a store and tavern until 1797. On June 26th of that year he removed with his family,
then comprising six children, to the Union Mills property, which he bought, in partnership with his brother
David, of the heirs of Jacob Bankerd, deceased. This property is located on the northern branch of Pipe
Creek, in what was then Frederick, now Carroll County, five miles southeast of the Pennsylvania State
line. Andrew and David Shriver experienced great difficulty in gaining possession of their property. David
Shriver, Sr., was then, and for some thirty years afterwards, employed by them to get a chancery decree
for the sale of the land of the Bankerd estate. He was at length successful, and was appointed trustee for
the sale of the property. Andrew Shriver became the purchaser of a large part of the land, together with
the mill, then almost on the same site as that occupied by the present structure. They got possession of
the property with difficulty, even after its sale, some of the heirs not being willing to yield. By arrangement
of the above partners with John Mung, a millwright, work on the mill was completed satisfactorily for the
sum of four hundred and thirty dollars. This agreement was witnessed by James McSherry, Dr. S.
Duncan, and Susannah Showers (sister of Andrew and David Shriver), and dated Jan. 26, 1797. An
agreement of the same parties, of the same date, with Henry Kohlstock, carpenter,—
“Witnesseth that for and in consideration of one hundred pounds to be paid by the said Andrew and David
Shriver to the said Henry Kohlstock, he, the said Kohlstock, agrees to finish two small houses, fourteen
by seventeen feet each, to be connected by a porch and passage about ten feet wide,—that is to say, he
is to do all the joiner work so as to complete said houses, passage, porch, and stairways, agreeably to a
plan thereof now produced; also to do all the carpenter work of a mill house forty by fifty feet, and to
complete the whole thereof in a sufficient and neat, workmanlike manner, as expeditiously as possible;
and further, finally to complete the whole, he is to paint the work, both dwelling and mill house, in a proper
and sufficient manner; they, Andrew and David Shriver, to find all the materials, paint, oil, etc.
“R. MCILHENNY, JOHN MONG, Witnesses.”
This house was completed according to the agreement and occupied, and one of the rooms on the
ground-floor was used, for a store. The partnership between the brothers suggested the name of the
“Union Mills” to their homes, which was subsequently extended to embrace the whole village. The date of
the dissolution of the firm is not exactly known. David was afterwards employed in locating and
constructing the National road from Baltimore through Fredericktown, Hagerstown, and Cumberland to
Wheeling, on the Ohio River. He displayed great skill in working iron, having made some of the most
difficult parts of the mill-machinery (the appliances at hand being embraced in an ordinary blacksmith-
shop at this place), some of which are still about the premises, and will compare favorably with the
productions of the best workmen of the present day. A couple of pair of steelyards, with his name
stamped upon them, are now in use, and are perfectly reliable, the State inspector of weights and
measures having certified to their accuracy some twenty years since. The Shriver family developed great
skill in working iron. At a very early date they had a shop at Little Pipe Creek, in which they all worked at
times for different purposes, and Isaac Shriver took a contract from the government to furnish a large
quantity of gun-barrels, to be delivered at a stated time. Although the designated time was short for that
day, he finished the contract according to the terms and to the satisfaction of the authorities. Andrew
Shriver, after the removal of his brother David from the mills, continued to keep a store for the sale of
general merchandise, and secured for the village a post-office, of which he took charge. He also held the
office of magistrate for a long time, and it was chiefly owing to his influence that the public road was
opened from Union Mills to Hanover, Pa. He was afterwards instrumental in getting the turnpike from
Baltimore to Chambersburg through the village. With a growing family and continued prosperity in
business, Mr. Shriver required more house-room, and wings were added at different periods to the original
building. Architectural beauty was not much studied, but the mansion is quaint and picturesque. It still
stands with but little alteration, and is now occupied by Andrew K. Shriver, one of the sons, born under its
ancient roof. Andrew Shriver, although an active politician, as was also his father, never held any public
office other than magistrate, which position he filled during the greater part of his life, having been retained
through all the political changes which occurred in the State. His magisterial services were highly
appreciated, and were characterized by moderation and dignity. Very few appeals from his decisions to
the higher court were made, thus saving expense to the county, as well as to individuals. In his judicial
business, which extended over a wide region, he exerted a large personal influence, often acted as
peacemaker between litigants, and brought about amicable settlements where a continued appeal to law
tended only to make matters worse. Elizabeth Shriver, wife of Andrew Shriver, as mistress of a large
household and mother in the family, was an admirable Christian woman, and her influence had much to do
in moulding the character and shaping the future of her children. The children of Andrew and Elizabeth
Shriver were married thus: John Shultz to Henrietta Myers, of Baltimore; Thomas, three times,—first, to
Ann Sharp, of York, Pa., and the third time to Miss Sherrard; Rebecca Ferree to James Renshaw, of
York, Pa.; Matilda to Michael H. Spangler, of York, Pa.; James to Elizabeth B. Miller, of Uniontown, Pa.;
William to Mary Owings, of Littlestown, Pa.; Elizabeth (Eliza) to Lawrence J. Brengle, of Frederick (after
the decease of Catharine Shriver, his first wife); Andrew Keyser, on Feb. 16, 1837, to Catharine Wirt, of
Hanover, Pa. (who died Aug. 24, 1873); Ann Maria to William Tell Steiger, of Washington, D.C.; Joseph to
Henrietta Coston, of Washington, D.C.; Catharine to Lawrence J. Brengle, of Frederick. The children of
these several family unions form a large connection, and are scattered over a wide extent of country,
though the majority of them are living in the vicinity of the old homestead. Andrew K. and William, two of
the sons, with parts of their families, retain the mill property in their possession at this date, 1881. This
place is on the Baltimore and Reisterstown turnpike,—the old road to Pittsburgh,—over which noted
thoroughfare in the days of stage-coaches there was an immense deal of travel. Among the many
eminent men who tarried overnight or stopped for meals at the old Shriver mansion was Washington
Irving, who spent the Sabbath there, and a chapter of the recollections of his stay is found in his writings,
but the scene is laid in England. The first postmaster was Andrew Shriver, the present efficient officer
Andrew K. Shriver, and William Shriver once held the office. For nearly fourscore years, save a brief
space of time, this office has always been in the Shriver family. B.F. Shriver & Co. now operate the
flouring-mill, and run a large canning-factory, while the tannery is run by A.K. Shriver & Sons on the same
site where the first enterprise of that character was located in 1795.
William Shriver was born at Littlestown, Pa., Dec. 23, 1796, and at the time of his death, which occurred
in 1879, was one of the proprietors of the flour-mills, and of the old estate there, which had been in the
family many years. He was a brother to the late John S. Shriver, so well known as the president of the
Ericsson line of steamboats between Baltimore and Philadelphia. He had several brothers, one of them,
Thomas Shriver, living in New York City, ninety years old. Mr. Shriver’s father was a very old man when
he died, and the family is generally long-lived. He left an aged wife and a large number of children and
great-grandchildren. He celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of his wedding several years ago. Few persons
had a larger personal acquaintance or more friends than the deceased.
The following is a list of persons living within a radius of four or five miles of Union Mills, and all, with a
few exceptions, in Myers District, who were seventy years old and upwards in 1879:
Christina Yingling 80 Samuel Lookingbill 77
William Shriver 83 Isaac Beal 76
Mrs. Mary Shriver 72 George Stegner 88
Andrew K. Shriver 77 Mrs. Rebecca Leppo 80
Peter Yingling 82 Mrs. Catharine Meyers 84
Mrs. Yingling 74 Mrs. Mary Yeiser 91
Mrs. Willet 73 Mrs. Sarah Little 75
Jacob Slyder 84 John Stonesifer 84
John Koontz 76 Mrs. Rachel Warner 85
Philip Arter 75 Mrs. Margaret Duce 71
John Frock, of J 72 Henry Duttaror 73
Isaac Bankert 77 Mrs. Mary Kelly 79
John Flickinger 73 John Study 74
Jacob Leister 77 Jacob Mikesell 90
Mrs. Elizabeth Kump 94 Daniel Leppo 73
Jacob Hahn 76 John Snyder 76
Samuel Hahn 75 Mrs. Elizabeth Myers 77
Mrs. Sarah Shull 79 George Fleagle, Sr. 82
George Bowman 77 Mrs. Lydia Fleagle 76
Andrew Stopesjfer 77 Mrs. Judith Crumrine 81
Mrs. Mary Stonesifer 74
Directly across Big Pipe Creek is a village laid out by Peter E. Myers and called Myersville; but as the
post-office is called Union Mills, the latter is the name by which the mills and the village are generally
known. The Methodist Episcopal church was erected in 1880, and has a flourishing Sunday-school
attached to it, of which William Yingling is superintendent.
Carroll Academy was organized in 1838, and a stone building was erected by stock subscriptions. The
first trustees were William Shriver, William N. Burgoon, John Erb, Peter E. Myers, and Isaac Bankerd;
secretary of the board, A.K. Shriver. The first principal was James Burns, an Irishman, the second,
James Small, and among their successors were Bushrod Poole, Christian Erb, Samuel S. Shriver, John
G. Wolf, John A. Renshaw, Bernard McManus, and Mr. Bardwell. Upon the creation of the public school
system, the academy passed under the control of the school authorities. Mr. Burns, the first teacher of
the academy, organized the first
Sunday-school in the district,—a union school and not denominational. Dr. William R. Cashing is the
physician of the town. F.M. Hall is a prominent merchant in Union Mills. William Bankerd, Joseph Erb,
Samuel Stonesifer are coopers; John Beemiller, Jesse Koontz, shoemakers; W.G. Byers, undertaker; J.
William Everhart, surveyor; Jesse Legare is a justice of the peace; Jeremiah Myers carries on a saw-mill;
Jesse Myers and P. Wolf are millers; John Myers is a manufacturer of brick. The blacksmiths are Samuel
Stansbury, Samuel Orem, William Tagg & Sons; William Rennaker is a carpenter; Ephraim and Ezra J.
Yingling are tinners; and Martin Yingling, a cabinet-maker.
Silver Run is on the turnpike from Westminster to Littlestown, Pa., nine miles from the former and five
from the latter. Its postmaster is John N. Mark, and assistant, Augusta J. Mark. The village is near the
stream, Silver Run, from which it takes its name. The village store is kept by Albaugh & Haines, and the
hotel by Andrew Wisner. J. Henry Knipple is justice of the peace, and Dr. James M. Marshall, the
physician. The various industries are represented by Elias Bankerd, wheelwright; Joseph Beemiller, J.W.
Little, shoemakers; Mrs. T. Kesselring, millinery and confectionery; Henry and Jacob Koontz,
blacksmiths; George L. Little, cabinet-maker; and Rufus Strouse, constable.
St. Mary’s Church is on “Silver Run,” and is the joint place of worship of the German Reformed and
Lutheran congregations. The present church edifice is of stone, and was erected in 1822. It is on a tract
of land called “Dyer’s Mill Forest,” adjoining a survey called “Lewis’ Luck.” It occupies the site of the first
church, a rude log structure, built in 1768. The deed for the fifteen acres on which it is located was made
by Joseph Dyer in 1768 to John Leaman, Nicholas Deal, George Michael Derr, Charles Angel, of the
“Dutch Congregation of Silver Run,” a committee of the Lutheran and Reformed Calvinists. The
consideration named in the conveyance is £4 3s.
9d. The witnesses to its execution were William Blair and Abraham Hayton. It was duly acknowledged
March 21, 1769, before “His Lordship’s Justices of the Peace,” William Blair and Thomas Price. On the
back of this instrument is a receipt from Christopher Edelin acknowledging to have received “7 pence half-
penny stirling,” as alienation fee on the said fifteen acres, from Daniel, of St. Thomas Jenifer, his
lordship’s agent. This was ground-rent money due the Lord Proprietor, and payable semi-annually at the
two annual feasts at St. Mary’s, but which had to be paid before a good conveyance could be obtained.
This deed was recorded March 27, 1769. Rev. J.G. Noss is the present Reformed pastor, and Rev. J.M.
Alleman the Lutheran, and H.W. Shriver the superintendent of the Reformed Sunday-school.
Immediately above the junction of Silver Run with Big Pipe Creek, on the latter, John Wiest has large
flouring-mills, and David B. Earhart has a fulling-mill.
West of Union Mills, on Big Pipe Creek, James E. Dodrer has flouring-mills, once called “Old Graves’
mills,” but put down on the old maps, made a century ago, as “Groffs mill.”
Piney Creek Station is on the Frederick and Pennsylvania Line Railroad, in the northwestern part of the
district. C. Shere is the postmaster and merchant, and P.M. Wiest has charge of a mill on the
Westminster turnpike. At the boundary line dividing Myers from Westminster District is “Mount Pleasant
Academy,” built in 1854, and a store kept by John Crouse. There is a saw- and grist-mill on the estate of
the late Dr. Study, on Big Pipe Creek. Near the Hanover road, in the north of the district, are large beds of
iron ore. In the eastern part, on Big Pipe Creek, A. Fusir has a store and flour-mill.
The first physicians who practiced in the district were Dr. Wampler, of Hanover, Dr. Shorb, of Littlestown,
and the Taneytown doctors. There were no resident physicians for many years after the first settlement.
Dr. Study, long ago deceased, was the pioneer in his profession, and he was succeeded by his son, Dr.
John Study, who still practices in the neighborhood.
The following is a list of public school trustees and teachers for Myers District for 1881 and 1882:
1. Mount Pleasant.—J. Crouse, Frank Burgoon, John C. Bankert.
2 and 3. Carroll Academy.—Jacob Humbert, H.W. Shriver, John Bemiller.
4. Wisner’s.—Jacob Feever, Larkin Belt, John H. Baum.
5. Bishe’s.—Emanuel Yeizer, Samuel Getting, Josiah Steiner.
6. Humbert’s.—Ezra M. Lawyer, Lewis Morelock, George Humbert.
7. Mauss’.—John Maus, Cyrus Feever, Absalom Koontz.
8. Green Mount.—Jacob P. Hull, John Starr, John Boose.
9. Erb’s.—Jesse Lemon, S. Keefer, Jacob Marker.
10. Good Hope.—George Bowers, William Yingling, John Leister.
11. Cover’s.—Samuel Cover, Solomon Boose, Joseph Mathias.
12. Cherry Grove.—Peter Kump, David Shull, William A. Lippo.
The teachers for the term ending April 13, 1881, were:
1, C.H. Bixler, 43 pupils; 2, John Burgoon, 20 pupils; 3, Isaac Wright, 44 pupils; 4, G.W. Yeizer,
50 pupils; 5, J.H. Stonesifer, 40 pupils; 6, G.F. Morelock, 30 pupils 7, John N. Mark, 49 pupils; 8,
A.F. GaIt, 43 pupils; 9, George Fleagle, 63 pupils; 10, N.H. Kester, 45 pupils; 11, Richard Dell, 41
pupils; 12, A.S. Morelock, 35 pupils.
Below are given the votes cast for local officers in Myers District from 1851 to 1861 inclusive:
1851.—Vote for Primary School commissioners: William Earhart 89, A.K. Shriver 59, Samuel Bowers
37, J. William Earhart 134, P.B. Mikesell 49.
1853.—For Justices: William Tagg 135, John Koontz 196, D.B. Earhart 157, Daniel Stonesifer 153;
Constables: Perry Rumler 125, Peter Wolf 204, Samuel Bowers 92, Peter Lingenfelter 88, John
Hornberger 56; Road Supervisor: David Circle 77, James E. Dodrer 146, Peter E. Myers 17.
1855.—For Justices: Samuel Bowers 42, J.W. Earhart 99, D.B. Earhart 72, Eli Erb 28, Henry Shuler
122, Peter Kump 117, D. Stonesifer 68; Constables: D.E. Leister 79, W.H. Lippy 56; Peter Rumler 102;
Daniel Shull 167, J.H. Wimert 122; Road Supervisor: Peter B. Myers 98, Abraham Koontz 190.
1857.—For Justices: D. Stonesifer 177, P.B. Mikesell 223, William Tagg 108, D.B. Earhart 71;
Constables: J.H. Knipple 203, J.L. Farmwalt 185, P. Rumler 130, B.J. Matthias 51; Road Supervisor:
Daniel Lippo 232.
1859.—For Justices: John Maus 257, P.B. Mikesell 262; Constable: J.H. Knipple 219, Gershom
Huff 235, W.N. Burgoon 134; Road Supervisor: Daniel Lippo 183, Emanuel Yeiser 132.
1861.—For Justices: J.W. Earhart 183, D.H. Rudolph 150, D.B. Earhart 55, John Maus 194, Eli
Erb 129; Constables: D.L. Feeser 170, Levi Bish 127, Joshua Wisner 53, G. Huff 193, B.J. Matthias
154; Road Supervisor: Moses Troxell 182, Michael Shull 185.
WOOLERY DISTRICT, No. 4.
Woolery District, or District No. 4, of Carroll County, is bounded on the north by Hampstead, on the
west by Baltimore County, on the south by Freedom District, and on the west by the district of
Deep Run, Middle Run, Beaver Run, and the Patapsco River, with their tributaries, furnish abundant water-
power for manufacturing and milling purposes. In addition to the numerous excellent public roads and the
Chambersburg turnpike, the Western Maryland Railroad passes through the northeastern portion of the
district, and furnishes admirable facilities for travel and transportation. The metes and bounds of the
district, as originally laid down by the commission of 1837, were as follows:
“Beginning at the twenty-sixth milestone on the Reisterstown turnpike road; thence with a straight line to
the late Richard Gorsuch’s house, leaving said house in No. 4; thence to the Patapsco Falls; thence down
said Falls to Stansbury’s house, leaving said house in District No. 4; thence with the county road to
Brown’s meeting-house; thence to Brown’s mill; thence to Williams’ school-house, binding on the road
leading past John Kelly’s; thence to Edward Bond’s; thence with the county line to the bridge over the
Patapsco Falls, near John Ely’s mill; thence with the Patapsco Falls to Beasman’s bridge; thence with
the Deer Park road to the road leading from Philip Nicodemus’s mill to the Calico House; thence with said
road to Pool’s school-house; thence to Morgan’s Run, near Thomas Beasman’s barn; thence up Morgan’s
Run to Hawkins’ Branch; thence up Hawkins’ Branch to the county road leading past Benjamin Gorsuch’s;
thence with said road until it intersects a county road leading from the ‘Stone Chapel’ to the Washington
road; thence with said road to the Washington road; thence with a straight line to the place of beginning.”
Daniel Weaver’s was made the place for holding the polls.
By an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, passed May 23, 1853, it was provided that “so much of
the Fourth Election District lying north and west of the Washington road should thereafter be deemed and
taken as part of the Seventh Election District; and that the division line between Election Districts Five
and Nine should be so far altered and changed as to commence at a point where the then division line
crossed the new Liberty road, and running thence with a straight line to the dwelling-house then occupied
by James McQuay, leaving said McQuay’s in district number nine; thence with a straight line to the
dwelling-house then occupied by John Hess, leaving said Hess in district number nine; thence to the
Washington road; thence with said road to Morgan’s Run, and up said run to the original division line.”
Woolery District had 2743 inhabitants in 1880.
The German element predominated to a large extent in the first settlement of this district, which was part
of Baltimore County until the creation of Carroll in 1836. Among the early settlers were the Woolerys (from
whom the district received its name), Stockdales, Garners, Jacobs, Gorsuches, Shipleys, Barneses,
Cockeys, Finks, Leisters, Zepps, Armacosts, Prughs, Conaways, and Flaters.
Finksburg, the most prominent town in the district, is twenty miles from Baltimore and about one mile
from the Western Maryland Railroad. It was laid out in 1813 by a Mr. Quigly, a contractor on the
Chambersburg turnpike, then being built through it. It is situated on a survey called “Hooker’s Meadow,”
and was named Finksburg in honor of Adam Fink, who built the first house. Mr. Fink lived and kept tavern
on the land now owned by Daniel Frazier, and was succeeded by William Horner, Sr., who kept the inn for
twenty years. Mr. Fink had fifteen acres of land, eleven of which Daniel Frazier now owns, but the house
(tavern) built by the former was long ago taken down. Mr. Quigly laid out the town for Mr. Fink on the
latter’s land. The oldest house is that of Thomas Demoss. Thomas Ward kept the first store, Samuel
Hughes was the first blacksmith, and his shop was that now occupied and carried on by Thomas
Demoss. The first physician was Dr. Forrest, and the first teacher Charles W. Webster, an attorney-at-law
of Westminster, son of Rev. Isaac Webster, who taught the school in Finksburg in 1831, in a log school-
house on the site of the present school building. The oldest man in the village is John Nelson Whittle,
aged seventy-three years, who married, June 11, 1830, Miss Cynthia Ann, daughter of Thomas Ward, an
old settler and the first merchant of the place. The merchants are George W. Horner and H.S. Thompson,
—the latter being the postmaster. Dr. S.L. Morris is the resident physician, and the venerable Samuel
Stansbury keeps the toll-gate at the east end of the village.
Zion Methodist Protestant church was erected in 1856, under the auspices of Rev. Scott Norris. Frank
Hering is superintendent of the Sunday-school.
The pastors of Zion Methodist Protestant Church have been:
1856, R.S. Norris, A. Anderson; 1857, R.S. Norris, C.H. Littleton; 1858, J.A. McFadden, N.S. Greenaway;
1859, J.A. McFadden, C.M. Whiteside; 1860, J. Elderdice, C.H. Littleton; 1861, C.H. Littleton, G.W.
Weills; 1862, J.F. Whiteside, G.W. Weills; 1863, J.F. Whiteside, J.W. Gray; 1864, T.M. Bryan, G.D.
Edmondston; 1865, T.M. Bryan, C.T. Cochel; 1866, C.T. Cochel, F.M. Hawkins; 1867, C.T. Cochel;
1868-70, W.T. Dunn; 1870-72, J.H. Ellegood; 1872, A.D. Dick, J.G. Sullivan; 1873, A.D. Dick; 1874, A.D.
Dick, S.B. Tredway; 1875, G.D. Edmondston; 1876, S.S.T. Ferguson, J.B. Butler; 1877, S.S.T.
Ferguson, G.F. Farring; 1878, S.S.T. Ferguson, J.M. Brown; 1879-81, J.W. Charlton; 1881, W.D.
The church building of the Methodist Episcopal Church South was erected in 1856 by the Methodist
Episcopal Church, but shortly after the late war the church organization became so feeble and so reduced
in numbers that the building was sold to the Methodist Episcopal Church South. Its first pastor under the
Church South was Rev. William Etchison, and the present incumbent is Rev. Mr. Brown, of Reisterstown.
In the rear of the church is a graveyard, with only a few interments, among which are William L. Crawford,
born December, 1834, died January, 1879.
The two most prominent burials are those of Judge Mordecai G. Cockey, who died July 29, 1872,
aged 70; and his wife Eurith, who died Dec. 27, 1843, aged 42.
In a field adjoining are the graves of the following-named persons: Ann E. Corbin, wife of William Corbin,
born Sept. 12, 1800, died April 30, 1829; and Keturah Wheeler, died June 15, 1829, aged 2 years and
The Independent Order of Mechanics was instituted in 1872, in which year it built its hall, which was sold
recently to George W. Horner. He has enlarged and beautified it, and the order continues to hold its
meetings there. Its officers are:
W.M., Frank Stocksdale; S.M., John Simmons; J.M., Conrad Mann; Sec., Alfred Williams; F.S., John W.
Barrett; Treas., L.A.J. Lamott.
The Excelsior Literary Society, an association for entertainment and instruction, is in a flourishing
condition. Its officers for 1881 were:
Pres., B.L. Fair; Sec., Dixon Leister; Treas., Miss Alverdie Lamott; Vice-Pres., F.L. Hering.
Samuel Shoemaker, the wealthy and distinguished Baltimore railroad and express man, was raised in this
village, and Lewis H. Cole lives near the town, on his elegant farm known as “Clover Hill.” Abraham
Leister owns part of the old Leister estate, among the first located in the district. That portion of this farm
near the railroad is owned by William Zepp. Thomas Gorsuch came to this section of country at an early
day from Baltimore County, and settled where Elias Gorsuch now lives, before whose time George W.,
son of Thomas Gorsuch, owned it.
The Garner Graveyard is on the road from Finksburg to the railroad station, and is a private burial-lot, in
which only three of the tombstones have inscriptions, as follows:
“In memory of Flinn Garner, who departed this life Feb. 20, 1859, aged 93 years. He was a member of the
Methodist Church 69 years.”
“In memory of Cary Garner, wife of Flinn Garner, the mother of 13 children.”
“Sarah Fresh, died Sept. 19, 1822, aged 28.”
Carrollton is a romantic and pretty village on the Western Maryland Railroad, seven miles from
Westminster and twenty-six from Baltimore. The North Branch of the Patapsco River passes by the
hamlet, and furnishes an abundance of water for manufacturing and other purposes. Thomas Chapel,
Pleasant Grove, and Bethel churches are near. Edward H. Bash is a merchant, railroad agent, and
postmaster. J.A. Bush, a surveyor, lives here, as does also W.J. Houck, the undertaker.
Patapsco.—This village lies on the Western Maryland Railroad, twenty-seven miles from Baltimore and
six from Westminster. Ezra Chew is postmaster. J.H. Chew & Co., J.W. Sanders, and John S. Martin are
merchants in the village. P. Lingenfelter keeps the hotel, and E.E. Koons, a miller and lumberman,
Bird Hill is on the “Nicodemus road,” six miles from Westminster, and near Morgan’s Run. John W. Nelson
is the postmaster of the village and keeps a store.
Louisville is also on the “Nicodemus road,” six miles from Finksburg, ten from Westminster, and twenty
from Baltimore. There are copper-mines situated on Morgan’s Run, within a half-mile of the town,
containing large deposits of copper, and operated by John Vial. S.H. Patterson is postmaster, and John
Reed and Nicholas Benson, merchants. The village has two churches,—Mount Pleasant Methodist
Episcopal and Providence Methodist Protestant. The millers are G.W. McComas and George F. Branning.
The town is partly in Woolery’s and partly in Freedom District,—the “Mineral Hill Copper-Mine” being in the
Mechanicsville.—This pleasant village, rapidly growing in business and population, lies on the Nicodemus
road, midway between Bird Hill and Louisville. It has a Methodist church and cemetery, two stores,
several shops, and is the home of an industrious people.
Shamberger’s Station, on the Western Maryland Railroad, is an important shipping-point, and has large
and excellent flouring-mills.
The following is a list of persons seventy years old and over living in the district in 1879:
Mrs. Margaret Wickert, aged 95 years; her son, Jacob Wickert, 77; her daughter, Mrs. Margaret Crapster,
75; Mrs. Rachel Roache, 79; her sister, Mrs. Mary Criswell, 74; Samuel Stansbury, 75; his wife, Rachel,
75; John Whittle, 71; Mrs. Lavina Grumbine, 73; her sister, Mrs. Eliza Stocksdale, 71; Mrs. Catharine
Stocksdale, 71; her brother, Benjamin Haines, 82; Cornelius Cole, 82; his wife, Maria, 73; Cornelius
Buckley, 80; his wife, Annie Buckley, 74; Mrs. Henrietta Williams, 74; John Uhler, 81; Cyrus Shilling, 79;
his wife, Annie, 71; Mrs. Elizabeth Shilling, 80; Lloyd Shipley, 85; Joshua Murray, 71; his wife, Mary, 76;
Abraham Prugh, 80; his wife, 72; Rich. Manning, 80; his wife, 79; Mrs. Lydia Crawford, 74; Stephen
Oursler, 83; his wife, 75; her brother, Edward Gardner, 78; Elias Brothers, 70; Mrs. Mary Haines, —;
George Ward, 74; his wife, 70; Mrs. Catherine Hedges, 79; Miss Mary Caple, 83; Mrs. Augustus
Galloway, 75; Lewis Hobb, 85; Daniel Bush, 73; Mrs. Mary Gorsuch, 82; Mrs. Mary Ogg, 73; Lovelace
Gorsuch, 76; his wife, 71; Nathan Gorsuch, 70; Maj. Gorsuch, 72; Philip Smith, colored, 79; his wife, 76.
The list comprises 26 females, whose combined ages are 2040 years, averaging 75 5/9 years; 22 males,
whose united ages are 1703 years, averaging 77 9/22 years. Total average, 76 ? years.
Some of the finest estates and most beautiful residences in the State are situated in this district, among
which may be noted “Wilton,” the present country-place of Thomas C. Brown. Mr. Brown was born at
Elkridge Landing, Md., where his father, an emigrant from England, had settled prior to 1760. He married
Nancy Cockey, of the well-known Baltimore County family of that name, and removed to the neighborhood
of Sykesville, in Freedom District, towards the last decade of the eighteenth century. His son William
served with distinction in the war of 1812, and was adjutant of Col. Beall Randall’s battalion when only
eighteen years of age. He participated in the battle of North Point, where he acquitted himself with credit.
William Brown married Miss Ann Waters Perry, by whom he had twelve children. He was a brother of Hon.
Elias Brown, a former Congressman of the Baltimore District, and, like his brother, an active and
prominent politician; he was a Presidential elector for Gen. Jackson in the campaign of 1824. He was born
in 1796, and died in 1836, aged sixty years. His mother, Nancy (Cockey) Brown, was an aunt of the late
Judge Mordecai Gist Cockey, who died in 1872. Thomas Cockey Brown was the third child of his parents,
and was born in Freedom District, April 5, 1822. He was raised on his father’s large estate and educated
in the neighboring schools. He was early inured to farm-work, which he thoroughly understood and at
which he continued until his twenty-sixth year.
In 1848 he went to the State of Louisiana, where he remained until 1869, as agent and general manager of
a large sugar plantation. He worked three hundred and sixty negroes and eighty other hands, averaging an
annual yield of eighteen hundred hogsheads of sugar. He returned to Maryland in 1869, and bought his
present splendid farm, “Wilton,” of Dutell and Humphreys. It consisted of 185 ? acres, and was originally
owned by the Gaither family. He erected an elegant mansion on the place, and since then has greatly
improved his farm, which is now one of the best in the county and in the highest state of cultivation. It lies
near Finksburg, and is a mile from the Western Maryland Railroad. He received the three symbolical
degrees in Masonry in 1851, in Lodge A.F. and A.M. “True Friends,” at Grand Island, in the Gulf of
Mexico. He was elected a member of the Maryland House of Delegates in 1874 from Carroll County, and
served two years in the Legislature, in which he was a zealous advocate of reform and economy in all
public expenditures of the people’s funds. Mr. Brown has ever been an active public man, and a warm
adherent of the Democratic party. He has never married. By his own industry, integrity, and prudent
management he has arisen to be one of the leading farmers and most public-spirited citizens and
business men of the county, and largely enjoys the esteem and confidence of his fellow-citizens.
The following are the public school trustees and teachers, with the number of pupils under each, for this
district in 1851:
1. Carrollton.—William Arbaugh, C.W. Brown, Isaac Green.
2. Brown’s Meeting-House.―.S.A. Martin, George Taylor, Noah Bucher.
3. Patapsco.—John H. Taylor, Edmond Koontz, David Abbott.
4. Sandy Mount.—Peter Woods, H.H. Caple, William A. Bush.
5 and 6. Finksburg.—William H. Stocksdale, G.W. Horner, Stephen B. Stocksdale.
7. Fairmount.—Nicholas Benson, Hanson Davis, D.B. Hoff.
8. Deer Park.—H.T. Smith, E.N. Davis, Henry Vardenfelt.
9. Morgan’s Run.—George Freeman, John Owings, George Caple.
10. Louisville.—Joshua Baesman, Eli T. Bennett, William Roberts.
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, Laura S. Poole, 58 pupils; 2, John W. Abbott, 57 pupils: 3, Joel Ebaugh, 53 pupils; 4, Ida F.
Fox, 40 pupils; 5, D.L. Farrar, 20 pupils; 6, Mary E. Johnson, 29 pupils; 7, N.G. Harden, 53 pupils;
8, Aquilla McGee, 46 pupils; 9, G.J. Shipley, 42 pupils; 10, M.F. Ebaugh, 43 pupils; 11,
J.C. Nutting, 48 pupils; 1 (colored school), E.H. Trusty, 23 pupils.
The justices are William Stocksdale, Nathan Gorsuch, Azariah Oursler.
The following is the vote of the district for local officers from 1851 to 1861 inclusive:
1851.—Vote for Primary School Commissioners: John W. Gorsuch 136, E.D. Paine 105, John W.
1853.—For Justices: Mordecai G. Cockey 187, Jacob Wickert 130, Abraham Lamott 149, Thomas S.
Brow 120, James Baker 12, Jesse Frizzell 23, George Ogg 130, Samuel Wilderson 67; Constables:
J.F. Gardner 154, J.M. Flater 120, Samuel Flater 73, William Stocksdale 148; Road Supervisor: John
D. Powder 176, Elijah Wooden 113, A Taylor 12.
1855.—For Justices: M.G. Cockey 228, N. Gorsuch 199, E. Woolery 184, J.D. Powder 121, S.
Wilderson 38; Constables: S. Flater 165, Jesse Magee 146, D.D. Byers 198; Road Supervisor: Lewis
Taylor 200, Amon Allgire 123.
1857.—For Justices: S.A. Lauver 188, Daniel Stull 184, L. Lamott 186, M.G. Cockey 208, Nathan
Gorsuch 206, Elijah Woolery 191; Constables: J. Shilling 178, J.H. Uhler 172, Samuel Flater 204,
D.D. Byers 204; Road Supervisor: G. Mummaugh 193, H.T. Bartholow 198.
1859.—For Justices: Joseph Poole 187, James Lockard 208, S.A. Lauver 198, M.G. Cockey 203,
Azariah Oursler 188, Nathan Gorsuch 186; Constables: William Crusey 192, Lewis Taylor 170, Jesse
Magee 203, William Gorsuch 212; Road Supervisors: Henry Taylor 203, Joseph Bromwell 214.
1861.—For Justices: William Lockard 240, M.G. Cockey 232, N. Gorsuch 213, N. Burgett 48, Azariah
Oursler 166, J.W. Steele 182, L.A.J. Lamott 187 ; Constables: P. Gorsuch 271, Jesse Magee 272, Jer.
Taylor 161, D.D. Byers 163; Road Supervisor: Peter Flater 268, John Uhler 180.
One of the best-known farmers in this district is Col. James Fenner Lee, who was born in Providence,
R.I., July 9, 1843. He is the eldest living son of Stephen S. and Sarah F. (Mallett) Lee, who removed to
Baltimore the year of his birth. In that city he was placed under the instruction of the best masters, and in
1855 sent to Europe, where he was for several years in one of the first schools of Switzerland. He
completed his collegiate studies in Paris, at the Lycée St. Louis, and after having traveled over the
continent returned to Baltimore. There he entered as a law student the office of Brown & Brune, and
before applying for admission to the bar spent a term at the Law School of Harvard University. In 1866 he
married Mrs. Albert Carroll, daughter of Hon. William George Read, and granddaughter of Col. John Eager
Howard. On this occasion his parents presented him with a farm in this district, and he decided to devote
himself to agricultural pursuits as soon as he could dispose of his law business and complete the third
volume of the “Maryland Digest,” which he had, in conjunction with his friend, Jacob I. Cohen, undertaken
to publish. Having in time accomplished this and settled upon his farm, he soon became identified with,
and earnest in the promotion of, every material interest of the county. In a short time, such was his
popularity, he was constantly chosen to represent the interests of his district in the Democratic County
Conventions, and frequently in the State councils of that party. In 1874 he was appointed by Governor
Groome one of his aide-de-camps, with the rank of colonel. He was nominated in 1875 for State senator
by the Democratic party, and elected after a most active and exciting campaign. In the Senate he was
chairman of the joint Committee on Printing, and did good service to the State by reducing the
expenditures of the same twenty thousand dollars. This position he retained in the second session of the
Legislature, in which he was equally successful in his efforts to secure economy in that department. At
the assembling of the Senate he was unanimously chosen president of the temporary organization, and
was very often called to the chair during the absence of Col. Lloyd, the permanent president. It was
mainly through the efforts of Col. Lee that the endowment of twenty-six free scholarships was obtained
from the State for the Western Maryland College at Westminster. His children are Arthur F., Sarah J.
Fenner, and Stephen Howard Lee.
FREEDOM DISTRICT, No. 5.
Freedom District, or District No. 5, of Carroll County, is bounded on the north by Woolery District, on the
east by Baltimore County, on the south by Howard County, and on the west by Franklin District. It is
intersected by Piney Run, Big and Little Morgan’s Runs, Owings’ Run, and their tributaries, and the North
and West Branches of the Patapsco form the eastern and southern boundary lines of the district
respectively. In addition to a number of turnpikes and excellent public roads, the Baltimore and Ohio
Railroad skirts the southern portion of the district, affording the most ample facilities for traffic with points
of commercial importance. Freedom District in 1880 had a population of 3154. The following are the metes
and bounds of the district as originally laid out by the commission appointed in 1837:
“Beginning at the mouth of Gillis’ Falls where it enters in the Western Falls; thence running with said falls
to its junction with the Northern Branch; thence with the Northern Branch to Beasman’s bridge; thence
with the Deer Park road to the road leading from Philip Nicodemus’s mill to the Calico House; thence with
said road at Pool’s school-house; thence to Morgan’s Run, near Thomas Beasman’s barn; thence up
Morgan’s Run to District No. 9; thence with District No. 9 to the place of beginning.”
Freedom was made the place for holding the polls. The above lines were somewhat changed by an act
passed May 3, 1853, readjusting the bounds of the Fifth, Ninth, and Fourth Districts. This is the largest
district, in the county in area, and Was the first settled. Its pioneers were mostly of English descent, with
some of Welsh and Scotch-Irish extraction. Among the first to make their homes in the district were John
Welch, Abel Brown, Robert Twis, Edward Dorsey, John Elder, Joshua Glover, Samuel Sewell, Grove
Shipley, the Littles, Mr. O’Donald, the Steeles, Dorseys, Wadlows, Scriveners, Gores, Lees, Binghams,
Ritters, Parishes, Bennetts, Gardners, Buckinghams, Enoch. Baker, Joseph Willis, John Beard,
Lindsays, and Hoods. The Shipley family, embracing several branches, was the most numerous, and is to
the present day.
The founder of the Ritter family in Maryland was Elias Ritter, who settled on the Western Shore of the
province in 1650.
He was a native of Bedingen, Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, where, it is said, he possessed an estate
covering twenty-four square miles of land, embracing three towns within its bounds. Bedingen, the main
town, was fortified, and contained the “Ritter Castle,” the walls of which were still standing in 1848. The
family furnished men and munitions to the Protestant cause during the “Thirty Years’ War,” and at the
close of that struggle was sent into exile and their property confiscated. Elias Ritter went to England
during the protectorate of Oliver Cromwell, there joined one of the expeditions sent by Lord Baltimore to
Maryland, and settled in the western part of Anne Arundel County.
At the time of the formation of Frederick County the family was located on the banks of the Monocacy
River. The names of the principal members of the family at that time were Elias, John, William, Tobias,
Michael, and Ludwig, or Lewis.
John, a son of the founder of the family, assisted William Penn in surveying the province of Pennsylvania
in 1682, for which service he received five thousand acres of land in Berks County, Pa. A descendant of
this Ritter occupied a seat in the Twenty-eighth and Twenty-ninth Congresses. William and Elias Ritter
were members of Capt. William Keeport’s company, Stricker’s battalion, Maryland line of 1776.
Tobias Ritter, another brother, was a member of the third company of Col. Armand’s Pennsylvania Legion.
Lewis Ritter, born Oct. 20, 1778, in Frederick County, Md., married Margaret Stall in 1803. This lady was
the daughter of John Stall, of Franklin County, Pa., whose wife had been made a prisoner of war by the
French and Indians after Braddock’s defeat, and taken to France, where she remained until 1770, when
she was restored to her family. The husband had been with Braddock’s army.
Jacob Ritter, born Nov. 20, 1804, near Fayetteville, Franklin Co., Pa., married, December, 1829,
Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Philip J. Neff, a soldier in the war of 1812, and eldest son of Col. Michael
Neff, a drill-officer under Washington during the American Revolution. Col. Neff served under Frederick the
Great during his “Seven Years’ War” as one of the “Light Horse” and the king’s body-guard. At the
commencement of the Revolutionary war Col. Neff resided in Tyrone township, Adams Co., Pa., where
Philip J. Neff, his eldest son, was born. At the time of the marriage of Jacob Ritter and Elizabeth Neff,
Philip J. Neff resided near Fayetteville, Franklin Co., Pa.
In 1836, Jacob Ritter was commissioned as first lieutenant of Company A, One Hundred and Fifty-fifth
Regiment of State Militia, by Governor Joseph Ritner, of Pennsylvania, and served in that capacity six
In August, 1847, he removed to Finksburg, Carroll Co., Md., and in 1850 to Eldersburg, Freedom District,
same county, where he died in 1870.
William L. Ritter, the son of Jacob Ritter, was born near Fayetteville, Franklin Co., Pa., on the 11th of
August, 1835. He began his career with only a common-school education, which by diligence and
perseverance he supplemented in after-years with all that was needed for the part he was called upon to
play in life.
At the age of twenty-two he was appointed mail-agent under the Buchanan administration, and held this
position until the breaking out of the war. When hostilities began his convictions led him to embrace the
cause of the South, and without a moment’s delay he resolved to cast his lot with the Confederate army.
Accordingly, on the 24th of October, 1861, in connection with Capt. Henry B. Latrobe and Lieuts. F.O.
Claiborne, John B. Rowan, and William P. Patton, he recruited and organized the Third Battery Maryland
Artillery. When the company was mustered into service he was appointed orderly sergeant.
Soon afterwards the battery was ordered to East Tennessee, where it remained until Gen. E. Kirby Smith
marched into Kentucky, in August, 1862, when it accompanied his army to Covington, opposite
Cincinnati, Ohio. After the army returned to Tennessee the battery was ordered to Vicksburg, Miss. Capt.
Latrobe there retired from service, and Lieut. Claiborne was placed in command. On the 17th of March,
1863, Sergt. Ritter was elected second lieutenant to fill the vacancy caused by the promotion of his
superior officer. Not long after his promotion he was sent to Gen. Ferguson’s command, on Deer Creek,
Miss., above Vicksburg, to take charge of a section of light artillery of the Third Maryland Battery, then
operating on the river in connection with a section of Capt. Bledsoe’s Missouri Artillery. Lieut. Ritter
distinguished himself during this service for bravery and skill, and when during the long siege of Vicksburg
Capt. Claiborne was killed, he was promoted to the rank of first lieutenant. In the seven days fight around
Jackson, Miss., Lieut. Moore was wounded, and Ritter took command. In the October following he
rejoined his old battery at Decatur, Ga. At the battle of Resaca, in May, 1864, he was wounded, but
refused to retire from the field. He dressed his own wound, and although urged by the battalion surgeon to
go to the hospital, kept his post, and in the absence of Capt. Rowan, withdrew the guns from one of the
most exposed positions on the line. At the siege of Atlanta, Lieut. Ritter took command of the battery,
Capt. Rowan having been called to the command of the battalion. At the death of Capt. Rowan, who was
killed at the battle of Nashville, in December, 1864, he assumed command of the battery, and worked the
guns until the enemy drove his men from the pieces at the point of the bayonet. At Columbus, Miss.,
Lieut. Ritter was promoted to captain to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Capt. Rowan, his
commission dating from the 16th of December, 1864.
He remained in active service until the troops were surrendered and paroled at Meridian, Miss., never
having taken a furlough nor spent a day in the hospital during the entire term of his service.
In February, 1866, he returned to Maryland, and on the 26th of November, 1867, married Mrs. Sarah
Howard Rowan, widow of Capt. John B. Rowan, his late companion in arms, and daughter of Col. Thomas
Howard, of Elkton, Md.
The Springfield Estate.—George Patterson was the youngest son of William Patterson, well known in
Baltimore, who was possessed of a large amount of real estate in that city. He was also the brother of
Mrs. Elizabeth Patterson, the first wife of the late Jerome Bonaparte. He took possession of his estate in
Carroll County, containing about three thousand acres of land, in 1824, and made it his home until the
time of his death, which occurred Nov. 19, 1869, in his seventy-fourth year. He was possessed of
considerable wealth, and was largely engaged in importing and raising improved stock. He was an
extensive exhibitor at the agricultural fairs held in the State before the beginning of the late war; but never
competed for premiums, taking pride only in adding to the interest of the show by the presence of his fine
animals. His immense farm was called “Springfield,” and was situated near Sykesville. He was an
esteemed citizen, and his death was lamented by a large circle of friends and acquaintances.
Springfield is one of the most admirable and complete farming establishments in Maryland. It is situated a
short distance from the Sykesville Station, on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, and contains about two
thousand acres of land, fifteen hundred of which in 1870 were under cultivation. It is furnished with a flour-
mill, saw-mill, and a comfortable country-house, with room enough for the uses of home and the claims of
a generous hospitality, with lawns, orchards, and outhouses of every description and variety. It is high,
healthy, rich, well watered and wooded.
More than forty years of Mr. Patterson’s life were spent in changing this excellent homestead from “a
naked surface, incapable almost of cultivation,” to a rich, highly-cultivated farm. “Time and grass were at
the bottom of all” his achievements in this respect. Every field has had two hundred bushels of lime to the
acre, and each “passed six years of nine in grass.” The great pasture, in full view from the front door of
the dwelling, has not been broken for many years, and being constantly pastured by the beautiful Devons,
has grown richer and richer, and grasses native and exotic strive there for the mastery.
His system of farming was first corn, manured on sod broken deeply, and yielding an average of twelve
barrels to the acre. This was followed by a crop of oats, and then two years of clover. Next a crop of
wheat, on which ammoniated phosphate was used for the purpose of ripening the crop. At the time the
wheat was sown the field was set to grass for hay, and for three years after the wheat crop was taken off
mown, and the next year grazed. Manure was applied during the last year and the sod again broken for
corn, beginning the regular nine years’ course.
Mr. Patterson raised Berkshire hogs instead of Chester, Southdown, and Shropshire sheep, and game
chickens instead of fancy fowls. His stock of horses was unsurpassed. Many Marylanders will long
remember Mr. Patterson’s stout, well-proportioned, powerful, and active horses at the State fairs.
Under the cultivation of Mr. Patterson, Springfield became the most celebrated, and was truly what he
designed it should be, the model farm of Maryland. He erected his mansion on an eminence overlooking
the farm and surrounding country. It is one hundred and seventy-five feet front by fifty feet deep. The front
has a two story porch supported by pillars. The house, which is somewhat classical in style, is unique in
its arrangements and a perfect country home. The iron and copper-mines upon this property, discovered
in 1850, were profitably worked until 1861, and more recently leased to Graff, Bennett & Co., of Pittsburg,
and Read, Stickney & Co., of Baltimore, who have begun operations with indications of valuable results.
“Springfield Farm” is distinctively noted for its Devon cattle, Mr. Patterson having made, in 1817, the first
importation of thoroughbred Devons into the United States, through his brother Robert, and as a present
from Mr. Coke, afterwards Earl of Leicester. ** The following were his importations in order, as recorded in
the “Devon Herd-Book”: Bulls, Anchises, No. 140; Eclipse, No. 191; Herod, No. 214; Norfolk, No. 266;
Chatsworth, No. 182; Dick Taylor, No. 486; the President, Nos. 639 and 904. From these most of the
Devon herds of this country are descended.
George Patterson married Prudence A. Brown, the daughter of Thomas C. and sister of Stephen T.C.
Brown, who survives him and lives in Baltimore. Their only child, Florence, married James Carroll, of
Charles. She died in 1878, much lamented. After Mrs. Carroll’s death, Mrs. Patterson and Mr. Carroll
decided to sell “Springfield” to Frank Brown, which was done in 1880. Mr. Brown inherited the estate
known as “Brown’s Inheritance” from his father, Stephen T.C. Brown. The land had been brought to the
highest state of cultivation by Mr. Brown’s father and his grandfather, Thomas C. Brown, and is one of the
best farms in the State. He combined the two farms, and has since been actively engaged in cultivating
and improving the whole estate. As consolidated, his farm now contains two thousand five hundred acres,
and is not surpassed in point of cultivation by any in the State. Mr. Brown has not only maintained the
reputation of Devon cattle, but has even improved it.
It will be seen that these two farms have been blended together from their origin in the close alliance of
the families of their respective owners.
Frank Brown, proprietor of the one farm by inheritance and of the other by purchase, is the only son and
heir of the late Stephen T.C. and Susan Bennett Brown. He was born Aug. 8, 1846, on “Brown’s
Inheritance.” The ancestor of the family in this country was Abel Brown, who emigrated from Dumfries,
Scotland, to near Annapolis, Md., in 1730; he removed later to this part of Carroll (then Baltimore County),
and purchased a large tract of land adjoining Springfield. This he brought to a high state of cultivation; it
came into the possession of Elias Brown, Sr., who erected a stone saw and flour-mill, the corner-stone of
which bears the date of 1798. He was a prominent citizen, and actively participated in civil affairs. He had
four sons,—Thomas Cockey, Elias, Jr., William, and Stephen,—all of whom served in the war of 1812.
Elias Brown, Jr., became prominent in the State, was a member of the United States Congress, and a
Democratic Presidential elector a number of times. Thomas C. Brown inherited the estate, a division of
which having been made, William Patterson, of Baltimore (the distinguished merchant and citizen, one of
the organizers of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, the father of Robert, George, Joseph, Edward, Henry,
and Elizabeth Patterson,—Madame Bonaparte), purchased a portion which contributed largely to make up
his “Springfield” estate. Thomas C. Brown married Susan Snowden, a descendant of Baptiste Snowden,
of St. Mary’s County, Md., who had removed to the vicinity on a farm which he called Branton, on which
he built a house of cut straw and clay, still standing in a good state of preservation. Col. Francis
Snowden, the son of Baptiste, married Miss Miles, of St. Mary’s, and these are the maternal great-
grandparents of the subject of this sketch. The children of Thomas C. Brown were Lewis, Prudence A.,
the widow of George Patterson, and Stephen T.C., the father of Frank Brown.
Stephen T.C. was born in 1820, reared on the “Inheritance,” and in 1842 married Susan Bennett; was a
member of the State Legislature, one of the original subscribers to the Maryland Agricultural College, a
most useful citizen, a representative man and agriculturist of the country. He was an official and leading
member of the Springfield Presbyterian Church, which was established and supported by him and George
Patterson, and whose edifice and parsonage were erected by their combined efforts. Mr. Brown was a
man of decided character, strong convictions, benevolent spirit and works, Christian consistency and
activity, and universally esteemed. He died in December, 1876.
Frank Brown is the only son of the last mentioned. At the age of eighteen his father gave him a farm, well
stocked and furnished, adjoining the homestead, which he successfully managed for several years. He
entered the agricultural implement and seed-house of B. Sinclair & Co., of Baltimore, where he received
valuable training, of practical use in his after-years. He was later placed in charge of the Patterson
estates in Baltimore, which he managed to the satisfaction of the heirs. He was subsequently appointed
by Governor Bowie to a responsible place in one of the State tobacco warehouses, which position he held
for six years. In 1875 he was elected to the House of Delegates, Maryland Assembly, and in 1878
reelected. His success was a gratifying proof of the public confidence in him. At the close of his second
term he withdrew from political affairs, the care of “Springfield” and the Patterson interests having
devolved upon him after his father’s death, who for six years subsequent to George Patterson’s demise
had the management of them. This was a task requiring the exercise of financial wisdom and good
executive ability, but Mr. Frank Brown has been equal to these great responsibilities. Naturally endowed
with business capacity, his early experience fitted him for the management of his trusts. Like his father,
he, too, takes a lively interest in the affairs of the county and his vicinity, and in many respects supplies
his place. He was elected a trustee of Springfield Presbyterian Church, to fill the vacancy caused by his
father’s death. He was also made trustee under Mrs. James Carroll’s (née Florence Patterson) will, for her
legacy to the church of five thousand dollars. He is one of the executive committee of the Maryland State
Agricultural Association, and a director of the Maryland Live-Stock Breeders’ Association. At the late
tenth annual meeting of the Maryland Agricultural and Mechanical Association, held Oct. 27, 1881, he
was elected its president.
Mr. F. Brown married (December, 1879) Mary R. Preston, née Miss Ridgely, daughter of David Ridgely, of
Baltimore. They reside on the farm during summer and in Baltimore during the winter.
Below is given a list of persons in Freedom District in 1879 who had reached the age of eighty years. The
names of twenty-two persons are given, whose ages amount to 1881 years; or an average of eighty-five
and a half years:
Mrs. Jane C. Smith, 83; Joshua Hipsley, 81; Mrs. Rebecca Hiltabidle, 84; Daniel Gassaway (colored),
85; Mrs. P. Wilson, 84; Samuel Jordan, 84; Mrs. E. Ware, 83; Nathaniel Richardson, 86; Jacob Beem,
86; Rev. Dr. Piggot, 84; J. Linton, 83; Mrs. Matilda Phillips, 84; George Haywrath, 82; Nathan Porter,
85; Mrs. Susanna Warfield, 83; Sebastian Bowers, Sr., 86; Ruth Shipley, 99; James Morgan, 85; Ruth
Frizzle, 94; P. Diens (colored), 90; Kate Philips, 85; Susan Dixon (colored), 85.
Defiance, a small village, is situated on the western edge of the district. Horace L. Shipley here has a
store, formerly kept by his father, Larkin Shipley, a son of John Shipley, one of the oldest settlers.
St. Stephen’s Lodge, No. 95, I.O.O.F., located at Defiance, was instituted in May, 1857. Its charter
members were Jesse Leatherwood, Larkin Shipley, Dr. Francis J. Crawford, Abraham Greenwood,
Hanson Leatherwood. Its first officers were:
N.G., Jesse Leatherwood; V.G., Larkin Shipley; Sec., Dr. F. J. Crawford; Treas., Hanson Leatherwood.
Its present officers (second term, 1881) are:
N.G., John W. Pickett; V.G., F.L. Criswell; Sec., Augustus Brown; Per. Sec., Thomas L. Shipley;
Treas., C.R. Pickett; Con., T.N. Shipley; Chapl., Dr. D.F. Shipley; Marshal, A. Brown; Warden, David
H. Haines; Dist. Dep., Horace L. Shipley.
Its neat frame hall, forty-four by twenty-two feet, was built in 1880. The trustees are John H. Conoway,
William H. Pickett, F.L. Criswell. Number of members, seventy.
Bethesda Methodist Episcopal church is situated north of the hamlet of “Pleasant Gap.” It is a
substantial brick structure, erected in 1880. Immediately in its rear is the old log church, in which
services were held from 1810, the date of its erection, until the completion of the new church in 1880.
The graveyard adjoining contains the following interments:
Ruth, wife of James Parish, died July 24, 1875, aged 60.
Vachel Buckingham, died Sept. 4, 1866, aged 76; and his wife, Eleanor, Feb. 8, 1871, aged 71.
Prudence A. Lindsay, died Jan. 3, 1879, aged 63; John A. Lindsay, died Jan. 10, 1877, aged 64.
Eliza J., wife of Andrew Wheeler, died Jan. 5, 1878, aged 19.
Henry S. Buckingham, died March 26, 1872, aged 43.
Ellen Nora Elizabeth, wife of Richard M. Chenoweth, died Nov. 13, 1863, aged 22.
Ann, wife of Joseph Willis, died Sept. 7, 1865, aged 88.
Elizabeth, wife of Grove Shipley, born Sept. 11, 1776, and died July 8, 1854; and her husband,
born April 4, 1776, died Oct. 20, 1849.
Louisa, wife of Grove Shipley, Jr., died June 21, 1846, aged 42.
James Parish, born April 15, 1773, died March 29, 1853.
Kiturah Parish, died June 1, 1848, aged 76.
Thomas Barnes, died Feb. 29, 1860, aged 43.
Array Parish, wife of Moses Parish, and daughter of Richard and Array Condon, died Nov. 29,
1861, aged 62. Moses Parish, born Sept. 6, 1795, died April 27, 1862; and his wife, Micha,
daughter of Grove and Elizabeth Shipley, died Sept. 21, 1839, aged 43.
Nicholas Shipley, born Jan. 28, 1805, died Jan. 15, 1837.
Sarah Shipley, born Nov. 20, 1797, died Jan. 22, 1873.
Sarah, wife of William A. Gibson, died March 12, 1873, aged 39.
William Baker, born April 27, 1806, died July 20, 1876.
Enoch Baker, died June 27, 1864, aged 97; and Mary, his wife, July 8, 1863, aged 87.
Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Hughes, died May 1, 1854, aged 31.
Hannah, wife of Reese Brown, born Sept. 19, 1789, died Sept. 29, 1864.
John Beard, born Aug. 24, 1789, died Aug. 28, 1859.
James W. Parish, died June 13, 1871, aged 50.
Elizabeth, wife of John W. Parish, born March 25, 1830, died April 24, 1878.
The Methodist Protestant church, built about 1840, is just south of “Pleasant Gap.” It is a frame structure,
originally built of logs, and then weather-boarded. It has one gallery, and is two stories high. In the
graveyard adjoining are only a few graves, among which is that of Abraham, son of Nicholas and Mary J.
Wilson, born April 12, 1867, died Jan. 2, 1872. Most of them have no tombstones.
Nathan Manro was born in the State of Rhode Island, Sept. 29, 1730, and was married, Nov. 21, 1750, to
Miss Hannah Allen, of that State. She was born April 14, 1733. Their children were Hannah, Sarah,
Elizabeth, Squire, Lydia, Nathan, Mary, Jonathan, David, Allen, and Thomas. Of these, Jonathan, the
eighth child, was born Nov. 28, 1766, and came to Maryland from near Providence, R.I., with his brother
Nathan, who died in 1827. Jonathan settled in Baltimore, and became a rich and prosperous merchant. He
owned several ships that were engaged in the London and West India trade. He was married, Jan. 15,
1795, to Sarah Conner, daughter of James Conner, and died Jan. 22, 1848. They had thirteen children, of
whom two survive, Mrs. Dr. Turnbull, of Baltimore, and Judge George W. Manro. The latter was born in
Baltimore, March 22, 1810, and was liberally educated in the schools of that city. He followed the high
seas for ten years on merchant vessels owned by his father, and served as second mate under Capt.
James Beard. Before he quit the seas he had command of the ship “Ocean,” owned by the Osgoods. In
1837 he removed to the farm on which he now resides, and which was a part of the lands purchased at an
early date by his mother’s father, James Conner. Mr. Conner owned six hundred and three acres, made
up of tracts surveyed and patented to Samuel Sewell and Joshua Glover. One of these, “Buck’s Park,”
was surveyed for Samuel Sewell, April 16, 1759, for fifty acres. Another, “Sewell’s Park,” of twenty acres,
was surveyed March 17, 1745, and another, of one hundred and twenty-one acres, “Buck’s Park,” at
another date. “William’s Neglect,” of thirteen and three-fourths acres, was surveyed for Joshua Glover,
Dec. 9, 1795. Judge Manro was married, Oct. 26, 1837, to Elizabeth Kelly, daughter of William and
Martha (Loveall) Kelly, by Rev. Samuel Gore. Her brother, Nicholas Kelly, was the first sheriff of Carroll
County. Judge Manro was one of the first magistrates appointed in the new county of Carroll, and held
this office for a long term of years. He was appointed one of the judges of the Orphans’ Court in 1848, and
served three years, and was elected in 1851 for the term of four years, according to the provisions of the
new constitution adopted that year. He was elected in 1867 one of the six members from this county to
the Constitutional Convention, and aided in framing the organic law under which Maryland is now
governed. In 1868 he was appointed by Governor Oden Bowie inspector of tobacco, which position he
held several years. At present he is collector of taxes. Both on the bench and in all other public positions
held by Judge Manro, his administration of affairs has been characterized by the ability, purity, and
suavity of manner that has ever distinguished his life, and has made him a popular and valued public
servant. He is a zealous member of the Masonic order, in which, over thirty years ago, he received its
first three degrees. He has been a lifelong Democrat, devoted to the interests of his party, to which, under
all vicissitudes, he has strongly adhered, and to whose counsels he ever gave his voice, and for the
success of which his vote was always freely given. He is connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church
South at Freedom, in the erection of whose church edifice in 1868 he liberally contributed, and was
chairman of its building committee. The judge resides on his splendid farm of three hundred and one
acres, located a mile north of Eldersburg, where he and his accomplished lady dispense old-fashioned
Maryland hospitality. The name of his estate is “Buck’s Park,” called after two of the original surveys
made of the grant.
Freedom.—The village of Freedom is four miles from Sykesville, and adjacent to Morgan’s Run and Piney
Falls. It is situated on land belonging to Mr. O’Donald, a very large landed proprietor in this district at
an early date. O’Donald, in laying out the village, gave the alternate lots to those who purchased lots,
and his liberality and freedom in his transactions gave the name to the village, and when the district was
organized, in 1837, it took its name from the village, which was founded shortly after the Revolution. The
residence of Dr. Joseph W. Steele, a log structure weather-boarded, was built about 1769, and during the
Revolution and until a few years ago was occupied as a tavern. John Little kept it for many years. The
village is on the old Liberty road, built in olden times by convicts, but before its construction there was
an older road, which ran back of Dr. Steele’s residence (the old tavern). The Berret family is an old one
in this region, and its first head here was a Hayti refugee, who married a daughter of O’Donald, the great
land-owner. Mary E. Wadlow is postmistress, and J. Wadlow & Sons, merchants. J. Oliver Wadlow, the
popular and efficient register of wills of Carroll County, resides here.
The physician of the town is Dr. Joseph W. Steele, who has been engaged in the practice of his
profession at this point since 1856. He was born near the village, March 6, 1831 (also the day of the birth
of J. Oliver Wadlow), and is, on his father’s side, of Irish extraction. His grandfather was John Steele, who
taught school and kept store at an early date a few miles distant (now in Franklin District). John Steele
met for the first time his future wife, Mary Hays, during the Revolution, at the tavern in Freedom at a
social party. The doctor’s grandmother on his maternal side was a Gore, one of the oldest settlers, and
his wife was Margaret J. Smith, a descendant of the earliest settlers of Baltimore Town. Where the village
stands the only house for many years was the old tavern, whose high mantels and unique hand-carving
betoken its great age. Dr. Nathan Browne, who lived near here and died in 1873, was a celebrated
physician. He was born on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and was distinguished for his philanthropy. He
never married, and lived with his beloved nieces. He was a State senator from 1867 to 1871, and held
other positions of great trust. He practiced here forty-five years.
Dr. W.M. Hines resides just west of the village. Dr. Hines has steadily practiced medicine in Carroll
County since 1846, save for a period of three years, and it may therefore be easily understood that he is
pretty well known all over the county as well as in adjacent sections. He was born July 23, 1825, in the
town of Liberty, Frederick County. There also his father, David, was born. David Hines was educated at
Georgetown, D.C., and passed a busy life as farmer and merchant. He owned and farmed in early life the
valuable tract known as “Glade Garden.” As a merchant he was prominent in Liberty, Frederick, and
Baltimore, in which latter city he ended his days. His wife was Jane C., daughter of Samuel Marshall. His
father, Philip Hines, served with considerable distinction in the war of the Revolution. The living sons and
daughters of David Hines are Mrs. Augustus Webster and Mrs. Ignatius Gore, of Baltimore, and Dr.
Hines, of Carroll County. Dr. Hines passed his early youth at Glade Garden farm, and at the age of fifteen
was sent to Dickinson College, at Carlisle. At the end of four years of study he occupied a place in the
junior class, from which he was forced to retire by reason of ill health. A brief rest recuperated his
energies, and in 1844 he began the study of medicine under Dr. Nathan R. Smith, one of Baltimore’s most
distinguished surgeons. Young Hines attended lectures at the University of Maryland, and graduated at
that institution in March, 1846. Very soon thereafter he located in Carroll County, near his present home,
and gave himself with such energy and vigorous determination to the practice of his profession that he
found himself in due time in active demand in all the country roundabout. His field was a large one, and
his calls so numerous that for a time in his early experience he almost literally lived in the saddle. For
period of three years he was connected with the United States custom-house at Baltimore, and for three
months during the war of 1861-65 was a surgeon in the Federal army, with his station at Convent Hospital,
Baltimore. Excepting these absences Dr. Hines has been regularly, in season and out of season, one of
Carroll County’s leading physicians, and now, after a practice of thirty six years, is hale, hearty, and
vigorous, and still rides a large circuit and attends upon his numerous patients with wellnigh as much
briskness and ambitious spirit as marked the younger portions of his career. Like his father before him, he
was an Old-Line Whig. Later he became and remains a Republican. Although alive to the progress of
political events and deeply interested therein, he has steadily from the outset of his manhood’s
experience held consistently aloof from the business of office-seeking or office-holding. In 1855 he
married Frances H., daughter of Rev. Augustus Webster, of Baltimore. Mrs. Hines died Oct. 3, 1877.
There are three living children, two of them being sons, Augustus W. and William M.
Freedom Lodge, A.F. and A.M., No. 112, was chartered in 1862, with the following charter members:
W.M., Warren N. Little; S.W., Dr. Joseph W. Steele; J.W., Nicholas L. Rogers; Sec., J. Oliver Wadlow;
Treas., John Deckabaugh.
The lodge built its hall before obtaining its charter. It is a two-story frame building, twenty-four by
forty-five feet, the lower part being used for a public school. Of the fourteen charter members the
following are living: John Deckabaugh, Thomas Paynter, Lewis Ohler, J. Oliver Wadlow, Dr. J.W.
Steele, John L. Nicholas, and Robert Clark. Its Worshipful Masters have been John Deckabaugh,
J. Oliver Wadlow, Dr. J.W. Steele, Lewis Ohler, and Warren N. Little.
Officers for 1881:
W.M., John Deckabaugh; S.W., Thomas Paynter; J.W., Samuel W. Barnet; Sec., Dr. J.W. Steele;
Treas., J. Oliver Wadlow.
It numbers forty-seven Master Masons, two Fellow Crafts, and one Entered Apprentice. Dr. J.W.
Steele has served as Grand Standard Bearer in the Grand Lodge. At a single festival this lodge took
in fourteen hundred dollars, which cleared it of all debts, and left a surplus for charitable purposes.
The Methodist Episcopal church, built in 1822, is between Freedom and Eldersburg. It is a
handsome edifice, displaying considerable architectural taste.
In its cemetery are the graves of the following persons:
Nicholas Dorsey, died Sept. 9, 1876, aged 60.
Elizabeth Dorsey, died March 2, 1881, aged 76.
Samuel Bingham, died Aug. 17, 1876, aged 66.
Ruth Bingham, died Aug. 27, 1880, aged 72.
Caroline Brown, born April 15, 1815, died July 17, 1878.
Jesse W. Brandenburg, born Dec. 19, 1838, died Jan. 9, 1879.
Caroline, wife of William Cooley, died March 3, 1877, aged 49.
Sarah, wife of David Slack, died Feb. 20, 1878, aged 91.
Rebecca, wife of William D. Frizzell, born March 17, 1829, died Feb. 25, 1866; and her husband,
born March 7, 1829, died March 24, 1875.
John Frizzell, died March 31, 1870, aged 69.
John Wadlow, died Sept. 10, 1854, aged 50; and Jemima, his wife, April 8, 1872, aged 67.
Anna Maria Shipley, born Feb. 27, 1775, died Jan. 15, 1857.
Frances Hollis, wife of Dr. William M. Hines, died Oct. 3, 1877.
Achsa, wife of William Scrivenor, died April 8, 1872, aged 82.
Israel Frizzell, born March 23, 1807, died Aug. 6, 1876.
Stephen R. Gore, born April 1, 1818, died Feb. 25, 1872.
Jabez Gore, died Jan. 7, 1851, aged 39.
Rev. Samuel Gore, died Sept. 4, 1858, aged 75 (a local preacher of Methodist Episcopal
Church for 50 years); and Theresa, his wife, born Nov. 20, 1789, died Feb. 29, 1864.
Nathan Clark, died Sept. 22, 1852, aged 68.
Joseph Steele, died Aug. 25, 1855, aged 61; and his wife Charlotte, April 22, 1857, aged 58.
John T. Steele (a Freemason), died Aug. 9, 1863, aged 42.
Cecilia, wife of William Beam, and third daughter of Matthew and Catharine Chambers, born
Jan. 24, 1806, died Dec. 18, 1870.
Matthew Chambers, died Aug. 15, 1825, aged 52.
Col. Peter Little, died Feb. 5, 1830, aged 54; and his wife, Catharine, July 18, 1867, aged 79.
Sophia Levely, died Sept. 17, 1845, aged 53.
Warren Little (a Freemason), born Feb. 29, 1811, died Feb. 21, 1863.
John Little, died Sept. 5, 1853, aged 80.
Mrs. Catharine Steele, eldest daughter of John and Anna Little, died April 11, 1865, aged 55.
David Little, died Aug. 23, 1857, aged 62.
George Clift, died Feb. 9, 1852, aged 75.
Elizabeth Clift, died Dec. 30, 1858, aged 94.
Elizabeth Hines, died May 3, 1867, aged 68.
Hannah Lindsey, died Aug. 31, 1862, aged 74.
Joshua Lee, died March 4, 1871, aged 88; and his wife, Susannah, Nov. 21, 1869, aged 83.
Jesse Lee, died March 23, 1866, aged 68.
Thomas Lucy, died July 16, 1853, aged 92.
Margaret, wife of John Elder, born Jan. 10, 1774, died May 8, 1849.
Thomas Bingham, died May 5, 1854, aged 80.
Mary, wife of John Twemmy, born Aug. 9, 1812, died Jan. 21, 1855.
Julia, wife of William C. Lindsay, died Aug. 6, 1874, aged 49.
Honor Lee, wife of Thomas Lee, died June 30, 1853, aged 64; and her husband, Nov. 5, 1851,
Larkin Fisher, died Feb. 21, 1876, aged 71.
The corner-stone of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, a handsome brick structure,
lying between Freedom and Eldersburg, was laid April 13, 1868, when Rev. Wm. Etchison
was pastor. Judge George W. Manro was chairman of the building committee. Its present
pastors are Revs. Watters and Martin.
In the churchyard are buried the following persons:
John W. Brown, born Oct. 9, 1811, and died March 7, 1877.
Jemima E., wife of John G. Pearce, born Sept. 14, 1827, died Jan. 12, 1875.
Their son, Elias J., born Feb. 2, 1856, died Aug. 23, 1876.
Jacob Ritter, born Nov. 20, 1804, died Dec. 26, 1870,—descendant of the earliest Ritter of
1650,—and Elizabeth, his wife, born Feb. 17, 1806, died March 23, 1879.
Juliet Welsh, wife of Luther Welsh, died June 1, 1869, aged 63.
Ruth, wife of Freeborn Gardner, died March 29, 1870, aged 62.
Elizabeth, wife of Samuel W. Barnett, died July 7, 1871, aged 44.
Cornelius Shipley, died Feb. 3, 1862, aged 61.
Eldersburg.—The town of Eldersburg, three and a half miles from Sykesville and thirty-two from
Baltimore, was named in honor of John Elder, who laid it out before 1800, and who was an early settler,
owning large tracts of land in the vicinity. It has a lodge of I.O. Good Templars, and Grange No. 139 of
Patrons of Husbandry, of which N.D. Norris is Master, and George M. Prugh, secretary. Among the
business men of the town are T.A. Barnes, postmaster and merchant; Dr. H.C. Shipley, physician; L.H.W.
Selby, undertaker; J. & L.H. Selby, millers; and J. Collins, shoemaker.
Holy Trinity Parish, Protestant Episcopal Church, originated on March 8, 1771, when John Welch entered
into a bond in the penal sum of two hundred pounds, English sterling, to convey to Abel Brown, Robert
Twis, Edward Dorsey, and John Elder two acres of land, provided the said persons would build a
“Chappell of Ease” for the benefit of “Delaware Hundred,” the name of their election district. The church
was built (a stone structure), and became a part of St. Thomas’ Parish, Baltimore County. In the lapse of
time the congregation thinned out, Episcopal services were no longer held, and the Baptists for some
years occupied the edifice. After a time the Baptists were unable to maintain their congregation, and the
building was not used for religious services, but became the abode of cattle and horses.
On June 1, 1843, Holy Trinity Parish was formed out of St. Thomas’, and this ancient building repaired,
rebuilt, and refurnished, and on Oct. 31, 1843, consecrated anew. The vestrymen then chosen were
George F. Warfield, Wm. H. Warfield, James Sykes, Jesse Hollingsworth, George W. Manro, John
Colhoon, Nicholas Dorsey, and Warner W. Warfield, and the Register, Washington L. Bromley. Its pastors
and rectors have been:
1843-47, Rev. D. Hillhouse Buell; 1847, Rev. Wm. E. Snowden; 1848-51, Rev. S. Chalmers Davis;
1851-69, Rev. Thomas J. Wyatt; 1869, Rev. J. Worrall Larmour; Dec. 6, 1869, Rev. Robert Pigott,
D.D., present rector.
The officers for 1881 were: Vestrymen, L.W.W. Selby, Dr. C.C. Moorehead, Thomas B. Jones,
Capt. J.W. Bennett, John Grimes, W.B. Shipley, A. Voorhees, John Barnes, Sr., Wm. P. Grimes,
and George W. Holmes; Wardens, George W. Holmes, John Grimes; Register, Charles R. Favour, Esq.
In the churchyard the following persons are buried:
Kate, wife of Z. Hollingsworth, died Sept. 21, 1858.
Their son, Zebulon, died April 3, 1861, aged 34.
Elizabeth, wife of Edward Ireland, Jr., died Jan. 19, 1862, aged 32.
Emma E. Lucy, died Nov. 14, 1861, aged 41.
Barbara, daughter of Andrew and Martha Fite, born July 16, 1831, died April 7, 1865.
Jesse Hollingsworth, born March 19, 1800, died April 8,1872.
Anna Baker, daughter of Jesse and Sophia Hollingsworth, born April 21, 1829, died April 10, 1870.
George Fraser Warfield, born March 20, 1769, died Dec. 11, 1849; and his wife Rebecca
(daughter of Abel Brown), born Dec. 24, 1774, died March 4, 1852.
William Warfield, born Aug. 3, 1807, died March 26, 1857.
Augustus Edward Dorsey, died Dec. 9, 1869, aged 60.
James Soper, died Oct. 10, 1811, aged 45.
Springfield Presbyterian church, a fine three-story structure, was erected in 1836 by George Patterson
and Stephen T.C. Brown. A few years later the parsonage, adjoining, was built. The building has been
used both as a church and school. The school was incorporated as “Springfield Academy” by an act of
the Legislature passed Jan. 6, 1838. The first trustees designated in this act were Dr. Hawes
Goldsborough, Dr. R.D. Hewitt, Dr. Nathan Browne, Eli Hewitt, Nathan Gorsuch, Joseph Steele, and
Cornelius Shipley. The last pastor of the church was Rev. Charles Beach, who had charge of the
academy now conducted by his daughters. The present trustees of the academy are Frank Brown, Wm.
C. Polk, Lewis Shultz, Richard J. Baker, Joliner Wadlow, J.O. Devries, Joshua D. Warfield, P.W. Webb,
and Robert C. McKinney. Miss Florence Patterson, who died in 1878, left to the church and academy a
bequest of five thousand dollars, which is held by Frank Brown in trust for the interests of the church.
In the graveyard in the rear of the church and academy the following persons are buried:
George Devries, over whom there is erected an elegant Scotch granite monument with simply his name.
Sarah L., his wife, died Aug. 26, 1877.
Stephen T.C. Brown, born Nov. 12, 1820, died Dec. 6, 1876.
Mary, daughter of Stephen T.C. and Susan A. Brown, born Aug. 29, 1843, died May 30, 1863.
Susan, wife of Thomas C. Brown, born Feb. 1, 1791, died Sept. 19, 1861.
Florence, wife of James Carroll, and daughter of George and Prudence A. Patterson, born
June 13, 1847, died Oct. 15, 1878 (resting on her breast was the body of her infant son).
George Patterson, born Aug. 26, 1796, died Nov. 26, 1869.
George, son of George and Prudence A. Patterson, born Sept 9, 1844, died Dec. 21, 1849.
Eli Hewitt, died April 10, 1868, aged 62; and Ann B., his wife, Jan. 18, 1859, aged 52.
Susanna, wife of John L. Nicholas, died July 14, 1862 aged 38.
Nicholas Harry, born in parish Tywardreath, County Cornwall, England, May, 1809, died Feb. 5, 1862.
Catharine Buckingham, died Nov. 1, 1875, aged 71.
Augustus Smith, died June 15, 1862, aged 42.
Jane, wife of Henry Nicholas, died Aug. 25, 1858, aged 37.
Sykesville is on the Baltimore and Ohio Rai1road, thirty-two miles from Baltimore, and by turnpike twenty-
two, and seventeen from Westminster. It is pleasantly located on the West Branch of the Patapsco River,
which supplies abundance of water for milling and other purposes. It is a flourishing town, and a large
business is done here in lumber, lime, coal, fertilizers, and general merchandise. It has become a favorite
resort for the families of Baltimoreans, many of whom board at the farm-houses in the neighborhood
during the summer. The town was named after James Sykes, son of John Sykes, a famous Baltimore
merchant. He came here in 1825, and bought a thousand acres of land in different tracts, including the
site of the town, on which at that time the only building was a saw- and grist-mill. He replaced the old mill
by a new and substantial structure in 1830-31, and erected a five-story stone hotel to meet the
requirements of the railroad then built to this place, and for a summer resort. It was fifty by seventy-four
feet in dimensions, and the finest hotel in Maryland outside of Baltimore at that date. In 1837, when John
Grimes (the present hotel-keeper) came here, there were but four or five houses, and John Garrett kept
the big hotel. In 1845, Mr. Sykes enlarged his stone mill, and converted it into the “Howard Cotton-
Factory,” and also built large houses for his operatives. He carried it on until 1857, employing over two
hundred hands, when the monetary crisis caused his suspension. This factory has not been in operation
since, except for a short time, when run by L.A. Purennet and Miller for a year or so, and for a brief period
during the war by James A. Gary on certain lines of manufactured goods. Mr. Sykes died in the spring of
1881, universally esteemed and respected. The oldest house standing is a log hut occupied by George
Collins. The first house built on the site of the town was carried off by the flood of 1868, which did
immense damage, sweeping away many buildings, including the large hotel then kept by John Grimes,
and the store of Zimmerman & Shultz. This firm lost all their goods, and also their iron safe with its
contents of money, books, etc. The safe was never found. The first physician to settle here was Dr. Array
Owings in 1846. J.M. Zimmerman is postmaster, railroad and express agent, and Dr. C.C. Moorhead, the
physician of the neighborhood. Messrs. Zimmerman & Shultz, merchants, came here from Frederick in
1858, and have built up an immense trade, having been very successful in business. After being washed
out by the great freshet in 1868 they built another fine stone house across the street and opposite their
old place of business. John McDonald & Co. erected their elegant stone store in 1865, and have an
extensive trade. Samuel R. Duvall has just completed a large building, where he carries on a big business
in agricultural implements, hardware, etc. Messrs. Zimmerman & Shultz own the mill property and factory
formerly belonging to Mr. Sykes. All these houses, together with the Methodist Episcopal and Episcopal
churches, are on the Howard County side of the river. E.M. Mellor is also engaged in the merchandise
business. When Mr. Sykes came to this spot in 1825 there were only three houses or buildings, including
the mill, but to-day the population is over four hundred.
The Methodist Episcopal church, a handsome stone edifice, was erected in 1878 on a very high eminence
overlooking the town. It has stained windows and a well-toned bell. It was built under the pastorate of Rev.
C.W. Baldwin, who was in charge from 1878 to 1879. His successor, Rev. T.M. West, remained from
1879 to 1881, when the present incumbent, Rev. A.J. Gill, entered upon the discharge of his duties as
pastor. The Sunday-school superintendent is J.E. Gaither.
Previous to the erection of the church building in 1878 the congregation held its services in a large frame
building opposite the cotton-factory.
St. Joseph’s Catholic church, a handsome structure, is near the depot, and on a beautiful site. It was
begun before the war, and completed in 1867. Its pastor is Father Loague, of Woodstock College, and the
congregation is large and zealous.
The Protestant Episcopal church in Holy Trinity Parish was built in 1850, on June 11th of which year the
corner-stone was laid. Its rector then was Rev. S. Chalmers Davis, who, in 1851, was succeeded by Rev.
Thomas J. Wyatt, who continued to 1869, during which year Rev. J. Worrall Larmour officiated a few
months. The present rector, the learned and venerable Robert Pigot, D.D., came to the parish Dec. 6,
1869. The church edifice is a substantial stone structure of imposing architecture, and located on the
Howard County side, with a fine view of the whole town. The list of its officers is given above, being the
same as those in charge of the Eldersburg Church, which with this forms Holy Trinity Parish, made out of
St. Thomas’ in 1843. Its rector, Rev. Dr. Pigot, was born May 20, 1795, in New York City. His father was
a native of Chester, England, came to America a soldier in the king’s army, and was present, Sept. 13,
1759, at the battle of Quebec, under Gen. Wolfe, where he witnessed that famous commander’s victory
and death. He located after the close of the French and Indian war in New York City, where before and
after the Revolution he was a successful school-teacher. During the French and Indian war he was one of
the secretaries of Lord Amherst, the commander of all the king’s forces in America.
The doctor’s family was founded in England by Pigot, Baron of Boorne, in Normandy, one of the forty
knights who accompanied William the Conqueror. An elder branch settled at Chetwynd Park and
Edgemont, in Shropshire, where it yet continues, another possessed Doddeshall Park, in Bucks, and the
third removedto Ireland. Its arms were―sanguine—three pickaxes—argent crest—a greyhound, passant,
sable; mottoes, labore et virtute, and conanti debitum; seats, Archer Lodge, Sherfield upon Lodden Hants,
and Banbury, Oxfordshire. On the maternal line, Dr. Pigot is descended from Cerdic, a Saxon prince, who
invaded England 495 and 519 B.C. He was brought up in the church, and ordained Nov. 23, 1823, by
Bishop White. He came to Maryland from Pennsylvania in 1837, and was made rector of North Sassafras,
Cecil Co. In 1840 he became rector of Grace Church, Elkridge Landing, and Ellicott Chapel, Anne Arundel
County. In 1842 he was chosen principal of Darlington Academy, and in 1844, missionary and rector of
Redemption Church, in Baltimore, to which, in 1845, was added Cranmer Chapel. In 1847 he was made
professor in Newton University of Baltimore, in 1850 was city missionary. In 1855 he was an assistant in
the University of Maryland, and chancellor of the Protestant University. His first rectorship was St.
Mark’s, Lewistown, Pa., from 1825 to 1828. In 1869 he came to Holy Trinity Parish, and on March 30,
1870, his house burned down, and he lost by the fire the church register, all his literary labors for fifty-
three years, and all his sermons for
forty-seven. This venerable divine is one of the oldest Freemasons in America, having received the three
first degrees in Masonry in 1824. Since then he has taken all the degrees to and including the thirty-
second. He belongs to the Maryland Commandery, No. 1, of Baltimore, from which he was the recipient of
a splendid sword, presented to him as a Sir Knight. A handsome Masonic medal, bearing date of his
initiation into the order (1824), was also presented to him, with the Latin inscription, “Tolle crucem et
coronam.” He has repeatedly, and for many years, served as chaplain in various Masonic organizations
and bodies, both in Pennsylvania and Maryland.
Another noted family connected with Holy Trinity Parish since its establishment in 1843 is that of the
Warfields. Richard Warfield, a native of Wales, came to this country in 1638, and pitched his tent nine
miles from Annapolis, Md., at a place now known as the “Black Horse Tavern.” His second son was
Alexander, whose third son was Hazel Warfield. The latter was twice married. By his first wife were born
Henry Warfield, a member of Congress, Dr. Charles Alexander Warfield, Dr. Peregrine Warfield, Dr.
Gustavus Warfield; and by his second wife, George Frazer Warfield and Sally Waters, of Tennessee,
whose daughter married Dr. Robinson, who was the father of the wife of Judge Henning, of New Orleans,
whose daughter married Gen. Hood, of the Confederate army. Dr. Charles A. Warfield was a stanch patriot
(as were all the Warfields) in the Revolution, and was a lieutenant in the Continental army. He was with
the party which boarded the British vessel “Peggy Stewart” and burned her with her cargo of tea at
Annapolis. George Frazer Warfield was born March 20, 1769, in Baltimore, and became a noted merchant
of that city. In 1834 he removed to his country-seat, “Groveland,” in the vicinity of Sykesville, where he
died Dec. 11, 1869. His wife was Rebecca Brown, daughter of Abel Brown, and a sister of
ex-Congressman Elias Brown. She was born near Sykesville, Dec. 24, 1774, and died March 4, 1852. The
Warfield family was largely instrumental in creating the parish of Holy Trinity, rebuilding the church edifice
at Eldersburg, and building the one at Sykesville, and three of its members, William H., George F., and
Warner W., were members of the first vestry in 1843. George Frazer Warfield’s children were Lewis,
George F., Warner W., William H. (of United States army), Susanna, Rebecca, married to Richard
Holmes, and Elizabeth, married to Mr. Wade, a lawyer of Massachusetts. Miss Susanna Warfield lives at
“Groveland” with her nephew, George W. Holmes. She was born in 1794, and is a well-preserved lady of
the old school,—dignified and courtly, paying great attention to current events, and specially interested in
the church. George Frazer Warfield was one of the defenders of Baltimore, and named his
country-seat “Groveland” at the suggestion of Miss Bentley, a sister of his son George’s wife. “Aunt
Harvey,” a sister of Abel Brown, and aunt to Mrs. George Frazer Warfield, was murdered by the Indians
near Harper’s Ferry, while on her way to the West, about 1775, and one of Abel Brown’s brothers was
killed under Braddock at this unfortunate general’s defeat.
In the Protestant Episcopal graveyard there are a few interments, among which are the following:
James Berry, died Sept. 13, 1865, aged 78.
Mamie E., daughter of John K. and Rachel A. Mellor, born Oct. 17, 1869, died Feb. 26, 1872.
Ida Helena, daughter of William L. and Ann E. Long, born Oct. 20, 1867, died Jan. 31, 1869.
Margaret, wife of William Dean, died Feb. 14, 1858, aged 68.
Catharine H., wife of William H. Hooper, died Feb. 3, 1854, aged 31.
Mary Gill, died March 26, 1863, aged 57.
Fanny Isabel, born July 27, 1814, died Oct. 24, 1876.
Marcellus Warfield, died June 3, 1855, aged 35.
Warner W. Warfield, born March 20, 1788, died July 28, 1867.
Elba furnace lies just below Sykesville, but has not been worked since the flood of 1868. It was opened
and operated years ago by the Tysons.
Elias Brown, a son of Abel Brown, one of the first settlers and largest landed proprietors of the district,
died July 3, 1857. He was a Presidential elector for Monroe in 1820, and for Gen. Jackson in 1828, and in
1824 his brother, William Brown, was also a Presidential elector for Jackson in the great quadruple
contest. Elias Brown was for several years a member of Congress. He was a delegate to the State
Constitutional Convention of 1851, and a member of the House of Delegates from Carroll County in 1849.
He had frequently represented Baltimore County in the Legislature before the creation of Carroll County in
Col. Peter Little was born in 1776, and died Feb. 5, 1830. He was of a family that settled in the district
before 1765. He was at one time a member of Congress from the Baltimore district, and an active and
zealous officer in the militia. He served with honor in the war of 1812.
Porter’s is a small village on the Liberty road, six miles from Sykesville, and near Piney Run, and derives
its name from an old family which settled in the vicinity many years ago. Branchburg’s Methodist
Protestant church is near the hamlet. Mrs. M.E. Trenwith is postmistress, and keeps the only store in the
Hood’s Mills is on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, thirty-four miles from Baltimore, and fifteen from
Westminster. It was named after the Hood family, as one of them, James Hood, and John Grimes erected
the famous mills in 1845. Winfield S. Robb is postmaster, railroad and express agent, and keeps the only
store. Watson Methodist Episcopal chapel is near here. Gen. J.M. Hood, the estimable president of the
Western Maryland Railroad, was born and raised here, and Charles W. Hood, a successful land surveyor
in his early life, died in the vicinity, Jan. 19, 1877, aged sixty years.
Morgan is on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, thirty-four miles from Baltimore, and near the Patapsco
River. John A. Dushane, of Baltimore, has an extensive paper-mill here, giving employment to a number
of persons, and manufacturing all grades of paper. George F. Jones is the superintendent of the paper-
mill, postmaster, and railroad agent.
Woodbine.—This station is on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, thirty-seven miles from Baltimore, and
near the Patapsco River. Morgan chapel (Methodist Episcopal) is near the village. A. Owings is
postmaster and railroad agent. E.A. Owings and Mrs. H.A. Ways are the store-keepers. J.A. Albaugh
keeps the hotel, and J.M. Baker has charge of the mill. The Warfield family in America is of Welsh
descent. The first representative was Richard Warfield, an emigrant from Wales, who came to this country
in 1637 and settled nine miles from Annapolis, at a place now called “Black Horse Tavern.” A descendant
of this emigrant was Charles A. Warfield, of Howard County, whose son, Charles A., married Julianna
Owings and resided near Lisbon, in that county. Of their six children,—five sons and one daughter,—the
next to the youngest was Charles A., born Oct. 16, 1836, in Howard County, near Sykesville. He was
raised on his father’s farm, a mile and a half from the Carroll County line, and was early inured to labor by
tilling the soil and taking care of the stock on the farm. He received a good education in the English
branches at the public schools of the neighborhood. In December, 1862, he removed to Freedom District,
and purchased one hundred and sixty-two acres of land of George Wethered. This is the splendid farm he
now owns, and to which the previous owner, Mr. Wethered, a soldier in the Mexican war, gave the
romantic name of “Chihuahua,” a name it still retains. Mr. Warfield was married, Nov. 16, 1864, to Caroline
A. Devries, daughter of Christian and Jemima Devries, near Marriottsville. Their son, Wade Hampton
Devries Warfield, was born Oct. 7, 1865. Mr. Warfield’s farm is three-fourths of a mile north of Sykesville,
in a fertile country, surrounded by picturesque scenery. His mansion is an elegant three-story frame
building, delightfully located on an eminence, with pleasant surroundings of lofty trees and beautiful
shrubbery. In the heated term during the summer months he entertains summer boarders from the cities,
who find his place a delightful resort. He is specially engaged in dairying, and sends a daily average of
forty-five gallons of milk to “Olive Dairy,” Pennsylvania Avenue, Baltimore. He was one of the first in this
section to embark in this business, and his dairy is the largest in this region, save that on the Frank
Brown estate. His family and himself are attendants on the Springfield Presbyterian Church. He is a
Democrat in politics, but has never held or sought office. His farm is in an excellent state of cultivation,
and its buildings, fences, and general improvements indicate the best qualities of a thorough and
successful farmer, while the tidiness and order of the house betoken rare domestic graces in his
Below is given the vote for local officers in the district from 1851 to 1861, inclusive:
1851.—Vote for Primary School Commissioner: John Warden 182, L. Gardner 91, John W. Wadlow 110.
1853.—For Justices: Jesse Hollingsworth 201, Alex. Gillis 200, William Tensfield 215; Constables:
L.H. Boring 200, Aaron Gosnell 199; Road Supervisor, Reuben Conoway 221.
1855.—For Justices: R. Conoway 310, N.D. Norris 312, N.H. Jenkins 312; Constables: W.C. Lindsay
310, J.H. Conoway 310; Road Supervisor, J. Hollingsworth 310.
1857.—For Justices: J. Morgan 73, J. Dorsey 13, R. Conoway 289, W.G. Shipley 293, N.D. Norris
303; Constables: P. Welsh 12, A. Gosnell 303, W.C. Lindsay 294; Road Supervisor: A. Evans 12,
Joshua Lee 297.
1859.—For Justices: C.W. Hood 75, James Morgan 61, N.D. Norris 285, Larkin Shipley 262, W.G.
Shipley 251; Constables: J.H. Hood 121, W.C. Lindsay 255, Aaron Gosnell 243; Road Supervisor:
W.H. Harden 160, Brice Shipley 249.
1861.—For Justices: Eli Hewitt, Sr., 397, John T. Ways 396, William Tensfield 378, E. Thompson 97,
James Morgan 98, Abel Scrivnor 97; Constables: Aaron Gosnell 397, W.C. Lindsay 389; Road
Supervisor: Wesley Day 373, O. Buckingham 112.
The public school trustees for 1881 and 1882 were:
1. Oakland.—Joseph Gist, John Melvin, William Baesman.
2. Stony Ridge.—John O. Devries, John Pearce, Austin Arrington.
3. Mechanicsville.—No trustees.
4. Sykesville.—Lewis H. Shultz, S.P. Duvall, Charles R. Favar.
5. Hood’s Mills.—Solomon Shoemaker, Zachariah Wolfe, R.C. McKinney.
6. Brandenburg’s.—J.M. Dorsey, Henry Cook, Joseph Barnes.
7. Pleasant Gap.—James H. Shipley, Brice Shipley, Cornelius Shipley.
8. Farver’s.—Thomas L.W. Conden, Joseph Wilson, David McQuay.
9. Jenkins.—No appointments.
10. Woodbine.—George E. Buckingham, Elisha Young, R.H. Harrison.
11. Freedom.—Joseph W. Berret, J. Deckabaugh, Thomas Painter.
12. White Rock (African).—Isaac Dorsey, Wesley Costly, Aaron Austin (all colored).
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, Celie E. Gorsuch, 41 pupils; 2, Lizzie A. Bennett, 35 pupils; 3, C.L. Hughes, 22 pupils: 4,
Isabel N. Hale, 51 pupils; 5, S. Spalding, 26 pupils; 6, Sue M. Matthews, 41 pupils; 7, Libbie
Shipley, 27 pupils; 8, L.A. Koontz, 50 pupils; 10, M.L. Hoffman, 46 pupils; 11, Minta Shipley,
33 pupils; 1 (colored school), Emma V. Randolph, 70 pupils.
MANCHESTER DISTRICT, No. 6.
Manchester District, the Sixth District of Carroll County, is bounded on the north by Pennsylvania, on the
east by Baltimore County and Hampstead District, on the south by the districts of Hampstead and
Westminster, and on the west by Westminster and Myers Districts. The principal stream in the district is
the Gunpowder Falls Creek, which passes through the northeastern portion and flows into Baltimore
County, and which has several small tributaries. Big Grave Run has its source in the centre, and flows
southeast into Baltimore County, and the head-waters of Big Pipe Creek and the North Branch of the
Patapsco take their rise in the district. The population of Manchester District was in 1880 three thousand
five hundred and one. The metes and bounds of Manchester District, as laid out by the commission of
1837, are as follows:
“Beginning at the forks of the county road leading from Westminster to the town of Hampstead and
George Richards’ mill; thence to the falls of Aspin Run and Long Glade Branch; thence up said branch to
the spring near the house of Joseph Bowser, deceased; thence to the spring near the house of John
Orendorff; thence to the forks of the most northern branch of Patapsco Falls and Bosley’s Spring Branch,
where they unite in Wm. Albaugh’s meadow; thence through the farms of John Reed and Joshua Bosley,
Sr., leaving said Reed and Bosley in District No. 6; thence to Michael Baker’s tavern on the Hanover and
Baltimore turnpike road, leaving said Baker in District No. 6; thence across said turnpike east of Shriver’s
tan-yard; thence through the lands of Daniel Caltuder, leaving said Caltuder in District No. 6; thence
through the lands of (Gist’s; thence through the land of) George Caltuder, deceased, and John Wareham,
leaving said Caltuder and Wareham in District No. 8; thence to Michael Miller’s well on the middle road;
thence to Joshua Stansbury’s spring, near the house on the Falls road; thence through the lands of Hair,
leaving said Hair in District No. 8; thence to Henry Zimmerman’s county road, where said road crosses
Carroll and Baltimore county line, at a blazed hickory-tree; thence on said county line to the Pennsylvania
line; thence with said line to Rinehart’s county road; thence with said road to a point nearest to the head
spring of Ohio Branch; thence down said branch to where it crosses Trump’s county road; thence through
Peter Bixler’s farm to Big Pipe Creek, where Lawer’s Branch unites with Big Pipe Creek, leaving said
Bixler in District No. 6; thence up said branch to Baughman’s county road; thence with said road to the
mouth of a lane between Royer and German; thence through the farm of Abraham Shaffer, leaving said
Shaffer in District No. 7; thence to the forks of Manchester and Hampstead road thence to the place of
Manchester was made the place of holding the polls.
Among the earliest surveys were “Rattlesnake Ridge,” of 50 acres, surveyed July 18, 1738, for Edward
Richards, and patented in 1739; “Three Brothers,” of 300 acres, surveyed Aug. 2, 1746; “Easenburg,” Aug.
26, 1761 ;”Shilling’s Lot,” of 40 acres, Oct. 3, 1751; “ Heidelburgh,” Aug. 10, 1752, and resurveyed Feb.
22, 1762, for Elias Harange; “Frankford,” surveyed Jan. 27, 1761, for Conrad Barst; “ Motter’s Choice,”
resurveyed December, 1751, for 162 acres; “Potter’s Lot,” of 40 acres, for John Prlack, Oct. 30, 1760;
“Richard’s Chance,” of 50 acres, Jan. 1, 1749, for Richard Richards; “Pomerania,” near Whistler’s Mill,
now Bixler’s, for 50 acres, to William Winchester, Jan. 8, 1755; “Johnsburg,” of 130 acres, resurveyed for
John Shrempling, May 20, 1761; “Mount Hendrick,” of 48 acres, to James Hendrick, March 3, 1768;
“McGill’s Choice,” of 50 acres, to Andrew McGill, June 12, 1744; “Winchester’s Lot,” Oct. 23, 1751;
“Everything Needful,” to Richard Richards, May 16, 1763, and for 1646 acres; same afterwards
resurveyed, Nov. 14, 1786, as “Everything Needful Corrected,” to Samuel Owings, in three parts, one of
1573 acres and one of 58½ Ulrich Freeland getting the latter; “Warms;” “Bridgeland,” Feb. 28, 1754;
“California,” of 490 acres, March 26, 1765; and “Dey’s Chance,” June 10, 1755.
The earliest actual settlers were Germans, mostly from Pennsylvania, and some from the Fatherland.
Among these may be mentioned the Showers, Ritters, Jacob Shilling, Philip Edleman, Jacob Utz, Michael
Burn, Kerlingers, Faess, Gethiers, Motters, Werheims, Weavers, Steffers, Everharts, Bowers, Warners,
Bachmans, Ebaughs. Paul Everhart, an emigrant from Germany, settled first at Germantown, Pa., and
in 1761 removed to this district. His son George, then seven years old, died in 1851. Paul settled where
are now the iron-ore works. His great-grandson, George Everhart, born in 1800, is still living.
Manchester, the commercial centre of the district, is the second town in size and importance in Carroll
County, containing in 1880 six hundred and forty inhabitants. It is situated on the Hanover turnpike, and
contains a population of about nine hundred inhabitants, with a number of churches, a Masonic Hall, an
Odd-Fellows’ Hall, an academy, and a number of stores and manufactories. The people, as a rule, are
educated and enterprising. A number of railroads have been projected, which if completed will make the
town a centre for business second to none in Maryland outside of Baltimore. Of late years an æsthetic
taste has been manifested by the inhabitants, which has given rise to associations for the culture of
literature and music, and the town now possesses all the elements for enlightened existence in the
country remote from the temptations and, embarrassments of a large city.
From 1760 to 1790 a few houses stood where the site of the present thriving village is situated. In 1790,
Capt. Richard Richards, an Englishman, living in the Hampstead settlement, laid out the town and called it
“Manchester,” after that city in England, from which he had emigrated many years before. It was part of a
survey of fifty acres, called “New Market,” patented to him in 1754, but which was surveyed for him March
5, 1765, and thirty-three of which he laid out in lots. These lots were sold subject to an annual ground-
rent, and to this day on one and one-fourth acres of land George Everhart pays a yearly rent of five dollars
to Judge John E. Smith, of Westminster, the representative of or successor to the Richard rights. The
ground-rents on all the other lots, have expired. “The German Church Lands,” of twenty-five acres,
adjoining the above and a part of the town, were surveyed Dec. 20, 1758, to Jacob Shilling, Philip
Edleman, Jacob Utz, and Michael Burns, as trustees. The church at the present time receives from its
ground-rents on these lands or lots an annual sum of more than one hundred and fifty dollars. The town is
designated on the old maps as “on the original road leading to Baltimore and near Dug Hill.” The oldest
man in the town is George Everhart, aged eighty-two, who came here from the country in 1826, and was
nearly half a century in the mercantile business. The oldest house in the village is an old log building now
owned by Edward Oursler. It was formerly kept as a tavern by Christian Heibly. On the lot now owned by
Mr. Brinkman, the jeweler, a tavern once stood before any other house had been built in the town. The
first physician was Dr. Urnbaugh, who was followed by Dr. Turner and Dr. Jacob Shower. The last began
practice in 1825. Among the first schoolmasters was a Mr. Keller, who taught part of his pupils in the
German, and the others in the English language. About the first storekeeper was George Motter, and in
1826, George Everhart bought out Mark Spencer (an Eastern man from the State of New York), and
continued in business until 1877. George Linaweaver was the earliest blacksmith. George Gettier, born
here in 1791, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and died in Cincinnati, Ohio.
The town was incorporated in 1833, and a supplementary act of 1836 revived the incorporation, confining
the limits of the town to the lots on the several tracts of land known as “New Market” and “German Town.”
The corporation was reorganized by an act of 1870, before which the records are mislaid or lost. Since
that time the officers have been:
1871. ***—Mayor, E.A. Ganter; Councilmen, George Everhart, Adam Shower, John Weaver, James
Kelly, Henry Reagle; Secretary, L.C. Myerly; Treasurer, John Weaver; Bailiff, James Greenhultz.
1872.—Mayor, John C. Danner; Councilmen, Wm. Walter, Geo. Everhart, John Weaver, James Kelly,
1873.—Mayor, John Carl; Councilmen, James Kelly, Henry Reagle, Simon J. Grammar, Henry E.
Masenheimer, D. Hoffacker.
1874.—Mayor, John Carl; Councilmen, John Fultz, W.L. Tracy, S.J. Grammer, H. Masenheimer, D.
1875.—Mayor, John Carl; Councilmen, Henry Reagle, H.E. Masenheimer, D. Shultz, Edward Oursler,
1876.—Mayor, Jacob Campbell; Councilmen, Emanuel Shaffer, Henry Reagle, Edward Oursler,
Luther Tramp, Oliver Lippy; Secretary, Ferdinand A. Dieffenbach.
1877.—Mayor, Jacob Campbell; Councilmen, John J. Lynerd, Henry Reagle, Luther Tramp, John
Bentz, Edward Oursler; Secretary, G.W.J. Everhart.
1878.—Mayor, H.W. Thomas, who resigned, and George M. Stien took his place; Councilmen,
Cornelius Miller, E.A. Ganter, E. Shaffer, Geo. M. Stein, Dr. J.F.B. Weaver; Secretary, G.W.J.
1879.—Mayor, John H. Lamott; Councilmen, E.A. Ganter, N.W. Sellers, P. Gober, Emanuel Shaffer,
Cornelius Miller; Secretary, G.W.J. Everhart.
1880.—Mayor, John H. Lamott; Councilmen, Edward A. Ganter, N.W. Sellers, P.G. Ober, Emanuel
Shaffer, Cornelius Miller.
1881.—Mayor, Henry H. Keller; Councilmen, E.A. Ganter, E. Shaffer, Oliver Lippy, John J. Lynerd,
Edward J. Sellers; Secretary, G.W.J. Everhart; Treasurer, E.A. Ganter; Bailiff, Wm. J. Eisenbrown.
In 1878 the first crossings were laid to the streets; in 1879 the town was supplied with street-lamps,
and in 1881 the streets were all graded.
Zion Church, with two exceptions, was the oldest congregation in Baltimore County (in which Manchester
was located until 1836). It was organized Feb. 12, 1760, by a union of the Lutheran and German Reformed
congregations. During that year was erected the first meeting-house, a log structure, which stood until
1798, when a brick edifice was built. It was repaired in 1836, and a steeple built from the ground up in
November of that year. During these repairs Rev. Jacob Albert was chief manager, and Philip Grove and
Charles Miller, assistants. Jacob Houck was the contractor for making the repairs, John Matthias was the
contractor for building the steeple, Michael Gettier did the masonry, John M. Miller was the gilder and
painter, and Jarret Garner furnished the materials; Jacob Weyant, Peter Shultz, Joshua F. Copp, Jesse
Shultz, H. and W. Brinkman, Jacob Garrett, and Philip Crumrine were the under-workmen; Rev. Jacob
Albert (Lutheran) and Rev. Jacob Geiger (German Reformed) were the pastors. In June, 1862, this church
was taken down, and each of the two congregations erected a separate church building, that of the
Lutherans being on part of the old church tract. The first church (log) of 1760 and the second (brick) of
1790 stood in the graveyard lot. This church was popularly known as the “Union Church,” from the fact
that two congregations worshiped peacefully therein. The Lutheran pastors who preached in it were:
1760-83, Rev. Newburg; 1783-90, Johan Daniel Schroeder; 1791-96, Rev. Meltzheimer (the elder);
1797-1825, John Herbst; 1826 (six months), Emanuel Keller; 1827-37, Jacob Albert; 1837-38,
Jeremiah Harpel; 1838-42, Philip Williard; 1843-44, Frank Ruthrauff; 1844-48, Elias
Swartz; 1848-53, Jacob Kaempfer; 1853-62, Daniel J. Hauer, D.D.
The German Reformed pastors to 1862 were: from 1823 to 1848, Rev. Jacob Geiger, C.F.
Collifiower, and Henry Wissler. The names of subsequent pastors are not accessible.
Emanuel Lutheran Church, after the old “Zion Church” was torn down in 1862, erected in that
and the following year its present edifice. Its pastors have been:
1862-65, Peter River; 1866-69, R. Weiser; 1870-81, G. Sill; 1881 (April 1), B. Manges.
The superintendent of Sunday-school is D.H. Hoffacker.
After the taking down of the “Zion church” in 1862, the Trinity Reformed Church congregation
erected its present building, which was completed in 1863. The German Reformed pastors of Zion
and Trinity Churches from 1760 to 1881, as far as ascertainable, were: 1823 to 1848, Jacob Geiger,
C.F. Colliflower, Henry Wisler, J.W. Hoffmeirer, D.W. Kelley, and William Rupp, the latter the present
pastor, who came July 2, 1877. The superintendent of the Sunday-school is J.P. Baltozer; elders,
J.P. Baltozer, George Bixler; deacons, Emanuel Shaffer, Charles Brillhart.
The corner-stone of the Methodist Episcopal church edifice was laid in 1839, before which there
was a mission here with occasional preaching. At the erection of the building Rev. E.G. Ege was
the pastor, and the present incumbent is P. Benton Winstead.
The erection of the Manchester Bethel church (United Brethren in Christ) was begun in 1870, and was
completed in the same year. The building is a handsome brick structure. It was dedicated on Sunday,
Jan. 1, 1871. At its dedication Bishop J. Weaver, of Baltimore, was present, and preached morning and
night to a large congregation. Rev. John Shaeffer, of Baltimore, preached in the afternoon in the German
language. The spire is forty feet above the roof, and presents a fine appearance. The first pastor, under
whose auspices the building was erected, was Rev. Mr. Hutchinson; the next one, Rev. J.B. Jones; and
the present incumbent, Rev. Mr. Quigly, who took charge in 1881. In the rear of the church is a neat
graveyard, in which are buried
Mary M. Baring, born July 25, 1752, died Jan. 29, 1830; and her husband, Ezekiel, who died
March 30, 1838, aged 87.
Rev. Ezekiel Baring, born Jan. 16, 1780, died Feb. 14, 1861.
John Baring, died Dec. 17, 1869, aged 85.
Villet Baring, wife of Jacob Swartzbaugh, born Jan. 17, 1796, died March 2, 1857.
Margaret A. Stultz, born April 1, 1780, died April 23, 1861.
Elizabeth, wife of John Young, died Nov. 18, 1873, aged 76.
Catherine Lynerd, died Nov. 5, 1873, aged 73.
Martha Burkett, died July 17, 1866, aged 83.
Levi Beecher, died Oct. 11, 1866, aged 52; and his wife, Eve, Nov. 22, 1865, aged 53.
This church organization had a log church prior to 1870, on the same lot where the brick building now
stands. Its trustees in 1857 were Samuel Dehoff, Joseph H. Little, Jacob W. Baring, Amos Williams,
and Henry W. Steffy.
St. Bartholomew’s Catholic church was built by the Redemptorist Fathers of Baltimore, who had charge
of it until 1876, when it was placed under the pastorate of Father John Gloyd, pastor of St. John’s Church,
Westminster. It was erected under the supervision of Mr. Frederick, an eminent architect and builder of
The Manchester United Academy was incorporated March 3, 1829. The first trustees were Rev. Joseph
Geiger, Rev. Jacob Albert, Dr. Jacob Shower, Solomon Myerly, George Motter, John Weaver, George
Everhart, Peter Sable, Martin Kroh, George Shower and Frederick Ritter. The building was erected in
1831, and its first teacher was Hon. Joseph M. Parke.
Irving College was incorporated by the Legislature Feb. 1, 1858, with the following trustees: Ferdinand
Dieffenbach, John H. Falconer, John W. Horn, and Henry B. Roemer. Mr. Dieffenbach was a refugee of
the Revolution of 1848, and a fine scholar and educator. This institution opened with two pupils, and
soon became flourishing and noted. Its able head died in March, 1861, when it was for some time carried
on under the auspices of his widow. Subsequently Lewis C. Myerly was at its head, and in 1880 Prof.
D. Denlinger took charge, under whose management it yet remains. He changed its name to Irving
Institute, and has made it a boarding-school for students of both sexes. Its aims are to prepare students
for business, for teaching advanced classes in college, or the study of a profession. The course of study
embraces Latin, Greek, French, German, mathematics, the sciences, music, painting, and drawing.
Since the abandonment of the old “academy” this institution receives all the advanced scholars of the
town and neighborhood.
The Thespian Society was incorporated in 1835, and the Manchester Band in 1836. The latter was
reorganized in 1855. Its first leader for a few months was Dr. Charles Geiger, and since then it has been
under the direction of Edward A. Ganter. The following are its present members: Edward A. Ganter
(leader), C.J.H. Ganter, C. Frankforter, D. Frankforter, Jesse Leese, Nelson Warheim, Jeremiah Yingling,
John Stump, Ephraim Freyman, Aaron Hoffman, J.P. Lotz, N.W. Sellers, Jacob Hoffman, William
Hoffman, R.L. Simpers, S.F. Frankforter.
The first Sunday-school was organized in 1828.
The first newspaper was issued Nov. 14, 1870, by W.R. Watson as editor, and J.A. Bartley, assistant.
It was called the Manchester Gazette, an independent journal, and was published up to March, 1872,
when it was sold to Messrs. Smith & Sites, who removed the paper and presses to Glen Rock, Pa.,
where they established a new journal. The next paper was the Manchester Enterprise, established in
November, 1880. It is a sprightly four-page sheet of twenty-eight columns, devoted to general and local
news, “independent in all things, neutral in nothing.” Joseph S. Cartman, late of Carlisle, Pa., is its editor,
a journalist of ability and experience.
The Lutheran and Reformed cemetery was set apart for burial purposes in 1760, and interments began
o be made in that year. Among the persons buried there are the following:
Frederick Ritter, died Feb. 9, 1864, aged 76.
George Motter, born Nov. 27, 1751, died Oct. 1, 1800.
Erwar Conrad Kerlinger, born 1731, died October, 1798.
Henry N. Brinkman, died Oct. 22, 1867, aged 76.
John Kerlinger, died Nov. 27, 1823, aged 51.
Elizabeth Kopp, died March 18, 1861, aged 75.
John Manche, born March 19, 1771, died Sept. 11, 1837.
Catharine Faess, died March, 1850, aged 86.
Carl Faess, born 1752, died 1815.
Catharine Gettier, born Oct. 27, 1822, died 1826.
Anthony Hines, died Nov. 29, 1825.
Hannes Motter, born April 10, 1771, died March 28, 1819.
Jacob Motter, died 1798.
John Peter Gettier, died Dec. 2, 1837, aged 80; and Elizabeth, his first wife, Aug. 22, 1791; and
his second, Mary E., Oct. 14, 1856.
George Kerlinger, born Nov. 18, 1795, died Oct. 6, 1797.
Catharine Motter, born 1782, died 1790.
Daniel Bowman, born Feb. 27, 1783, died May 24, 1854.
Johannes Swartzbaugh, died Feb. 7, 1825, aged 86.
Heinrich Werheim, born 1758, died 1828.
Elizabeth Kantz, died Oct. 28, 1854, aged 86.
Joseph Kopp, died Jan. 26, 1852, aged 75; was in all the Napoleonic wars.
John Ritter, died March 17, 1831, aged 73.
John Ports, Sr., died July 19, 1854, aged 82.
Henry Glase, died Feb. 24, 1879.
George Warner, born Jan. 17, 1791, died Aug. 24, 1874.
George Yingling, died May 14, 1879, aged 85.
Michael Ritter, died Oct. 1, 1878, aged 81.
Henry Beltz, born June 27, 1783, died March 19, 1858.
Johannes Schaurer (now Shower), born 1730, died 1810; married in 1764, Anna Maria Eine, who
was born in 1740, and died Aug. 10, 1833.
John Adam Shower, died Aug. 27, 1833, aged 59; and his wife, Anna E., Feb. 13, 1854, aged 81.
George Weaver, born Jan. 27, 1776, died Jan. 15, 1852; and his wife, Mary Magdalene, March 23,
1850, aged 69.
Elizabeth Utz, born 1742, married 1766, to Peter Utz, and died 1797.
Margaret, second wife of Peter Utz, died Jan. 3, 1826, aged 75.
Peter Utz, born 1740, died 1820.
Martin Kroh, died May 23, 1866, aged 83.
Elizabeth, wife of John Sellers, born Feb. 5, 1768, died Sept. 26, 1860.
George Utz, born Oct. 7, 1774, died 1842.
Henry Lamott, died Feb. 15, 1845, aged 75.
Daniel Hoover, born Sept. 9, 1792, died Aug. 16, 1864.
Louisa, wife of Jacob Bear, born Aug. 30, 1761, died March 9, 1856.
Jacob Sherman, born Jan. 19, 1779, died April 8, 1861.
Michael Miller, died Jan. 10, 1845, aged 80.
George Lineweaver, died April 12, 1844, aged 75.
Michael Stefee, born Dec. 16, 1769, died May 18, 1850; and his wife, Christina, born April 8, 1760,
died June 16, 1854.
George Everhart, died July 4, 1857, aged 86; and his wife, Elizabeth, March 7, 1868, aged 90.
Rev. Jacob Geiger (31 years and 6 months pastor), died Oct. 19, 1848, aged 55 years and 2 days;
and his first wife, daughter of Jacob and Mary Seltzer, born June 1, 1801, died March 12, 1835.
The Union Fire Company was incorporated by act of the General Assembly, March 26, 1839. The
incorporators were Solomon Myerly, Jacob Sellers, Lewis Riggle, George Messamore, David Lippy, Elias
Buckingham, Jacob Houck, George E. Weaver, George Everhart, George Trump, William Crumrine,
Jacob Lineweaver, Henry Krantz, Henry Brinkman, John Shultz, Jesse Shultz, Andrew Pleifer, Ezekiel
Baring, James Davis, Jacob Frankforter, David Frankforter, Joseph Gouter, George Baker, Joseph
Gardner, Jacob Wentz, Frederick Hamburg, Jacob Kerlinger, Jacob Miller, Charles Miller, S.B. Fuhrman,
George Matter, David Houck, Amos Gauman, Jacob Campbell, Adam Shower, J.F. Kopp, John Kuhn,
Michael Gettier, George Lineweaver, Levi Maxfield, Michael Matter, Garret Garner, Richard Jones, James
Stansbury, Henry E. Beltz, Joseph M. Parke, Philip Crumrine, Frederick Smith, John N. Steffy, Levi
Mansfield, Henry Lippy, John Krantz, John Everhart, David Whiteleather.
The Carroll Literary Society was organized Feb. 12, 1881, with J.P. Baltover, president; Dr. J.W.
Bechtel, vice-president; Joseph S. Carnman, secretary; P.G. Ober, treasurer. The object of the
association is general improvement and the development of a taste for belles-lettres.
The school-house for the pupils of the public schools is a fine brick building, seventy-five by forty-five
feet, erected in 1878.
The dispensation of the Knights of Pythias, Manchester Lodge, No. 78, was dated Sept. 14, 1872, and
the lodge was instituted on the 17th of that month. The first officers were:
C.C., J.W. Dehoff; Prel., Aaron Miller; V.C., .J.S. Kerlinger; M. of E., Cornelius Miller; M. of F., E.A.
The charter was dated January, 1878, and the charter members were John W. Dehoff, Aaron Miller,
J.S. Kerlinger, E.A. Ganter, H. Falkenstine, Jr., C.J.H. Ganter, James Cross, M.D., G.W.J. Everhart,
Daniel Dubbs, C. Miller, George Pfeiffer, Luther Trump. The officers for the second term, 1881, were:
P.C., Emanuel Sherrick; C.C., John W. Burns; Vice C., Charles F. Bergman; Prel., D.M. Brillhart; M.
of E., Jacob Wink; M. of F., Cornelius Miller; K. of R and S., J.P. Baltover; M. at A., Aaron Hoffman;
I.G., D.F. Boose; O.G., J.C. Hoffman; Rep. to Grand Lodge, J.E.
Mensenheimer; Dist. Dep., R. Lee Simpers; Trustees, Christian Buchanan, A. Appold, Charles Brillhart.
Number of members, 40.
Lebanon Lodge, A.F. and A.M., No. 175, was instituted Oct. 9, 1856, as No. 104, and its first officers
W.M., William L. Nace; S.W., Ferdinand Dieffenbach; J.W., John H. Lamott; Sec., Dr. Jacob Shower;
Treas., George Shower; S.J., Amos L. Wolfang; Tyler, John Bentz.
It lost its charter, but on May 14, 1879, it was re-chartered as No. 175. Its officers then were Dr.
Theodore A. Shower, W.M.; E.G. Sellers, S.W.; John M. Bush, J.W. Its officers for 1881 were:
W.M., Lewis C. Myerly; S.W., Wm. C. Murray; J.W., E.T. Sellers; Sec., Adam Shower; Treas., Samuel
Miller; S.D., John Fultz; J.D., Jacob Fink; Tyler, John H. Lamott.
Number of members, 25.
The present secretary, Adam Shower, was initiated in 1859, and became secretary in 1861.
Daniel and Jacob Lodge, I.O.O.F., No. 23. A petition was sent to the Maryland Grand Lodge of I.O.O.F.
in 1834 for a lodge to be located here, the two first petitioners on the list being Daniel Hoover and Jacob
Shower. The petitioners designating no name for the proposed lodge, the Grand Lodge named Daniel and
Jacob, in honor of Daniel Hoover and Jacob Shower. The charter was dated Oct. 17, 1834, and signed by
James L. Ridgely, G.M., and Robert Neilson, G.S. Its first officers were: N.G., Dr. Jacob Shower; V.G.,
Daniel Hoover; Sec. and Treas., Jacob Kerlinger.
At the first meeting the following were the initiates: Samuel Lamott, Wm. Crumrine, Henry Brinkman,
John Lamott. The second set of officers were: N.G., Daniel Hoover; V.G., William Crumrine; Sec. and
Treas., Jacob Kerlinger. The officers for 1881 were:
S.P.G., John Fultz; N.G., Henry Boose; V.G., Nimrod Armstrong; Rec. Sec., G.W.J. Everhart; Per.
Sec., E.A. Ganter; Treas., Edward Oursler; Marshal, Wm. A. Wolf; R.S.N.G., N.W. Sellers; L.S.N.G.,
Henry Reagle; R.S.V.G., John Wink; L.S.V.G., George L. Beltzer; I.G., John Emmel; O.G., A. Pfeiffer.
The lodge owns a fine hall, and has 74 members. Its accumulated funds are $1500. The district deputy
is William A. Wolf.
The charter of Carroll Encampment, No. 17, I.O.O.F., dated Oct. 26, 1866, was granted by J.L. Baugher,
G.P., and John M. Jones, G.S. The charter members were Wm. Crumrine, Henry Falkenstine, Henry
Zimmerman, Samuel Wilhelm, C. Frankforter, Adam Barns. The first officers were: W.C.P., Conrad
Frankforter; H.P., Henry E. Beltz; J.W., Samuel Wilhelm; Scribe, Henry Falkenstine.
The following were the initiates at the first meeting, Oct. 26, 1866: Theo. J. Kopp, J. Alfred Kopp, E.A,
Ganter, G.W.J. Everhart, E.H. Croutch. The officers for 1881 were:
W.C.P., John C. Denner; H.P., Wm. J. Eisenbrown; S.W., D.H. Hoffacker; J.W., Samuel Miller; Rec.
Sec., G.W.J. Everhart; Per. Sec., A.N. Ganter; Treas., N.W. Sellers; Dist. Dep., Samuel Miller.
Number of members, 39.
Bachman’s Mills is a small village on the road leading to Hanover turnpike, seven miles from
Westminster, five from Manchester, and at the head of Big Pipe Creek. This was formerly Bower’s
mills, erected about 1780. William and A.C. Bachman own the mills, and the latter is postmaster. The
village lies in a beautiful and productive valley, which was settled early in the eighteenth century.
Jerusalem Church was organized in 1799 by the Lutheran and Reformed congregations, who have jointly
used the same building in their worship. The first edifice was a log structure, but the present is a
substantial brick building, and was erected but a few years ago. Since 1825 its pastors have been the
Lutheran and Reformed preachers living in Manchester.
Lazarus Church is also a union church of the Lutheran and Reformed congregations. It was erected in
1853. The building committee were V.B. Wentz, John Kroh, and George Weaver. The Lutheran
congregation organized Sept. 5, 1853, and held its first communion June 4, 1854. Since 1863 the
Lutheran and Reformed pastors have been the Manchester preachers. Its flourishing Sunday-school
is under the charge of Francis Warner as superintendent.
On Feb. 27, 1770, Jonathan Plowman conveyed to John Davis (pastor), John Whitaker, and Samuel
Lane fifteen acres of land “for the sole use of a meeting-house for the worship of God forever.” In 1828,
the Particular Baptist Gunpowder Church was incorporated by the General Assembly, and Thomas
Layman, John Perigoy, and Benjamin Buckingham were designated in the act as its trustees. Of these,
two died, and one removed from the neighborhood. The meeting-house fell into decay, and the
congregation was broken up. The Particular Baptist Church of Black Rock, Baltimore County, being the
nearest church of the same faith and order, appointed John B. Ensar, Joshua Plowman, and James
Blizzard as trustees, who began erecting thereon a suitable house of worship. To cure all existing and
supposed legal disabilities of the trustees, and to ratify their proceedings, the Legislature incorporated
this church again, March 4, 1858, retaining the trustees above named.
St. John’s church is used jointly by the Reformed and Lutheran congregations, and was built in 1846. It
is a log structure weather-boarded. It is five miles from Westminster, which supplies it with pastors.
The Baltimore and Hanover Railroad Company was organized under the general railroad act passed by
the General Assembly of Maryland in 1876. Its southern terminus is at Emory Grove, nineteen miles from
Baltimore City, on the Western Maryland Railroad. Thence it passes north through Baltimore and Carroll
Counties to Black Rock Station, where it connects with the Bachman Valley Road, the latter forming a
connecting link with the Hanover Junction, Hanover and Gettysburg Railroad. The Baltimore and Hanover
road forms a most valuable and important connection of the Western Maryland company, by which it is
enabled to drain the rich and fertile territory of Southern Pennsylvania. The officers of the company are
A.W. Eichelberger, president; William H. Vickery, vice-president; L.T. Melsheimer, secretary; R.M. Wirt,
treasurer; Directors, Stephen Keefer, Hanover, Pa.; William El. Hoffman, Baltimore County, Md.; Charles
W. Slagle, William H. Vickery, Baltimore; C.C. Wooden, Carroll County, Md.; L.F. Melsheimer, Hanover,
Bachman’s Valley Railroad runs from the iron-ore banks and intersects the Hanover Railroad. Its present
officers are: President, Capt. A.W. Eichelberger; Directors, Stephen Kiefer, H.C. Shriver, Joseph Dellone,
Joseph Althoff, C.L. Johnson, J.W. Gitt, Levi Dubbs, Perry Wine, Edwin Thomas, Samuel Thomas, E.W.
Heindel, and Adam Newcomer.
Parr Ridge Gold and Silver Mining Company.—Many years ago gold was discovered in various places on
a ridge extending through Manchester town from Cranberry Valley. In 1879, Messrs. Keeport and Lafeber,
of Littlestown, made a thorough examination of the gold region, and found by assays that it was in
sufficient quantities to pay for digging. In the summer of 1881 this company was organized with Daniel
Beckley as president, and C.J.H. Ganter as secretary. On Aug. 13, 1881, the stockholders at a called
meeting voted to purchase the necessary machinery to proceed to work, and the work is being pushed
to an apparently successful conclusion. The largest quantities of gold have been found right in the town,
or on farms close to the corporation limits. The company has leased several farms, and is actively
engaged now in searching for the treasure.
The Dug Hill Mutual Fire Insurance Company has been in operation several years, insuring buildings and
general farm property against loss by fire. Its president is P.H.L. Myers, and secretary, John Strevig.
Its main and home office is in Manchester. Its former secretary was Francis Warner.
The Shower Foundry, a large manufactory, was established in 1851 by Jacob Shower, who used to
employ some thirty hands in the manufacture of different kinds of machinery, of which the larger part
was agricultural implements. It is now operated by his son, William H. Shower, and employs some
fifteen persons in its various departments. This foundry cast a cannon which was successfully used
on the Fourth of July, 1881.
The following are the district officers serving at this date (1881): Justices of the Peace, Henry Motter,
J.P. Boltoser, Samuel Hoffacker; Constables, George P. Burns, Geo. Reagle.
Ebbvale is a village on the Bachman’s Valley Railroad, nine miles from Westminster, and near to Big
Pipe Creek. C. Wentz is postmaster. Of the iron-ore mines located here C.L. Johnson is superintendent,
Martin Hugenborn and F. Schenck, engineers, and F. Tragesser, mine boss.
Melrose is on the same railroad, and thirty miles from Baltimore. C.B. Wentz is postmaster. Dr. J.S.
Ziegler, physician, C.R. Wentz & Sons, merchants, and Levi Hoff, hotel-keeper.
Springfield Grange, No. 158, is located near Bahn’s Mill, and has seventy members. Officers for 1881:
Master, Francis Warner; Sec., J.D. Sharer; Treas., Joseph Miller; Lecturer, John Hinkle;
Door-keeper, D. Resh; Steward, J.H. Hoffman; Pomona, Mrs. J.A. Bahn; Flora, Mrs. Francis Warner;
Ceres, Mrs. E. Sharer; Lady Assistant Steward, Mrs. Lydia Sharer.
This is the best-conducted grange in the county, and is well officered.
The names of the following persons, residents of the district, aged seventy years and upwards in 1879,
are given as a matter of local interest:
Josiah Dehoff, 78; Mrs. Nancy Dehoff, 88; George Yingling, 85; Mrs. Yingling, 82; Mrs. Catherine
Ganter, 78; Mrs. Mary Frankforter, 76; Henry Steffy, 84; George Leese, 79; Mrs. Susannah Leese, 80;
John Sellers, 84; Mrs. Sellers, 74; Mrs. Elizabeth Martin, 83; Mrs. Sarah Bixler, 83; Mrs. Mary Gettier,
89; Henry Glaze, 79; David Lippy, 73; Geo. Everheart, 79; Dr. Jacob Shower, 76; Mrs. Mary Shower,
74; George Shower, 74; Mrs. Rachel Shower, 76; Mrs. Barbara Warner, 78; Mrs. Elizabeth Shaffer, 85;
Mrs. Lydia Black, 75; Mrs. Catherine Zepp, 75; Henry Lucabaugh, 85; Mrs. Mary Yingling, 85; Mrs.
Anna M. Wolfgang, 77; Ephraim Tracy, 76 John Redding, 76; John Everheart, 76; George Trump, 71;
George Warehime, 89; Stephen Reys, 78; Christian Kexel, 78; Adam Merkel, 83; Mrs. Martha
Stansbury, 76; John Bentz, 72; Mrs. Maria Bentz, 75; Mrs. Mary Stansbury, 79; Sarah Butler (colored),
81; Nicholas Warner, 81; John H. Bordleman, 76; Benjamin Lippy, 71; Elizabeth Gettier, 73. Females,
22 aggregate ages, 1741; average, 79. Males, 23; aggregate ages, 1803; average, 78.
Mr. John Sellers, one of’ the soldiers of the war of 1812, and a member of Capt. Adam Shower’s
company, died at his residence, in Manchester District, on Feb. 27, 1879, aged 84 years, 4 months,
and 11 days.
Dr. Jacob Shower, a prominent citizen of this county, and well known in former years throughout the
State as a Democratic leader, died at his residence in Manchester on Sunday, May 25, 1879, aged
seventy-seven years. He was the son of Col. Adam Shower, who represented Baltimore County in the
House of Delegates for many years during the early part of this century. Dr. Shower entered politics when
quite young, and served in the House of Delegates from Baltimore County several years prior to the
organization of Carroll County in 1837, and was in the Legislature when the bill for its formation was
passed. He was upon the first ticket nominated in this county for the House of Delegates, and was
elected. He was elected for a second, and declined a nomination for the third term. In 1841 he was
appointed to the position of clerk of the court, made vacant by the death of Dr. Willis, and served about
seven years. In 1851 he was elected a member of the Constitutional Convention, but declined the position.
Since his term in Congress, from 1854 to 1856, he had not been in public life, but had ever evinced a
great interest in State and national politics. He was a member of the first Andrew Jackson Club in this
State, which was formed at the Washington Hotel, on Gay Street, Baltimore, in the year 1824, and which
adopted the die for the figure-head, “Jackson and Liberty.” Dr. Shower was possessed of a strong mind.
His genial disposition and general fund of information endeared him to all who knew him, and his society
was much sought by the politicians of the State. As a politician he was a link between the past and the
present. He saw the rise of the Democratic party, was a participator in all its contests, saw its overthrow,
and again witnessed its triumph. He left a large circle of relatives and friends to mourn his death. His
was one of the most familiar faces in all the State Democratic conventions from the time of his first
connection with politics until his death. He was arrested by the United States provost-marshal in 1863
upon some trivial charges, and imprisoned for some months.
The following is a list of school trustees and teachers for this district for 1881 and 1882, with number
1 and 2. Grammar School and Primary No. 1.—J.H. La Motte, D.H. Hoffacker, John M. Gettier.
3 and 4. Primary Nos. 2 and 3.—G.W. Everhart, Jacob Wink, H.K. Grove.
5. Miller’s.—George K. Frank, George P. Miller, John P. Frank.
6. Zimmerman’s.—Benjamin Bowser, J. David Shearer, John Hilker.
7. Kroh’s or Lippy’s.—Joseph Price, Francis Warner, C.R. Wentz.
8. Tracey’s.—Jonas Warner, Wm. Zepp, A.J.P. Rhoads.
9. Wentz’s.—Peter Gettier, Phaniel Wentz, G. Bixler.
10. Krideler’s.—Edward Krideler, Philip Yoatz, Samuel Shaeffer.
11. Bachman’s Mill.—D.S. Palmer, Jacob Shaeffer, Samuel Wine.
12. Royer’s.—Daniel Reese, Christian Royer, Jeremiah Mathias.
13. Union.—J.J. Abbott, H.B. Houck, Nathaniel Leister.
14. Old Fost (Nace’s).—Charles Grove, Jacob Boring, L. Kreitzer.
15. Bosley’s.—H.M. Menshey, D. Burns, D. Garrett.
16. Ebbvale.—Oliver Hoover, C. Wentz, Edward Garrett.
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, Nellie R. Lilley, 40 pupils; 2, J.P. Baltzer, 41 pupils; 3, Willie Cox, 45 pupils; 4, Lizzie Trump,
39 pupils; 5, E.S. Miller, 55 pupils; 6, Emma Lorrenger, 38 pupils; 7, V.B. Wentz, 58 pupils; 8, Noah
Peterman, 42 pupils; 9, J.R. Strevig, 58 pupils; 10, J.F. Peterman, 47 pupils; 11, G.T. Palmer, 42
pupils; 12, Mary C. Bixler, 47 pupils; 13, J.A. Abbott, 65 pupils; 14, G.W.J. Everhart, 34 pupils; 15,
Laura M. Burnee, 27 pupils; 16, T.R. Strevig, 33 pupils.
The following were the votes cast from 1851 to 1861, inclusive, for local officers:
1851.—Vote for Primary School Commissioner: George Crouse 229, Philip H.L. Myers 76, David
Bachman 56, John C. Price 30.
1853.—For Justices: George Everhart 234, Jacob Kerlinger 386, John C. Price 324, Wm. Walter
358; Constables: John Shultz 455, Anthony Hines 358; Road Supervisor: Frederick Ritter 488.
1855. —For Justices: J. Kerlinger 445, W. Walter 445, Henry Motter 423, Geo. Bixler 104;
Constables: J.A. Hines 435, Henry Krantz 425, Emanuel Trine 63, John Shultz 113; Road
Supervisor: Frederick Ritter 437, Samuel Witter 102.
1857.—For Justices: John C. Price 479, Wm. Walter 474, Henry Motter 134, Henry Glaze 401;
Constables: J.A. Hines 501, Henry Krantz 501; Road Supervisor, Michael Ritter 497.
1859.—For Justices: Henry Motter 476, John C. Price 480, Wm. Walter 490, Michael Sullivan
134; Constables: Henry Krantz 491, Eli Myers 474, John Shultz 151; Road Supervisor: Michael
1861.—For Justices: Henry Motter 326, John C. Price 318, D.T. Shaeffer 311, Henry Glaze 299,
Geo. Hartley 309, John Fultz 318; Constables: Henry Krantz 330, John Lockard 281, Henry Reagle
308, Henry Cramer 264; Road Supervisor: D.H. Hoffacker 329, Henry Fair 307.
Among the thrifty and industrious German emigrants to Pennsylvania in 1720 was Jacob Warner, a young
man from the kingdom of Bavaria, who settled in York County of that State. His son, Melchior Warner,
removed, about 1780, to that part of Baltimore County now forming a part of Manchester District, in
Carroll County. His son, Jacob H. Warner, was the father of Francis Warner, who was born July 28,
1826, three miles east of Manchester. He lived on a farm until the twenty-first year of his age. He was
liberally educated at the noted “ White Hall Academy,” near Harrisburg, Pa. He was elected magistrate
by the voters of his district during the late civil war (1863), and was subsequently repeatedly appointed
to this office, which he held with complete satisfaction to the public for eight successive years. He was
twice elected surveyor of Carroll County, and in 1879 was chosen county commissioner, which position
he now most acceptably fills, having for his colleagues Col John K. Longwell, of Westminster, and William
C. Polk, of Freedom District. He was for nine consecutive years a director of the “Farmers’ Mutual
Insurance Company of Dug Hill,” and its secretary and treasurer for five years. He resides on “Dug Hill,”
an historical part of the district, situated on the Pennsylvania State line, and settled about the middle of
the past century. He takes great interest in educational matters, having been engaged in teaching
fourteen years, and is one of the trustees of School No. 7. He is superintendent of the Sunday-school
of Lazarus Church, jointly erected and occupied by the Reform and Lutheran congregations. A practical
farmer, and thoroughly conversant with agriculture in all its minutiæ, he has ever zealously labored for
the material interests of the tillers of the soil. He is Master of Springfield Grange, No. 158, located near
Bahn’s Mill,—the most flourishing organization of the kind in the county,—formed and chiefly built up
under his management. He was married, Nov. 8, 1859, to Adaline C. Wolfgang, daughter of Jacob
Wolfgang, by whom he has three children,—two daughters and a son. Besides having served two terms
as county surveyor, he has for many years been engaged in private surveying, in which profession he
tands deservedly high because of his proficiency and skill. He has filled all public positions intrusted to
him with credit, and the board of county commissioners has rarely had a member who paid closer
attention to the wants and interests of the public than Mr. Warner.
HAMPSTEAD DISTRICT, OR DISTRICT No. 8, of Carroll County, is bounded on the north by
Manchester District, on the east by Baltimore County, on the south by Woolery’s, and on the west by
the districts of Westminster and Manchester. The east branch of the Patapsco Falls flows south through
the centre of the district, and Aspen and White Oak Runs intersect the western portion, and empty into
the Patapsco. In addition to the turnpikes and private roads the Hanover Railroad furnishes an outlet for
the products of the district in a northern direction, and the Western Maryland Railroad passes along its
southwestern edge. In 1880 it had a population of 1983. The metes and bounds of the district as
determined by the commission of 1837 are as follows:
“Beginning at the forks of the county roads leading from Westminster to Hampstead and George
Richards’ mill; thence to the forks of Aspen Run and Long Glade Branch; thence up said branch to
the spring near the house of Joseph Bowser, deceased; thence to the spring near the house of John
Orendorff; thence to the forks of the most northern branch of Patapsco Falls and Bosley’s spring branch,
where they unite in William Albaugh’s meadow; thence through the farms of John Reed and Joshua
Bosley, Sr., leaving said Reed and Bosley in District No. 6; thence to Michael Becker’s tavern, on the
Hanover and Baltimore turnpike road, leaving said Becker in District No. 6; thence across said turnpike
east of Shriver’s tan-yard; thence through the lands of Daniel Caltuder, leaving said Caltuder in District
No. 6; thence through the lands of ― Gist; thence through the lands of George Caltuder, deceased, and
John Wareham, leaving said Wareham and Caltuder in District No. 8; thence to Michael Miller’s mill, on
the middle road; thence to Joshua Stansbury’s spring, near the house on the Falls road; thence through
the lands of Hair, leaving said Hair in District No. 8; thence to Henry Zimmerman’s county road where
said road crosses the Carroll and Baltimore County line at a blazed hickory-tree; thence on Baltimore
County line to Edward Bond’s; thence with the lines of District No. 4 to Richard Gorsuch’s farm on
Patapsco Falls; thence with a straight line to the place of beginning.”
Hampstead was made the place for holding the polls. The tract of land known as “Transylvania” was
originally surveyed for Thomas White, Aug. 8, 1746, but resurveyed and patented to Capt. Richard
Richards, June 10, 1751.
The district took its name from Hampstead in England, a town from which Capt. Richard Richards
emigrated about 1735. The early settlers were Capt. Richard Richards and his brother-in-law, Christopher
Vaughn, the Coxes, Stansburys, Henry Lamott, the Fowbles, Houcks, Snyders, Ebaughs, Murrays,
Browns, Leisters, Rubys, Lovealls, Cullisons, Gardners, Hammonds, and Armacosts. The first settlers
were generally English, but afterwards the Germans came into the district in large numbers.
Hampstead, a village containing upwards of three hundred inhabitants, is located on surveys called
“Spring Garden,” patented to Dustane Dane in 1748, and “Landorff.” It was called “Coxville” for over fifty
years in honor of John Cox, its first settler, but finally took the name of Hampstead from the district.
About a century ago, Col. Johns, of Baltimore County (in which this district was then situated), built a
warehouse of logs to receive and store wheat for his mills, near Dover. That house was afterwards
weather-boarded and sold by Col. Johns to John Cox, the first actual settler, who kept a tavern in it.
Cox subsequently sold it to Henry Lamott. It is the oldest house in the town, and is now owned by
Micajah Stansbury. The town was laid out about 1786 by Christopher Vaughan, a brother-in-law of Capt.
Richard Richards. They were both Englishmen, and during the Revolution Richards sympathized with the
British, but Vaughan was an active Whig. Henry Lamott came to the village in 1798 from Havre de Grace,
when there were only a few houses in it. He was the son of John Lamott, a French nobleman, who
settled in Maryland about 1760, and was the first of this family in America. The first physician of the
town was Dr. Urnbaugh, who had been a Hessian soldier, and lived a short time in nearly all the villages
of the county. The first schoolmaster was a Mr. Parks. After Dr. Urnbaugh, Dr. Hall, who lived several
miles distant, attended patients here, and the next resident physician was Dr. Richard C. Wells, with
whom Drs. Roberts Bartholow and Hanson M. Drach studied in 1850-51 and ‘52.The last two married
daughters of John Lamott. John Fowble kept the first store. Peter Frank kept the first tavern, and was
succeeded by John Cox. Capt. Richard Richards owned fifteen hundred acres of land near the town.
The village is on the Hanover pike, and is one of the best stations on the Hanover Railroad. Its oldest
citizens are Col. John Lamott and William Tall Hammond, who both served in the war of 1812, the latter
being now (1881) eighty-seven years old. Col. Lamott was born in 1795, and was three years old when
his father, Henry Lamott, moved to Hampstead. In the war of 1812 he was in Capt. Adam Shower’s
company of Col. Shultz’ regiment, of which Conrad Kerlinger was major. He was in the battle of North
Point, and draws a pension for his services. His father, Henry Lamott, kept a tavern here forty-five years,
and died in 1851. Since the completion of the railroad in 1879 the town has rapidly increased in
population, and the value of real estate has doubled. The physicians are Drs. Richard C. Wells and
his sons, Edward and Constant Wells, Hanson M. Drach, John W. Stansbury, and W.W. Wareheim.
C.M. Murray is postmaster, and Lewis C. Myerly, attorney-at-law. The latter was admitted to the bar
during his residence in Indiana. He was born Jan. 24, 1829, in Westminster District, and was a son of
Jacob, and grandson of George Myerly. The latter was one of two brothers who came from Germany
before 1775. The Myerly family is of German and French extraction. Jacob Myerly married Eve Bishop,
by whom he had the following children: Rachel, Benjamin, Reuben C. (wounded in the Mexican war, and
died in Lima, La.), Jacob, Mary J., Lewis Cass, and Susanna. It was owing largely to the efforts of Lewis
C. Myerly that the Hanover Railroad was located and built on its present road-bed. John Armacost, aged
ninety-two years, lives near town with his wife, to whom he has been married seventy years, and during
all of that time he has been a member of the M.E. Church. Shane Cullison, living near, died in 1877,
aged ninety-six years.
The first edifice of the Methodist Episcopal Church was a log structure, built about 1800, which is now
occupied by Charles Roat. It was used also as a school-house. The present stone church was erected
in 1845 by Richard Richards as contractor. The parsonage was built in 1878. Rev. D. Benton Winstead
is the pastor. The graveyard ground in its rear was a donation from John Lamott. Interred there are
Maria, wife of Jackson Belt, who died June 7, 1880, aged 62.
Elizabeth, wife of John Cox, died Aug. 20, 1872, aged 77.
Nicholas Gardner, died Nov. 3, 1874, aged 65.
Jeremiah Malehorn, died Feb. 28, 1871, aged 47.
Anna, wife of Christian Wisner, died March 28, 1869.
Leonard Belt, died Nov. 7, 1871, aged 59.
Mary, wife of Caleb Blizzard, died July 7, 1866, aged 56.
Susan, wife of Elisha Gorsuch, died July 1, 1863, aged 62.
Keziah Caltrider, died Oct. 3, 1876, aged 71; and her husband, John Caltrider, born March 5,
1795, died Feb. 25, 1863.
Elizabeth, wife of Richard D. Armacost, died July 16, 1859, aged 68.
Moses Myers, died Nov. 18, 1851, aged 58; and his wife, Jane, March 18, 1868, aged 67.
Elender, wife of Dr. Henson L. Drach (U.S. Army), died Oct. 3, 1864, aged 32; and Susan,
wife of Dr. Roberts Bartholow (U.S. Army), died July 6, 1862, aged 28, both daughters of John
and Rachel Lamott. The latter (Rachel) died Jan. 11, 1850, aged 46.
George Ports, died April 18, 1872, aged 70.
Joshua Tipton, born Aug. 14, 1800, died Sept. 20, 1853.
Dr. J. Ebaugh, died Oct. 13, 1848, aged 24.
Absalom Null, died Feb. 24, 1862, aged 40.
Rev. Amon Richards was the first preacher of this church, and died but a few years ago nearly
one hundred years old.
The United Brethren church is situated one mile from town, at Greenmount, on the Hanover pike.
Its pastor is Rev. J.R. Snake.
The Lutheran congregation has no church edifice, but holds its services in the hall of the Independent
Order of Red Men. Rev. H. Burk is pastor.
Dehoff’s church, not now standing, was near Greenmount, and was built over seventy years ago by
John Dehoff, who preached himself, although a plain farmer with limited education.
Red Jacket Tribe, No. 24, of the Independent Order of Red Men, was instituted about 1845. It
owns a fine hall and is in a flourishing condition. William A. Murray is its Chief of Records and
Keeper of Seal.
Snydersburg is on the east branch of the Patapsco, three and a half miles from Manchester, seven
arid a half miles from Westminster, and twenty-nine miles from Baltimore. The merchants are E.
Snyder and J.H. Lippy, the latter being the postmaster.
St. Mark’s church was erected in 1878 by the Lutheran and Reformed congregations, who jointly use it
in worship. The building committee were Michael Brillhart (Reformed), Jacob Yingling, and Mr. Ruby
(Lutheran). The house was consecrated Sept. 29, 1878. The Lutheran organization was perfected
March 9, 1879, when Jacob Yingling and Elisha Snyder were elected elders, Edmund Reed and Daniel S.
Houcksville is three miles from Patapsco, near the Patapsco River, thirty-four miles from Baltimore, and
fifteen from Westminster. The merchants are S.A. Lauver & Son, G.W. Keller, and A.J. Houck. The latter
is postmaster, and it is from his family that the place takes its name. Geo. W. Keller has an extensive
paper manufactory here. Dr. C.S. Davis is the physician of the town, and Dr. George Rupp the dentist.
Mr. Keller’s paper-factory gives employment to many mechanics and laborers. The water-power of the
Patapsco at this point is magnificent, and numerous mills and factories are successfully operated.
The Bartholow family is one of the oldest in this district, and has given to the country a man distinguished
at home and in Europe for his great medical learning and attainments. Dr. Roberts Bartholow was born
and raised near Hampstead, and educated at Calvert College, after which he graduated at the University
of Maryland. During the war of 1861-65 he was brigade surgeon on the staff of Gen. McClellan. After his
resignation he took a professorship in the University of Maryland, and from there he removed to
Cincinnati, Ohio, at which place he was chosen Professor of Materia Medica of the Ohio Medical College.
He is the author of several meritorious medical works. In March, 1879, this most skillful and scientific
physician was appointed Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics in the Jefferson Medical College
of Philadelphia. Dr. Bartholow, within the past ten years, has attracted the attention of his profession,
both in Europe and America, by the freshness and vigor of his writings and the variety of his contributions
to science. In the literature of his profession he is now an acknowledged authority, and the fact that
Jefferson Medical College chose him for the responsible position named is an evidence that this
standard institution is determined to keep abreast of the age. He studied medicine with Dr. Thomas W.
Wells, graduated on March 9, 1852, and practiced his profession at New Windsor until his removal to
Cincinnati, Ohio. He married Susan, daughter of John and Rachel Lamott.
The following is a list of public school trustees in this district for 1881 and 1882, together with the
names of teachers and number of pupils in each school:
1. Jesse Brown’s.—Leven Wright, John E. Houck, Adam Shaffer.
2 and 3. Snydersburg (Nos. 1 and 2).—J. Switzer, Wm. H. Ruby, John T. Reed.
4. Eberg.—John Strickland, George Gross, George Shaffer.
5 and 6.—Hampstead (Nos. 1 and 2).—James Sugars, William Houck, Jacob Caltrider.
7. Houcksville.—Michael Buchman, Joseph Brummel, A.J. Houck.
8. Emory Chapel.—Appointments deferred.
9. Lowe’s.—Miles Long, D. Leister, Lewis Green.
10. Salem.—J.M. Bush, John P. Murray, John A. Armacost.
11. Mount Union Mills.—Thomas J. Gorsuch, Casper Millander, William Kagle.
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, E.S. Martin, 39 pupils; 2, A. Eugenia Foltz, 36 pupils 3, J.H.L. Boyer, 39 pupils; 4, G.A. Leister,
46 pupils; 5, Mettie Miller, 44 pupils; 6, W.A. Abbott, 42 pupils; 7, Joel Sykes, 58 pupils; 8, Anna
M. Buckingham, 27 pupils; 9, J. Thomas Green, 27 pupils; 10, Sadie E. Myers, 34 pupils 11, John
W. Rilb, 48 pupils.
The justices are Dr. Hanson T. Drach, John W. Abbott; Constable, Benjamin Croft.
Below are given the votes cast for local officers in this district from 1851 to 1861, inclusive:
1851.—Vote for Primary School Commissioner: F.J. Smith 101, Daniel Hoover 89, F.J. Smith 126,
Daniel Hoover 88.
1853.—For Justices: D.W. Houck 184, Richard Harris 160, H. Jordan 68; Constables: John Marsh
67, Jetson L. Gill 179; Road Supervisor: Joseph Armacost: 174, Jacob Lippo 72.
1855.—For Justices: Richard Harris 122, Jesse Brown 103, John Fowble 141, George Richards
150; Constables: J.L. Gill 137, J. Campbell 121; Road Supervisor: E. Ebaugh 110, Leonard Belt 154.
1857.—For Justices: Dr. H.M. Drach 183, George Richards 189, J.L. Gill 120, Daniel Richards 116;
Constables: H.W. Ports 177, Jerome Ebaugh 121; Road Supervisor: L. Belt 172, C.P. Frick 121,
William Corbin 8.
1859.—For Justices: H.M. Drach 162, Jesse Brown 149, John Lamotte 62, R. Harris 137; Constables:
J.G. Gittinger 175, Jerome Ebaugh 134; Road Supervisor: Leonard Belt 179, Henry Stansbury 130.
1861.—For Justices: W.S. Wooden 209, Jacob Miller 194, Jesse Brown 116, Richard Harris 131;
Constables: Elisha Bromwell 216, Alfred Ruby 108; Road Supervisor: William Houck 199, Leonard
The reputation of Hampstead District for good order has been uniformly excellent, and there has
seldom happened anything of an exciting character to arouse the feelings of the inhabitants. On the
night of Feb. 12, 1870, however, at a place known as Houck & Hoffman’s fulling-mill, and about one
mile from the store of D.W. Houck, Edward Woolman, a German, stabbed Samuel P. Linkinhofer to
the heart with a shoemaker’s knife, killing him instantly. At the subsequent investigation Woolman
was discharged from custody, it having been shown that the homicide was committed in self-defense.
FRANKLIN DISTRICT, No. 9.
The Ninth District of Carroll County, known as Franklin, is bounded on the north by the districts of New
Windsor and Westminster, on the west by Freedom, on the south by Howard County, and on the west by
Frederick County. Morgan’s Run waters the northern portion of the district, Gillis’ Falls the centre and
south, and a number of small streams pass through the western part of Franklin. The southern extremity
of Franklin District is traversed by the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, which offers unlimited facilities for
the disposal of produce, and the Western Maryland passes through New Windsor, not very far from the
northern boundary. The following are the metes and bounds prescribed by the commission of 1837, which
were afterwards slightly altered by an act of Assembly passed May 23, 1853, and already given:
“Beginning at Parr’s Spring; thence with the Western Branch of Patapsco Falls to the junction of Gillis’s
Falls; thence with Gillis’s Falls to James Steel’s, leaving him in District No. 5; thence with a straight line
to a branch crossing the new Liberty rood near Conway’s; thence with a straight line to Crawford’s road
at the old Liberty; thence up the old Liberty road to Farfer’s old fields; thence with the road running near
Gideon Mitchel’s, leaving him in District No. 9; thence with said road to Morgan’s Run; thence up
Morgan’s Run to Hawkins’ Branch, to a road leading from Benjamin Gorsuch to George Warfield’s store;
thence with the road leading to the ‘Stone Chapel;’ thence with Howard’s road to Turkey Foot Branch;
thence down said branch to Philip Nicodemuses mill; thence with the lines of District No. 2 to Sandis’
Mill; thence with the county line to the place of beginning.”
Franklinville was made the place for holding the polls. The district contained 2225 inhabitants in 1880.
This district was settled by the English and emigrants from the southern counties of the province of
Maryland. Among the first settlers were the Franklins, from whom the district took its name, Charles
and Alexander Warfield, John and David Evans, Rawlingses, Beaches, Samuel Kitzmiller, the Waterses,
Brashearses, Spurriers, Gosnells, Barneses, Ingelses, Buckinghams, Lindsays, Dorseys, Bennetts
(Samuel, Benjamin, and Lloyd), Selbys, Hoods, and Elgins.
Ebenezer church (M.E.), a frame building, is situated in the eastern part of the district, on the road
from Winfield to Defiance, and was built in 1854. For the past six years it has been a part of the New
Windsor Circuit, and before that was connected with Westminster. Its pastors for 1881 were Revs.
James Cadden and Howard Downs. In the graveyard adjoining the church are buried
Perry C. Harp, died April 26, 1879, aged 80.
Elisa Ann, wife of R.L. Farver, died Oct. 17, 1872, aged 40.
Nicholas H. Jenkins, died Jan. 31, 1877, aged 61.
Arrey, wife of Warner Pickett, born June 29, 1821, died Jan. 28, 1871.
Marcilia, wife of J.T. Jenkins, born Oct. 16, 1848, died Aug. 2, 1872.
Joseph Atkins, of First Massachusetts Cavalry, died July 8, 1863, aged 34.
Catharine Harp, died Nov. 16, 1874, aged 73.
John Day, died March 5, 1871, aged 60; and his wife, Emily, born Jan. 29, 1818, died April 30, 1876.
Joshua Grimes, died April 12, 1867, aged 61.
David A. Hiltabidel, born Aug. 23, 1818, died Nov. 21, 1862; and Temperance, his wile, died Dec.
31, 1866, aged 51.
Samuel Choate, born Jan. 28, 1822, died Nov. 1, 1862.
Hamilton P. Skidmore, died March 17, 1878, aged 51.
Ruth Ann, wife of Basil Shipley, died Feb. 24, 1859, aged 27.
Cordelia, wife of Perry G. Burdett, died April 28, 1857, aged 28.
Catharine, wife of Joseph Frizzell, died Jan. 16, 1871, aged 63.
John W. Criswell, died Nov. 18, 1858, aged 42; and Ruth, his wife, Dec. 28, 1879, aged 66.
Sarah A. Rawlings, born Nov. 3, 1809, died May 29, 1878.
Catharine, wife of Dr. J. Rinehart, died Dec. 19, 1879, aged 25.
Corrilla, wife of John A. Snider, died Jan. 23, 1872, aged 39.
Taylorsville was named in honor of Gen. Zachary Taylor, and the first house was built in it in
May, 1846, by Henry D. Franklin. Mr. Franklin still resides therein, and has adjoining a
wagon-making shop, which he carries on. The second settler in the place was David Buckingham,
who keeps a store and is the postmaster.
The Methodist Episcopal church is a neat frame edifice erected in 1878, before which services were
held in a building constructed in 1850, and now used as a band hall. The present pastor is Rev. Mr.
Shriner, and the Sunday-school superintendent is Thomas Shipley. In the cemetery attached to the
church are buried James Beach, born Aug. 19, 1846, died Oct. 29, 1880; Charles G. Franklin, died
Dec. 24, 1878, aged seventy; N. Harvey Shipley, died Feb. 4, 1881, aged eighteen; Louisa, wife of
David Buckingham, died July 22, 1849, aged forty-two.
Franklinville is seven and a half miles from Mount Airy and near Parr’s Falls, a small stream which
drains the neighborhood. It was settled in the beginning of the century, and named for the Franklin
family, one of the first to settle in the district, about 1745. R. Dorsey is merchant and postmaster, and
Dr. R.O.D. Warfield, the physician of the village. William Long, John Elgin, and John T. Derr have shoe-
shops, and George Pickett and Jesse Wilson are the millers. It is the voting-place of the district, and is
pleasantly situated on the old Liberty road.
The Methodist Episcopal Church South (Bethany) was organized in 1871, under the auspices of Rev.
A.Q. Flaherty, and its neat frame edifice was built in the same year. Its pastors have been:
1871-73, Rev. A.Q. Flaherty; 1873-76, Rev. David Bush; 1876-79, Rev. W.R. Stringer; 1879-82, Rev.
In the graveyard in its rear are, among others, the following interments:
Levin Gosnell, died Dec. 21, 1879, aged 86.
Bennett Spurrier, died Nov. 9, 1879, aged 75; and his wife, Rachel, died Dec. 25, 1879, aged 77.
Lizzie M., wife of Samuel Elgin, died March 1, 1875, aged 68.
Lewis Lindsay, died Nov. 21, 1878, aged 57.
Casadora Lindsay, died June 18, 1876, aged 28.
Charles W. Franklin, died March 1, 1874, aged 53.
Samuel Kitzmiller, died Sept. 15, 1854, and born May 10, 1790; and his wife, Catharine, born
June 8, 1799, died June 22, 1865.
Thomas B. Franklin, died Oct. 30, 1878, aged 65.
Winfield is six miles from the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad at Woodbine, and was named in honor of
Gen. Winfield Scott. The Bethel Church of God, Rev. Mr. Palmer, is located here. The village was
established about 1851 and 1852. Franklin Grange, No. 117, of Patrons of Husbandry, of which Dr. F.J.
Crawford was for a long time Master, holds its meetings in Winfleld. H.M. Zile is a merchant in the
village, and James Easton postmaster. Dr. F.J. Crawford is the physician. Its schools, Pine Orchard
and Jenkins’, are among the best in the county.
Mount Airy, so named from its elevated and healthy location, is on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad.
J.C. Duvall is postmaster and track foreman. The store-keepers are J.B. Runkles, S.E. Grove, A.
Anderson, and Cochran & Harrington. The hotels are kept by R.A. Nelson and C.A. Smith. Drs. B.H.
Todd and J.E. Bromwell are the physicians, and T.P. Mullinix, railroad and express agent. The Mount
Airy Coal and Iron Company was incorporated March 9, 1854, with F.A. Schley, J.M. Schley, Thomas
Hammond, George Schley, and John G. Lynn as incorporators.
Newport, a small hamlet, lies near the Frederick County line.
Parrsville and Ridgeville, small villages, lie south of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. In the former is a
Methodist Episcopal church, and between it and Mount Airy is the Presbyterian church.
Hooper’s Delight, a neat brick school-house, a mile from Sam’s Creek, was built in 1875.
Bethel Methodist Episcopal church, a brick building of two stories and a basement, was erected in
1860 on the site where the old log structure stood in 1815. It belongs to the New Windsor Circuit, and
its pastors for 1881 were Rev. Howard Downs and J.A. Fadden. The beautiful cemetery adjoining the
church contains the graves of the following persons:
Thomas Devilbiss, died July 12, 1878, aged 77.
Benjamin Bennett, born Aug. 21, 1809, died Dec. 23, 1863.
Robert Bennett, died March 26, 1856, aged 78; and Elizabeth Bennett, died Jan. 4, 1846, aged 78.
Nathan B. Stocksdale, born Feb. 2, 1806, died Jan. 20, 1865.
Jesse M. Zile, born July 26, 1831, died June 11, 1875.
Lewis Keefer, born July 31, 1803, died Sept. 7, 1880; and Rachel, his wife, died July 26, 1873,
Mahlon, son of Casper and A.E. Devilbiss, died Nov. 8, 1878, aged 44.
Casper Devilbiss, died March 4, 1868, aged 73.
Mary Hiteshew, died Dec. 10, 1871, aged 88.
Sarah T. Sebier, died Nov. 21, 1871, aged 55.
Mary Nusbaum, died Jan. 1, 1864, aged 44.
David Nusbaum, died Sept. 24, 1861, aged 60.
Benjamin Sharrets, born Feb. 19, 1808, died Aug. 24, 1873.
Mary M. Sharrets, born April 3, 1812, died March 26, 1874.
John L. Reigler, born July 5, 1805, died April 12, 1879; and Annie, his wife, died March 24, 1862,
Ursala Barbara Reigler, born Dec. 14, 1814, died March 5, 1874.
John Greenwood, born Feb. 25, 1817, died Feb. 12, 1878.
Ellen Chase, died June 19, 1874, aged 62.
Mary E., wife of R. Dorsey, born Oct. 20, 1829, died April 17, 1873.
Urland Greenwood, died Dec. 3, 1875, aged 57.
Stephen Gorsuch, died June 5, 1880, aged 80.
Jane Gorsuch, born June 19, 1786, died Sept. 3, 1856.
Nathan, son of Stephen and Jane Gorsuch, born Jan. 26, 1826, died April 6, 1849.
Thomas Poole, died Aug. 31, 1821, aged 37.
Dr. Lewis Kelly, died April 13, 1872, aged 30.
Alexander Warfield, died Jan. 6, 1835, aged 70; and his wife, Jemima, died Nov. 20, 1847, aged 72.
Elizabeth Worthington, born Oct. 22, 1826, died July 6, 1851.
Rev. Joshua Jones, died Sept. 19, 1836, aged 70; and his wife, Annie, March 12, 1811, aged 33.
Horatio J. Warfield, died Aug. 5, 1877, aged 53.
Rev. Geo. W. Johnson, born Oct. 10, 1841, died May 28, 1874.
Francis A. Davis, died. Dec. 7, 1850, aged 50; and his wife, Cecilia, died Aug. 28, 1849, aged 40.
Rev. John Davis, died April 28, 1847, aged 85.
Joshua Warfield, died April 1, 1880, aged 79.
Evelina C. Warfield, died May 24, 1877, aged 47.
David Warfield, died March 4, 1871, aged 43.
Virginia S., wife of J.P. Naill, died July 22, 1874, aged 28.
Near this church—but a few yards away—is the old Alexander Warfield homestead. It is now occupied
by Rev. Charles A. Reid, a native of Virginia, who began preaching in the Methodist Episcopal Church in
1842. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Joshua Warfield, and granddaughter of Alexander Warfield. The
latter’s father was one of the earliest settlers in the district, and owned all the land around the Bethel
church. Alexander Warfield was first married to Elizabeth Woodward, Dec. 30, 1788, by whom he had
four children. He was again married March 11, 1797, to Jemima Dorsey. His house, built over a hundred
years ago and now occupied by Rev. Dr. Reid, was the early stopping place of Bishop Asbury and all the
circuit riders and preachers. Bishop Asbury visited it last in 1816. Mr. Warfield was church steward in
1801, and active in the church services until his death, Jan. 6, 1835. At John Evan’s old house, now
owned by Jesse Stern, was likewise a home for preachers, and preaching held there as late as 1809,
when services were transferred to the house of Benjamin Bennett. The Evan’s house was a log structure
one and a half stories high. Samuel and Lloyd Bennett were early converted to Methodism, and became
noted in the church.
Creameries.—Pinkney J. Bennett owns two creameries, both of which are in successful operation, one
of which is located in the Franklin District and the other in New Windsor. He is the largest butter producer
in Maryland. His establishments are fitted up with the best of machinery, and together have a capacity of
ten thousand pounds of butter daily. His varied appliances include five horse engines. At present he is
making about five thousand pounds daily, while the average daily yield throughout the year is six
thousand pounds. The lands in the vicinity are finely adapted to the business, producing the best of blue
grass and clover, and are free from noxious weeds. Mr. Bennett gets his milk from thirty-five farmers, and
the amount used is the product of a herd of four hundred cows, all healthy and vigorous animals. The
butter is made by machinery, and is never touched by the employés during its manufacture. He also
makes ice-cream and ships milk, but makes no cheese. He does not think that the increased value of
the product is equivalent to the extra labor, and believes his butter will keep longer. The yield per
hundred pounds of milk he also thinks to be greater than cheese-makers realize, and by returning the
sour milk to the farmers for their pigs, he can buy for less than if it were retained for cheese-making.
The price the farmers get for the milk is equivalent, if they made it into butter, to about twenty-five cents
per pound of butter.
The creameries are two stories high, thirty-five by forty feet, with engine-houses ten by twelve feet, and
are erected over streams of running water.
The farmers of the county are awakening to the importance of creameries, and at their solicitation Mr.
Bennett is considering the establishment of two more.
He has been in the business since 1876, and since the first difficulties were overcome, of the educating
of the farmers of his vicinity to keeping pastures and the necessity of cleanliness, he has been quite
successful in his enterprises. He is a progressive and energetic gentleman, and has ample means to
Harrisville, a small hamlet, is in the western part of Franklin District and on the Frederick County line.
Hood & Clary have a store here, and the place has a mill and several shops.
Watersville is a village situated in the Franklin District, on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, about forty
miles from Baltimore. The Methodist Episcopal and Baptist congregations have a place of worship.
England & Kenly are the merchants of the town, and the former is postmaster. Dr. S.R. Waters is the
practicing physician for the village and the surrounding country, and it is from his family, one of the oldest
in the district, that the town derives its name. Joshua Hall is the railroad foreman stationed at this point,
and D.L. Kenly is the railroad and express agent. The country in the vicinity of the village is noted as a
David Crawford, one of the first settlers in New Windsor District, where in early days he was a leading
man in public affairs, was a native of Pennsylvania. He married Miss Lloyd, from which union were born
seven sons and two daughters. Of these, Evan Lloyd Crawford married Isabella Smith, a daughter of
Duncan Smith. She was born at Inverness, Scotland, near the city of Edinburgh, and came to America
with her parents when a little girl. Evan Lloyd Crawford was the father of one son and four girls, who grew
up to maturity, and of the latter three yet survive. The son, Francis Jesse Crawford, was born on the farm
on which he now resides, then in Baltimore County, Nov. 1, 1819. Until twenty-one years of age he
worked on the farm, and attended the neighborhood schools during the winter months. He then attended
for three years the academy at Johnsville, Frederick Co., of which that eminent instructor, Prof. John S.
Sandbatch, was principal. Among his classmates was Judge William N. Hayden, of Westminster. He
taught school for several winters near home, in both Baltimore and Frederick Counties, to acquire funds
sufficient to enable him to prosecute his studies for the medical profession. He then read medicine with
Dr. James H. Claggett, of Washington County, one of the most distinguished physicians of his day, after
which he attended the lectures of Washington University, in Baltimore, where he graduated in the class
of 1843 and ’44. In that institution he was under the tutelage of such eminent and learned men as Drs.
Baxley, Vaughan, Jennings, Moncur, and Webster, great lights in the medical world. After his graduation
he returned to his home in Franklin District and began the practice of his profession, in which he has
been successfully engaged for thirty-eight years. In that period of time he has not been excelled as a
practitioner, and before the war his practice extended over a field now filled by some eight physicians. In
one year he paid two thousand two hundred medical visits, of which sixty-five were in obstetrical cases.
The doctor is strong Democrat in politics and active in the counsels of his party, and, although often
solicited by his friends, has ever firmly refused to be an aspirant for office. Some thirty years ago he
became a member of Salem Lodge No. 60, I.O.O.F., at Westminster, and subsequently of Columbia
Encampment, No. 14, of the same place. On the institution of St. Stephen’s Lodge, No. 95, I.O.O.F., at
Defiance, in May, 1857, he was one of its charter members, and since then has passed all the chairs,
and has been a representative to the Grand Lodge. He is Master of Franklin Grange, Patrons of
Husbandry, No. 117, and was largely instrumental in its organization. Although connected with no
denomination, he is a liberal giver to all the churches in his neighborhood. He was married in May, 1853,
to Ruth Elizabeth Bennett, daughter of Benjamin Bennett, of Franklin District, by which union he has five
children: Fannie Belle, married to Dr. R.O.D. Warfield; Kate Emma, married to Henry S. Davis; Francis
Albert, William Lloyd, and Charles Clement, besides two daughters who died young. Dr. Crawford’s fine
farm of three hundred and seventy acres, known as Waterloo, is within some sixty yards of the Frederick
County line. He is a self-made man, who, with no resources with which to begin life but a firm will and
energy, has by his ability and industry reached an eminent place in his profession, and has been
otherwise very successful in life. He is the most noted fox-hunter in the county, and has a pack of
eighteen hounds unsurpassed in this part of Maryland. He is also a fine horseman, and in breeding horses
has made the Morgan stock a specialty, having years ago purchased from Col. Carroll a pure-blooded
Morgan mare. His horses are among the first in Carroll County. In cattle he prefers Alderneys or Jerseys,
and his herds take rank with the best and purest in the State.
Below are given the votes cast for local officers in this district from 1851 to 1861, inclusive:
1851.—Vote for Primary School Commissioner: Charles Dunning 87, Stephen Gorsuch 86, Charles
Denning 156, Evan L. Crawford 44.
1853.—For Justices: Thos. B. Owings 145, Charles Denning 164, E.L. Crawford 52, John Hood 171,
David Buckingham 117, Aquila Pickett 139; Constables: Joshua Shuster 175, Lewis Lindsey 116,
H.B. Skidmore 53, Nimrod Buckingham 118; Road Supervisor: F.J. Crawford 148, A.P. Barnes 160.
1855.—For Justices: Milton Bussard 209, Aquila Picket 203, A. Albaugh 215, T.B. Owings 135,
C. Denning 127, G.W. Chase 87; Constables: John Hood 222, J. Criswell 233, Henry Lida 117;
Road Supervisor: Wm. Gosnell 223, J. Nausbaum 127.
1857.—For Justices: T.B. Owings 105, A. Pickett 166, Abraham Albaugh 172, F.A. Switzer 183,
John Hood 83; Constables: Vachel Hammond 199, J.V. Criswell 212; Road Supervisor: G.H. Davis
124, W. Gosnell 177.
1859.—For Justices: T.B. Owings 116, John Hood 174, F.A. Switzer 163, Aquila Pickett 164, J.
Thomas Young 185; Constables: W.W. Pickett 184, J.B. Runkles 173; Road Supervisor: Jesse
Jarrett 98, Kanan Sprinkle 67.
1861.—For Justices: J.W. Cochran 256, John T. Young 255, Aquila Pickett 247; Constables: W.W.
Pickett 248, W.P. Davis 264; Road Supervisor: W.H. Barnes 261.
The following is a list of public school trustees for 1881 and 1882, together with the names of
teachers and number of scholars:
1. Parr’s Ridge.—No appointments.
2. Chestnut Grove.—James H. Steele, Wesley P. Gosnel. Dr. S.R. Waters.
3. Cabbage Spring.—J.N. Selby, S. Hood, N. Davis.
4. Franklinville.—Ambrose G. Franklin, W.H. Barnes, G.W. Baker.
5. Pine Orchard.—Augustus Brown, David Zile, David Cover.
6. Salem.—Wm. Y. Frizzell, John B.T. Sellman, Vincent Cresswell.
7. Hooper’s Delight.—No appointments.
8. Ridge.—Richard J. Brashears, Wesley Harrison, James Hood.
1. Fairview (African).—No appointments.
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, Ettie Shipley, 41 pupils; 2, Sallie N. Waters, 25 pupils; 3, Clara Selby, 40 pupils; 4, Jacob
Farver, 44 pupils; 5, A.W. Buckingham, 44 pupils; 6, Louisa. A. Hoffman, 41 pupils; 7, C.W.
Reagan, 32 pupils; 8, Geo. A. Davis, 41 pupils; 1 (colored school), John H. Henderson, 38 pupils.
MIDDLEBURG DISTRICT, No. 10.
The Tenth District of Carroll County, generally known as Middleburg, is bounded on the north by the
Taneytown District, on the west by the districts of Uniontown and Union Bridge and by Frederick County,
on the south by Frederick County. The Monocacy River, Double Pipe Creek, and Little Pipe Creek
separate the district from Frederick County, while Big Pipe Creek flows through the centre of the district.
These streams and their tributaries supply an abundance of water for all purposes. The Western Maryland
Railroad passes through the southern portion of the district, and the Frederick and Pennsylvania Line
Railroad divides it very nearly into equal portions, these roads furnishing ample facilities for outside
communication, trade, and traffic. The district in 1880 had a population of 1221.
Middleburg District was created by an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, passed March 24,
1852, in which William Shepperd, William Shaw, and John Clabaugh were named as commissioners
to ascertain and fix the boundaries. The town of Middleburg was chosen as the place for holding the polls.
The first settlers in the district were Scotch-Irish. They entered upon and cleared up a large amount of l
aud between 1750 and 1770.
Among the pioneers in this portion of the State were Normand Bruce, Philip and Francis Key, Upton Scott,
the Delaplanes, Dernses, and Landises. “Terra Rubra,” a tract of eighteen hundred and sixty-five acres,
was patented in 1752 to Philip Key, and “Runnymeade,” of three thousand six hundred and seventy-seven
acres, to Francis Key and Upton Scott in 1767.
Normand Bruce was sheriff of Frederick County before the Revolution under the proprietary government,
and the most important personage in this part of the county. “New Bedford,” of five thousand three
hundred and one acres, was patented in 1762 to Daniel McKenzie and John Logsden.
John Ross Key, son of Philip Key, the owner of “Terra Rubra,” was born in 1754. He was a lieutenant in
the First Artillery, which went from Maryland at the outbreak of the Revolutionary war, and owned a large
estate in Middleburg District, then a part of Taneytown, in Frederick County. His wife, Anne Phebe Key,
was born in 1775. Their mansion was of brick, with centre and wings and long porches. It was situated in
the centre of a large lawn, shaded by trees, and had attached to it an extensive terraced garden adorned
with shrubbery and flowers. Near by flowed Pipe Creek through a dense woods. A copious spring of the
purest water was at the foot of the hill. A meadow of waving grass spread out towards the Catoctin
Mountain, which could often be seen at sunset curtained in clouds of crimson and gold. When the labors
of the farm were over, in the evening, the negroes were summoned to prayers with the family, which
were usually conducted by Francis Scott Key when he was there, and by his mother when he was away.
After prayers, almost every night, as was common on plantations in Maryland, music and dancing might
be heard at the quarters of the negroes until a late hour. It was at this happy home that Roger Brooke
Taney, then a young attorney, and subsequently chief justice of the United States, married, Jan. 7, 1806,
Anne Phebe Charlton Key, daughter of the proprietor of the estate. John Ross Key died Oct. 9, 1821,
and his wife, Anne Phebe, July 8, 1850. Both are buried in Frederick City, in Mount Olivet Cemetery.
Their daughter, the wife of Judge Taney, died of yellow fever at Point Comfort, Va., Sept. 29, 1855, and
is buried near her parents in the same lot, by the side of her daughters, Ellen M. and Alice Carroll.
No man in Frederick County took a more active part in the Revolutionary struggle than John Ross Key,
who fought on the field, and was of great service to the patriot cause in committees and as a counselor.
As early as 1770, when a mere boy, he attended the preliminary meetings of the pioneers held at
Taneytown to consult as to the odious stamp measures then oppressing the colonies. He was the
father of the wife of Chief Justice Taney and of the author of “The
Star-Spangled Banner,”—one a woman of rare virtues and graces, and the other the favorite national poet.
Francis Scott Key, the author of the “Star-Spangled Banner,” was a native of Middleburg District, where
he was born Aug. 1, 1779. A graduate of St. John’s College, Annapolis, he adopted the law as his
profession, began his practice at Frederick, and thence removed to Georgetown, D.C. He was for many
years district attorney for the District of Columbia. His only sister was the wife of Roger B. Taney, chief
justice of the United States. Hon. George H. Pendleton, of Ohio, is one of his sons-in-law. (4*)
In personal appearance Mr. Key was tall and thin, cleanly shaven, with a head of heavy brown hair,
disposed to curl slightly. He had a face of marked beauty, of peculiar oval form, and a notable
sweetness of expression. He had large, dreamy, poetic eyes, and a genuinely sympathetic and mobile
countenance. A portrait in possession of his daughter, Mrs. Turner, who with some of her descendants
lives in California, has been copied for the statue to adorn the monument which is to be erected to him
in accordance with the $150,000 bequest for that purpose of James Lick, the millionaire.
Mr. Key died in Baltimore, Jan. 11, 1843, while on a visit to his son-in-law, Charles Howard, and was
buried in the Monumental City. At the death of his wife, in 1857, his remains were removed and placed
y the side of her remains in Mount Olivet Cemetery, Frederick City, under the direction of his son-in-law,
Hon. George Hunt Pendleton, United States senator from Ohio, who married his daughter Alice, the
favorite niece of Chief Justice Roger Brooke Taney.
Daniel Turner, who graduated at the head of the first class which went out from West Point Military
Academy, was a nephew of Jacob Turner, one, of three commissioned officers who, with six soldiers,
were killed in the battle of Germantown.
After the war of 1812, Turner retired from the army and became a member of Congress from North
Carolina. John Randolph, then in Congress, an intimate friend of John Ross Key, and a frequent visitor
at his hospitable home, took Mr. Turner there and introduced him into the Key family, one of whose
daughters he married.
The Scott family was an old one in the district, and one of its most noted members, Hon. Upton Scott,
was born in Annapolis in 1810, when his mother was on a visit to her relatives. He was a delegate to
the General Assembly in 1846, and in 1866 removed to Baltimore County, and later to Baltimore City.
Governor Whyte appointed him a justice of the peace for the city, and he was reappointed by Governor
Carroll. Mr. Scott died in Baltimore, Aug. 3, 1881. He was the father of Mrs. Judge William N. Hayden,
and brother-in-law of Hon. John B. Boyle, both of Westminster. His father, John Scott, married a
daughter of Normand Bruce.
Middleburg, the largest village in the district, is situated on the Frederick road. The land on the south
side of that road was originally owned by the Brooks family, and it was a dense woods in 1800. The
town in 1817 comprised the following houses: The old stone house now occupied by William Dukart
was then kept as a tavern by William Neal. An old stone house also stood upon the site of J.H.
Winebrenner’s dwelling, a part of which was, in 1817, used by Mr. Clapsaddle as a blacksmith-shop.
Mr. Fulwiler, a tailor, lived in the house now occupied by Dr. Thompson, which was built about the year
1800 by John Dust, and is the oldest house in the village. The stone house now owned by Arnold was
built in 1815, or thereabouts, and was then owned by Dickey Brooks. The tavern now owned by Lewis
Lynn was also built about the year 1815. The building now occupied by Mr. Williams, and which belongs
to Mary Koontz, was built in 1816, and was intended to be used as a bank, as at that time there was talk
of organizing a county, and Middleburg was to be the county-seat. Dr. William Zollicoffer was the
physician, and moved here in 1817, and lived in a shed-house which was attached to the Williams
property. Mr. Steiner kept a store in the house where Mr. Thompson now lives, there being then an
additional building attached to it, which has since been removed. Mr. Zultzer kept a store in the Williams
property. The old well which is situated on the pike south of Mr. Arnold’s residence was dug by an
Irishman, named Elick Fulton, in 1803. It is supposed that the town received its name from the fact that
it is situated about middle way between Westminster and Frederick. It did not improve much until after
the war of 1812-14, when, under the lead of Mr. Winemiller, several fine houses were erected. The house
now occupied by Susanna Dehoff was standing in 1817, and was owned by her mother.
At a meeting of the “Columbian Independent Company,” commanded by Capt. Nicholas Snider, of
Taneytown, and the “Independent Pipe Creek Company,” under the command of Capt. Thomas Hook,
held at Middleburg, Oct. 13, 1821, information of the death of Gen. John Ross Key was first received.
Middleburg is on the Western Maryland Railroad, forty-eight miles from Baltimore and fifteen from
Westminster, in a fertile and thriving section of country. The merchants are Ferdinand Warner and H.D.
Fuss; the physician, Dr. Charles Thompson; and the hotel-keeper, Lewis F. Lynn. A large pottery
establishment is conducted by U.T. Winemiller.
The congregation of the Methodist Episcopal Church, which is quite old, held its services in the old
log school-house until 1850, when the church was built. Rev. William Keith was the pastor in 1866, and
was succeeded by Rev. Mr. Haslet, who was followed by Rev. J.D. Moore, Rev. William Ferguson,
Rev. George Madewell, Rev. Charles West, Rev. Mr. Smith, and others. E.O. Elridge is the present
pastor. The officers of the church are C. Brooks, Mr. Buffington, J.A. Miller, E.C. Utter. Attached to
this church is a neat cemetery, and the following persons are buried there:
Isaac Dern, died March 9, 1864, aged 75.
Mary, wife of Joshua Delaplane, died Aug. 11, 1862, aged 87 years, 4 months, 20 days.
John Delaplane, born Aug. 10, 1793, died Feb. 10, 1868.
Abraham L. Lynn, born Aug. 13, 1844, died April 5, 1872.
Anna E., wife of D.H. Lynn, died Aug. 17, 1873, aged 20 years, 7 months, 7 days.
Anna R., wife of C.W. Winemiller, died April 7, 1876, aged 32 years, 5 months, 19 days.
Michael Magkley, born April 16, 1799, died Dec. 19, 1878.
Joshua Parrish, died March 27, 1862, aged 59 years, 7 months, 24 days.
John Wesley Wilson, born April 7, 1818, died Oct. 11, 1856.
Mary Dayhoof, died Jan. 1, 1858, aged 47 years, 1 month, 13 days.
Joseph Dayhoof, died Feb. 16, 1862, aged 57 years, 18 days.
William Koons, born July 2, 1794, died Dec. 18, 1852.
John Nipple, born Jan. 27, 1815, died Dec. 31, 1877.
Margaret Souder, wife of Joshua S., died June 18, 1850, aged 50 years, 7 months, 14 days.
Henrietta, wife of Evan C. Otts, died March 24, 1856, aged 35 years, 9 days.
Catharine, wife of George Hope, died Jan. 22, 1853, aged 86.
Frederick Dern, Jr., died May 20, 1863, aged 35 years, 11 months, 23 days.
Mary J., his wife, died May 31, 1861, aged 36 years, 4 months, 15 days.
Frederick, Sophia, John W., their three children.
Ann P., daughter of J. and M. Winemiller, died Dec. 11, 1859, aged 16 years, 2 months, 25 days.
John H. Winemiller, died March 14, 1879, aged 59 years, 8 months, 12 days.
Susan Alice, their daughter, died Dec. 2, 1859, aged 11 years, 10 months, 7 days.
John N.F. Winemiller, died Dec. 8, 1859, aged 8 years, 1 day.
Thomas Hook, died May 12, 1869, aged 77 years, 23 days.
Sarah Hook, died May 17, 1868, aged 83 years, 4 months, 23 days.
Elizabeth C. Hook, died June 13, 1858, aged 33 years, 14 days.
Regina E., daughter of J.M. and Agnes McAllister, died Jan. 4, 1863, aged 16 years, 10 months, 1 day.
Lavina Margaret, wife of Abendago Flick, died Nov. 8, 1855, aged 27 years, 23 days.
John W. McAllister, died Nov. 10, 1880, aged 82 years, 8 months, 12 days.
Agnes McAllister, died Oct. 23, 1880, aged 75 years, 9 months, 13 days.
David Hope, died Nov. 1, 1859, aged 57 years, 4 months, 22 days.
Keysville, a small village, received its title from the fact that the land upon which the old
school-house and church were built was presented to the inhabitants by Francis Scott Key.
Though the house in which Mr. Key was born has disappeared, a large barn and spring-house, which
he built not long before he died, are still standing on the farm now owned by John Winemiller, and
occupied by Jacob Wentz.
Double Pipe Creek is on the Western Maryland Railroad, fifty-one miles from Baltimore. Double Pipe
Creek, from which it takes its name, is near, and furnishes water sufficient for milling and other purposes.
The improvements recently made indicate the zeal and energy of the people. Of the Dunker Church,
here located, Revs. D. Panel and Daniel R. Sayler are the preachers. The merchants are John T. Ott,
J.W. Weant, and J.H. Angell; the latter is also postmaster. The physician is Dr. Charles H. Diller.
William T. Miller has a cooper’s factory, and
C.B. Anders runs the flouring-mill. There are several shops and local industries that give considerable
business to the place.
The old stone mill at Double Pipe Creek, now owned and operated by C.B. Anders, has stood since 1794,
in which year it was founded by Joshua Delaplaine, although it was not completed until 1800, as an
inscription upon a stone in the “fire arch” bears witness. Joshua Delaplaine was a manufacturer of some
note in his day, and carried on not only the grist-mill, but a woolen-mill on the opposite side of the creek.
The last-named structure still stands, but no looms have made music within its walls for these many
years. In 1836, Henry Waspe built an addition to the grist-mill, making it what it now is. In 1878, C.B.
Anders bought the mill and other property of Thomas Cover. Mr. Anders was born at Double Pipe Creek
in 1850, and in the old Delaplaine mill his father, Aaron, was a miller many years ago. Aaron Anders
removed to Linganore, and in the mill at that place followed his calling upwards of twenty-five years. C.B.
Anders was placed in the Linganore mill when sixteen years of age, and has ever since followed the
occupation of a miller. His mill, three stories in height, is furnished with four pairs of burrs, has a capacity
of one hundred barrels of flour daily, and is devoted almost exclusively to merchant-work. The motive
power is supplied by two turbine-wheels measuring, respectively, fifty-four and thirty-six inches in
diameter, with a head of nine feet. The manufacturing apparatus includes all the latest devised mill
improvements. All the barrels used are manufactured in the mill. The total number of employés is seven.
Choice Red Longberry wheat is chiefly used in the production of flour for shipment, and in Baltimore the
“Double Pipe Creek” brand ranks high. Mr. Anders owns also the old Delaplaine woolen-mill property, a
brick residence on the Frederick County side of the creek, and two residences on the Carroll County side,
besides the railroad warehouse. His home, near the railway depot, is a handsome two-story structure of
imposing appearance. He built it in 1878, and spared no expense to make it a model of its kind. It is a
striking object in the architecture of the village, and is conceded to be one of the most completely
appointed homes in Carroll County.
Bruceville is a small village about the centre of the district. Long before the Revolutionary war, Normand
Bruce, a Scotchman, emigrated to this country and settled in the Middleburg District, in the locality now
known as Keysville. At that time the land in and about Bruceville was owned by John Ross Key. Bruce
desiring the Key property for the purpose of building a mill on Big Pipe Creek, entered into negotiations
with Key, which resulted in an exchange of their estates. Bruce erected a large stone mill, which stood
until February, 1881, when it was partially destroyed by fire. He also built a dwelling-house, the same
which is now occupied by Frederick Mehring. The town was laid out by Bruce and named about the close
of the eighteenth century. Bruce had three children,—Betsey, who married John Scott, the parents of the
late Upton Scott, Mrs. Daniel Swope, and Mrs. John Brook Boyle. Charles Bruce, one of his sons, was
born in Middleburg District, but in early life left this country and resided in the West Indies. While on a visit
to his birthplace he first saw his sister, she then being a wife with a large family. Bruce was the third son.
The Landis family came from Scotland in 1812, and located on a part of the Key estate. John Landis, one
of the sons, who is still living, was in Washington in the year 1814, learning his trade, and was among the
first who saw the British fleet sailing up the Potomac.
Nicholas Kuhen was the earliest blacksmith in the town, and Jesse Cloud kept the hotel. Dr. Leggett was
the physician, and Mr. Trego the merchant. Hudson and Brooks were prominent farmers who resided near
the mill at the time of its erection.
What was at one time quite an extensive cemetery is at present a thick growth of underbrush, and
contains only five graves the inscriptions upon which can be deciphered:
Basil Brooks, eldest son of Raphael and Jane, died Jan. 24, 1829, aged 56.
Robert T. Dodds, died April 17, 1806, aged 74, “a native of East Lothian County, Scotland, of
Haddington, of Aberlada;” Selkirk Dodds, his wife, “a native of Edinburgh, Scotland,” died April 24,
1825, aged 73.
John Dodds, their son, died Oct. 17, 1816, aged 42.
John Scott, died Feb. 28, 1814, aged 71.
It is stated that the body of Normand Bruce lies in this yard, but should the same be true, it is unmarked
by even a grave.
Double Pipe Creek Division, No. 36, of Sons of Temperance, was incorporated by an act of the
Legislature, passed March 3, 1847. The incorporators were John E.H. Ligget, George H. Warsche,
Isaac Dern, Eli Otto, Noah Pennington, Benjamin Poole, Martin Grimes, Nicholas Stansbury, Hiram
Fogle, George Landers, James Thomas, William Carmack, Abednego Slick, Francis Carmack, Joseph
Fogle, Jesse Anders, William Miller, Edward Carmack, Samuel Birely.
York Road is the station and post-office for Bruceville. It is a small village, at the junction of the Western
Maryland Railroad with the Frederick Division of the Pennsylvania Line Railroad, and is sixteen miles
from Westminster by rail. David Hiltabidle is the railroad and express agent and postmaster. Dr. M.A.
Lauver is the physician.
The following is the vote for local officers in this district from 1853 to 1861, inclusive:
1853.—Vote for Justices: Isaac Dern 113, David Otto 73, David Hope 67, J.W. McAllister 57;
Constable: John Six 105; Road Supervisor: J.W. Wilson 43, Thomas Hook 90, Philip W. Hann 47.
1855.—For Justices: J. Delaplane 123, David Otto 128, Thomas Hook 71, J.W. McAllister 74;
Constables: John Six 115, A. Slick 91; Road Supervisor: John Angell 109, H. CIabaugh 98.
1857.—For Justices: David Otto 174, John Delaplane 144; Constables: John Six 160, J.S. Shriner
149; Road Supervisor: Jacob Sayler 177.
1859.—For Justices: Thomas Hook 93, John Delaplane 130, A.S. Zentz 146; Constables: John
Six 158, John A. Mackley 148; Road Supervisor: Ephraim Hiteshue 163.
1861.—For Justices: Samuel Angell 182, John Delaplane 181; Constables: John Six 188, Samuel
T. Linn 178; Road Supervisor: Nicholas Koons 149, A.S. Zentz 81.
The following are the public school trustees for 1881 and 1882, together with the names of teachers
and number of pupils:
1. Mount Union.—John Shunk, J. Thaddeus Starr, Henry Williams.
2. Middleburg.—Dr. C. Thomson, Lewis Lynn, Moses Seabrook.
3. Bruceville,—Jacob Buffington, John Biehl, M. Fringer.
4. Franklin.—Samuel Waybright, Joshua Dutterer, Sylvester Valentine.
5. Keysville.—Aaron Weant, Peter Writter, Benjamin Poole.
6. Double Pipe Creek.—J.W. Weant, A.N. Forney, Lewis Cash.
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, were:
1, W.J. Crabbs, 50 pupils; 2, S. Jannetta Dutterer, 39 pupils; 3, C.F. Reindollar, 46 pupils; 4, S.
Lina Norris, 41 pupils; 5, James B. Galt, 46 pupils; 6, Luther Kemp, 27 pupils.
The justices of the peace are Calvin Warner, Joseph Arnold; Constable, Moses Seabrook.
On Thursday, Aug. 28, 1817, Jacob Christ was married to Miss Elizabeth Appler, daughter of
Jacob Appler, by Rev. Curtis Williams.
“American Devon Herd-Book,” vol. iii, and old American Farmer, vol. iv. p. 29.
The total valuation this year of the real estate was $232,930.
A full sketch of him will be found in the history of Frederick County.
History of Western Maryland, by Louis H. Everts, 1882, Chapter 39A, p. 830--.)
Transcribed by Carol C. Eddleman.